We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 is 3”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Klaipeda, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 is 3”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When we arrived at night, receptionist said that hotel is overbooked (although we booked it 3 months ago), they offer us other hotel for one night, but we should walk back forward till we finally got a room in other hotel, when we went for breakfast next day, they said that we should stay in other hotel for whole week, some kind of misunderstanding, but luckily that hotel let us use of all facilities so that was not soo bad. The staff in restaurant was very friendly and helpful, but other was a bit unpleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerdaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    401
    395
    226
    270
See reviews for
371
614
129
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at the san pawl hotel with my family for a week B&B,room was clean & fresh, maid service very good ,everyday change of towels, friendly and helpful staff . a very good breakfast with lots of variety. it's good value for money Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at the San Pawl hotel for a week (4th july-11th july) with wife and 3 sons aged 19,16,14 . First time in Malta but what a wonderful island !!! As seasoned travellers our motto is make the most of what you have got . The San Pawl does have its faults but we feel its strengths far outstrip its weaknesses . We noticed an increase in custom over the weekend with locals but so what it is their island after all ?!? The Spanish students and English gymnasts did make some noise over the course of the week but so what...they seemed to be the highlight of my 3 teenage sons holiday . The reception of the hotel is 1st class especially with the air conditioning and it could be argued that the rooms were not up to this standard but so what...they are clean functional and well maintained !!! Personally the staff were very pleasant...treat them with respect and it will be reciprocated !!! Booked B and B and the breakfast was fine and plentiful....maybe add yoghurts with honey as an alternative...we are Greek after all ?!? Pool area clean...it was jet sprayed every morning after all at 7am !!! Take it from...a great base to explore the rest of the island....if and when we return to Malta we would definitely book this hotel again !!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yiannisdimitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have just returned from 2 weeks holiday with my wife at this hotel.. we booked for 2 weeks half board but after sampling the food for 3/4 days we decided to eat out. they reserved 22 sunbeds in the prime position of the pool area for the local populace who wanted to have a day at the pool and on a number of occasions the pool resembled something out of a wheres wallie cartoon puzzle and the noise was unbelievable . the staff were surly and when ever we went to our room there was a smell of cigarette smoke around the lift area and on a few occasions cleaners stood with cigarette in hand inside where they have there cleaning and washing materials. the room wasn't cleaned properly, an number of days we had to wipe our balcony tables down after being left. .when ever I used the reception desk I found it manned by what seemed to be very young schoolgirls who struggled to speak or understand English I have been to malta on a number of of occasions and still love the island and will return but not to the san pawl.billy and wendy bolton Castleford enngland

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2015
Dear William b,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the San Pawl Hotel.

We are sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel on my first trip to Malta with a friend and we were both unfortunately very disappointed.. as on first approach and reading the reviews we expected friendly staff and a great room with Air conditioning and to which we both still expected to when we both arrived in the air conditioned reception which was decked out beautifully.. But when we arrived in our room at midday the hottest part of the day we had a tiny box room with no air conditioning and just a fan hanging by a cord that looked like it was going fall on us at any point. this was just a disappointment and the look on your faces at each other told that very story..We found out from the unhelpful miserable lady on reception that we would have to pay extra for the Air conditioning to which we were unprepared for we had not budgeted to do that nor were we prepared to pay that extra amount. I must also say that the pool was lovely but it was so busy in the afternoons by local children home from school and this was every afternoon.. it wasnt just that fact they we there but they took over the pool and with no consideration for the younger children that already playing in the pool and they where rude to holiday makers that also using the pool this again was so disappointing as the pool area is a lovely area and easy access to the bar. The plus points where the evening bar staff where lovely and the entertainment was hilarous but yet entertaining to me as i have a good sense of humour it was nice to see local's up dancing to the entertainment though. i did meet some lovely people staying at the hotel which were also disappointed was a plus and I did enjoy the breakfast even though limited choice it was ok... My friend has also put a review on here and unfortunately the manager wasnt forth comming with an apology and saying that he was sorry about us being disappointed with our stay and that he would look into making the hotel a better place to stay. which would not take alot just air conditioning free of charge in the rooms and friendly staff and for self catering stays a fridge and kettle free of charge.. I could see that the hotel had a great turnover of people to stay so why not make those amenites mentioned above to make a more comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the outside of the hotel at the front was very noisey as it is opposite a bar.. so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest, I do apologize if you were disappointed about not having free air con in the room and a free fridge and a free kettle too/ I would love to offer all these items for free but the rates that we are getting and what holiday makers are paying do not allow us to offer the services for free. I just booked a holiday in the UK myself the hotel for 7 days is costing me over 1000 euro and I assure you that I am not getting anything for free as a matter of fact not even breakfast as I have to pay an extra 6 euro a day for continental breakfast. Once we get the rates fixed I am sure that we will be able to do much better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a fabolous week in the hotel. All staff are very kind, lobby area has great design. Rooms are clean and good size. Bus stop is just 2 minutes far, bugibba square 10 minutes walk. Easy to check in and the receptionists are helpful. You can book any of sightseeing trips in the reception.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SzGabriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the San Pawl Hotel for 7 days last week. We booked a superior room straight away as we knew it had a mini fridge and air conditioning and due to knowing how hot Malta can be we didn't want to have restless nights.

Upon arrival the reception staff were friendly and had a reasonably quick check in time. The reception area had recently been refurbished by the looks of it and looks really lovely.

Our room was on the third floor tucked away at the end of the hotel which was nice, Room was spacious well apart from the shower cubical that was a bit of a tight squeeze getting in and out of :). Our air conditioning didn't work for the first night which was a bit annoying but we had a ceiling fan also which helped a little bit. I contacted reception first thing the next morning and within the hour the maintenance guy came up and fixed it which was bliss!.

The hotel provides evening entertainment every night till around 11.30, Karaoke night on Monday was a laugh and a couple of the others nights wasn't to bad, it all depends really what you like, although it was quite cheesy :)

Our room was cleaned everyday by a very nice and friendly lady and when we didn't want to have our room cleaned cause we kept it tidy anyway we just put the "do not disturb" sign on the door. There is cleaners all day at this hotel and from the sound of them moving the sun loungers around the pool area at 7am, they start quite early. That noise every morning was a bit annoying but we soon got used to it and used it as our alarm clock.

We did opt for the breakfast when booking but only used this twice as there was not that much selection. There is a few local places that sell breakfast for a few euros but be aware a lot of these places don't open till about 9-10am.

Overall we had a great stay here, great nights sleep and would def recommend to anyone who wants a cheap and pleasant stay. This hotel is also around 5-10 min walk to the front where there is plenty of places to eat and see great views. There is lots of different reviews on here about this hotel, but it is really all down to what you like and what you expect from a 3 star hotel.

Thank you for a pleasant stay!! :)

Room Tip: Book a Superior Room for the Air Conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahjohn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
The San Anton Hotel
The San Anton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bugibba
122 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bugibba
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
1,744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing