We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great holiday!”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had a great holiday!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I went on holiday with the family and my best friend and her family and we had a fantastic time! I only had a couple of niggles about the hotel, the biggest one was the entertainment. It was geared towards the older generation as there was line dancing, singers were brought in a few nights and there was nothing for the children. There was no play area or mini disco for the children, only a games room with snooker table and a couple of computer games and they are more for teenagers. The other niggle was the food. They only really did two breakfasts which was scrambed egg, bacon and beans or fried egg, sausage and beans some cereals and toast as well. The dinners were not a problem, but there were no deserts for children (icecream!) Otherwise I enjoyed my stay, the staff were lovely and helpful and always ready to listen. The rooms were basic but spacious and the bathrooms were clean. Towels and bins were changed every day and we had no problems with anyone. Thanks everyone at the San Pawl hotel for making our stay as easy and stress free as possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWilde186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review we much appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    407
    406
    230
    281
See reviews for
383
624
132
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my 9 yr old Daughter and my friends and Brother ,
(all in our 30's ) along with my Mum for 8 nights. Some good points and bad ones really.

Staff-helpful and polite

Management-I think there is good management here but they could do more for the children and younger guests as line dancing is extremely boring for us!

Entertainment- disappointing as I say, not enough going on.. they could have a kids disco every evening. They did a disco on our last night (it went down a storm, everyone loved it)
Sadly the pool was packed and taken over by kids so hardly got to go in and they have an indoor pool they didnt use which I think is nutts because if it was open the kids would go in there and adults might get a chance to swim!!!!!!

Cleanliness- good our room was fairly basic but was clean with towels changed every day and it was on the quiet side too thankfully.

Location- excellent

Tip- The waterpark is a 12 bus 20 mins away at 2 euros return for 1 adult 1 child its excellent value, go on a week day, no queuing and there is an animation team there doing dancing and stuff for the kids and the price for me and my child was 32 euros for full day! Well worth the trip it was fab!

Massage/spa - very good massage here I had a body scrub and full body massage for 40 euros which was absolutely brilliant!

Food-food was ok nothing special they could make more variety after 7 nights of melon for dessert I was slowly going mad.. they had cakes which were ok i guess but what about sorbet or ice cream or meranges or pancakes...?? nothing like that at all it was more like what you might expect in a work canteen or hospital so the kids did not approve Im afraid.

I needed a new shower so I reported it and it was no problem sorted by the next morning.
(A lot of People like to complain to eachother but dont speak to anyone. If you have an issue go and speak with the managers they do listen and get things seen to.)

There was an issue with a sewage smell everyone was moaning but no one said anything so I did and as soon as I did the maintenance team were there within minutes!

Final note- if you want 4 or 5 star forget it you have to pay more but if you dont like something let the staff here know as they will help if they can. And if you are bored go 2 minutes down the road where there are bars, restaurants, karaoke bars and a mini fun fair for kids go and explore, it certainly beats lounging in the hotel every day!


Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Halokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review we much appreciate it.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 10pm and had a straight forward check in. Went to room to unpack bags and was pleasantly surprised by our room. Lovely big room with ceiling fan and air conditioning. Plenty on hanging and drawer space.
Lovely bar directly opposite the entrance to the hotel with two convenience stores either side which were both very reasonable, with one staying open until 11pm most nights.
- Very close walk to St Pauls Bay and Buggiba.
- 20 Euros each for trip to the blue lagoon, comino and Gozo on the romantika boat. Really good value and well worth it. (Plus cheaper than other boat trips)
- Took public bus to Valletta for the day. 1.50 euro each and can use ticket all day. Bus took about an hour but well worth a visit.
- breakfast was 7:30-9:30 each morning and was busy after 8:30. Very basic but edible.
- bar area and entertainment went on till 11ish most night and very loud. Didn't bother us as we didn't go to bed till 12 most nights but might bother others with small children.
- maids cleaned and made beds everyday and gave fresh towels each day.
- Only negative was the attitude of some of the staff. All spoke English so not a language problem, just some of then were quite rude and this is the one thing I feel needs to improved.

All in all I think you need to take into account how much you've paid and want you get for your money. The negative reviews seem people moaning for the sake of it. We don't go on holiday to live in the room so as long as the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is clean then you make your holiday what it is yourself.
Had a brill time and would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Your comments are well said, We try our best to satisfy all but sometimes people expect a lot more then we can possible give
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at many hotels in malta over the last 22 years and have actually stayed at san pawl twice before. San pawl is a typical maltese holiday hotel basically yes you get what you pay for and I believe its quite good value and would stay there again. After arriving home on the 20th july I returned to work on the 21st and have since been off sick with somekind of stomach bug which causes really bad diarrhoea hope its nothing from maybe the pool or something but just wondered if anyone else returned with same sort of complaint.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linbeau001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We can assure you that nobody suffered from any bug at all. Please note that even a microbe in the air can cause that unless you have eaten anything from anywhere, We have records on temperates on food storage and a full HACCP system. It is very difficult for us to go wrong. The pool is also controlled and tested twice daily so that too is perfectly safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel after put flight to be greeted by the rudest receptionist I have ever met Sge had no reservation for us and frankly could not be bothered that our name was not registered We were asked to wait so I walked out to the pool packed wall to walk with screaming kids
After a wait of ten minutes we were told that the hotel was fully booked and that we had been moved to the Santana I asked how we were to get there I was greeted by a shrug of the shoulders and told it's nit my problem
Thankfully a rep took pity on us and calked a taxi that we had to pay for
The up side is that the Santana is a fantastic place see further review

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Yes we were overbooked and we upgraded your accommodation to 4star to make up for it. Kindly note that the taxi was paid by the hotel as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I returned from a stay there today after a 7 night stay....the only way to describe it is you get what you pay for....the rooms are standard and there is no Air conditioning unless your are going to pay for it at 15 Euros a day however there is a ceiling fan...the foods the same...howevver the desserts are really nice. Being a vegetarian I found it quite difficult to eat at the hotel however nearby there are lots of places.

The location of the hotel is perfect as it is a 5-10min walk to St Pauls Bay. It can get quite noisy if the rooms on the front of the hotel ..but it dies down at 11pm. Its perfect location makes it an ok an affordable family hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room 4 beds....air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshaS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was my second 3 star hotel used during a 24 day stay in Malta. We booked a standard room for the four of us ( 2 adults, 2 teenagers) with breakfast. The room consisted of 4 single beds (2 together and 2 separate). For the review i am going to list the good and bad points.

Good Points.

Nice modern foyer.
Large Bathroom.
Large Balcony and lines for drying clothes, towels etc.
Fan in room. Air con in room (but see bad points)
Indoor pool looked good but unusable in summer season.
Nice pool.
Reasonably priced outside bar.
Daily evening entertainment.
Good location.
Reasonable breakfast.

Bad Points.

NO FREE WiFi - come on its 2014
Furniture in room old and rotting someone please take management to Ikea.
Bathroom smelt of damp.
Toilet took several pumps of handle to flush and even then contents did not always clear.
Shower head sprayed in every direction going.
Old TV.
Ceilings are reminiscent of 1970's office buildings!
Balcony walls are so low you can step over them, we had a group either side of our room using our balcony as a walkway, complained to management 4 times but still did not stop until they actually left the hotel.
I would not like to lay under the ceiling fan on full speed looking at the way it wobbles!
Air Con and fridge has to be hired in a standard room (15 euros a day). Only 3 sockets in the whole room. (one used by fridge, one by TV leaving just one usable socket)
The constant hovering of staff during breakfast waiting for you to finish a plate or cup was off putting, even taking things that you have not finished. Only two items were changed every other day and the processed cheese slices was only replaced with proper cheese on one day!
It appears only one person knows how to make a decent cocktail, only had one nice one all holiday. Others were an awful concoction of syrup, nothing like the picture, no ice, basically no idea!
The hotel has a lovely looking pizzeria but strangely only open one evening whilst we were there, despite its stated opening hours!

Basically an average Hotel let down by some simple but important things from a guests point of view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wonderfultrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
The San Anton Hotel
The San Anton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bugibba
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bugibba
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing