We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My daughters and I had a fantastic stay at this hotel. After reading the reviews I was a bit apprehensive, but for a 3 star hotel it was brilliant. We had a standard room with a fan no air conditioning, in the height of summer, the heat was a bit of a shock at first, but we soon got'used to the hot nights. We over looked the pool, and it was great to listen to the entertainment on the balcony before going to bed. We were bed and breakfast, and I felt there was a lot of choice, I loved the fresh bread and jam! Fruit juices, and teas and coffee. The sausages were my favourite, and the bacon was good. Rooms were clean and beds made daily. The pool was clean, and we had no problem getting a sun lounger. The staff were happy and helpful, and I would quite happily stay here again.. Chris's snack bar across the road, was brilliant food and drink very reasonably priced, and a short walk to Buggiba Square, there were lots of restaurants to choose from, Our Favourite was Grannys, who's prices and choice of food were fantastic ( Even my vegetarian daughter found plenty to eat. )
I will definitely be going back .............. as soon as I can!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terri_burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review . I much appreciate it.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    371
    371
    214
    258
See reviews for
342
574
127
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have traveled to many places and stayed in many hotels, but think this was one on the poorer ones i have stayed in and the area as well, was not our cup of tea, but can tick Malta off our travel list.

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as we spent 4 nights firstly in Gozo at the San Andreas Hotel in Xlendi - please stay there with a sea view room! it was awesome.

For the price of this hotel... you can not complain!

RECEPTION:
the reception are is very nice, the receptionists were nice enough, but nothing special with regards to a warm welcome.

ROOM:
We paid for a standard room, but when we entered our room on the 4th floor, there was a fridge and also air conditioning, so i guess we were "upgraded" to the superior room.

The room had air con (which was not very powerful, a fridge, a safe (that you had to pay for) ceiling fan (that creaked and sounded like a pig oinking, i kid you not lol) so had to have that off at night because it was noisy, the room was overall hot regardless of ceiling fan or air con, when the reception air con was great!

The beds had no mattress cover and the mattresses were dated and old, the beds creaked, the pillow cases appeared clean but stained and some of the pillows appeared to be just torn bits of foam, stuffed into a pillow case.

The floors were clean, just everything was a bit tired, the hairdryer was about 20 years old and got incredible hot to hold and had white flaking tape around the broken parts of it.

The shower was ok, plenty of hot water but the shower head was more of a drip than a shower.

We did not use the pool or restaurant, we just used this as a base to explore.

The hotel has a "no outside food policy" but we have a drawstring bag and popped across the road to the local mini marts to get snacks for our fridge!

We also had a hire car, do not hire a car with GOLD CAR! - We managed to find parking around the hotel, but it is sparse.

I personally would not return to this hotel or part of malts, think only Gozo, which is just my preference, as main land Malta has a "Benidorm/ magaluf, ibiza feel to it, couldn't really find a decent restaurant, it has a mainly cafe feel and cater to the "british menu" too much and cocktail bars was shockingly poor quality. but at least we gave it a go.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammysyrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for a week with my friend, overall had a great holiday, staff were all lovely and went out of their way to be friendly, we especially loved Gerry the chef and the rep Steph! Had a good variety of food and considering we were holidaying peak times always sunbeds available if needed!
Room was hot but rest of hotel had air conditioning, room was cleaned and replenished daily! We loved the easiness of excursions being picked up and dropped off directly from
Hotel and being minutes walk away from the main square! Perfect location! Overall great holiday and would stay at this hotel again! :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hulalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I much appreciate it.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent the first two weeks of July at this hotel using two rooms staying on a half board basis. I have to admit I was impressed the moment we arrived in the foyer. Such a shame the rooms were not quite up to the same standard. I believe this hotel had a recent refurbishment; this did not go as far as the rooms we were using.
The restaurant was lovely. My family did enjoy all on offer and were impressed by the choice. I on the other hand had a little trouble as I am a vegetarian. Even the salads seem to contain bits of meat. I did mention this to staff to no avail. It was about 10 days before I managed to convince them I would not eat pasta with a little meat. From then on they did provided something suitable and I have to say it was much enjoyed. As for the soup, when asking if it contained meat the answers ranged from yes/no/only vegetables.
The biggest disappointment I had was after paying for half board we were expected to pay another 10 euros for the Barbeque on the Friday evening. I was assured there will be much more to choose from and I could have anything I wanted! Again it was meat with almost everything. The Chef did eventually rustle me up a lovely pizza, I doubt it was worth the extra 10 euros.
Our rooms did not have air conditioning as I had expected. I did not believe the large fan from the ceiling pushing warm air down as air conditioning. In our bath rooms the toilet seats were broken (yes in both rooms). My shower curtain had one hook holding it up for four days as the others had fallen down. Eventually I had to stand on a chair to fit them as the cleaner just left the hooks on the side of the bath. The bedding was in need of repair. I believe the sheets were not changed as often as expected although the cleaners did a nice job of making the bed look fresh every day.
Sadly one or two female staff were not what I would call “people persons” and appeared quite off and surly towards customers. As for the male staff, they were much friendlier and made us feel very welcome.
I felt the hire charge for the safety deposit box in the rooms was rather excessive (28 euro). The WIFI was costly considering the Pubs at each end of the street provided it for free (Ziggys club and Chris’s bar).

Room Tip: ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest thank you for your review, We do have a variety of food and what is not on show can be made up at no cost. The BBQ is an extra option and as a BBQ the main dishes are meat as advertised we have chicken, beef, pork and tuna steaks, there are 13 different types of salad with only a couple containing meat. Soups are vegetable based as well. However as I said our chefs are always willing to help and cater for your needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just stayed in this hotel for a week and found it to be a good hotel for the price we paid.
The rooms were basic but ideal for what we needed. We go on holiday to go out each day, not stay in a hotel room.
The rooms were cleaned daily and the towels were also changed.
The staff were helpful, especially one of the managers, Alfred. He is a good asset for this hotel with his enthusiastic energy and his very friendly nature.
The pool was always clean and the water was clear. We always managed to find a sunbed when we needed one.
I would have liked to have seen wash room facilities for families, ie a room with a washing machine or two, would have been a great help to our family.
Wi fi was very pricey, we paid 6 euro per day to access the internet.
The food was fine, with plenty of choice for adults but very little choice for children, ie : fish fingers or pizzas etc.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean hotel on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review I appreciate it . It was a pleasure hositing you and hope to see you again in the near future.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at san pawl for 10 days last year so booked again for august arrived at hotel where we were told no room we were annoyed because we had arranged to stay here with friends so moved to a 4 star hotel , apparently it's the on line holiday company's over booking not the hotels fault , after 5 days we visited friends in san pawl and ask could we move back they said yes they had two rooms but were a bit surprised we wanted to move considering we were in a 4 star and there 3 star , we booked san pawl because the staff are great and the pool area is clean and looked after and food is good there's always something to eat even for me and I'm fussy , was glad to move back to the san pawl and had a great end to our holiday , the hotel could do with some up dating and more for kids but since our visit last year you can notice some changes for the better , going again for the new and can't wait :-) the two chefs are lovely , the reception staff always helpful and I couldn't fault this hotel u get what u pay for ! And I'll definitely be booking for next July to !

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinederry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you again for a fantastic review, we appreciate it :)

Regards,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

we always stay at the san pawl hotel we go there every year sometimes twice a year stayed at the hotel againe in may this year for 2 weeks we wouldnt stay at any other hotel we have tried a lot of them over the years but stayed at this one for the past 4 years when i go on holiday to this hotel it feels like we are going to stay with a big malteese family from arriving there to coming back home we really enjoy every minuite of our stay i would like to say a BIG THANK YOU when we arrived this year my husband malcolm was taken ill and was ill all of our stay and every one did all they could to make our stay a pleasent one thank you to the RECEPTION staff for your kindnes thank you to the MAIDS thank you to the CHEFFS for your fantastic food and thank you to the WAITERS and all the MANAGEMENT in the DINNING ROOM for your kindness towards my husband nothing was too much trouble for you in these situations when illness strikes in a country away from home people feel scared and alone but we didnt all of the staff did all they could to take that feeling away from us i would also like to say they treat ALL THEIR GUESTS this way you only need ask and help is there for EVERY ONE i would also like to say a BIG BIG THANK YOU to you manager max from me and malcolm your help and support was priceless you made sure all of our stay was a lovely one and you did all you could to make that happen for us and you made sure my husband was rested untill the taxi came to take us to the airport and for that we will always be THANKFULL to you what a FANTASTIC MANAGER for this hotel to have we were hoping to go back for my husbands 70th birthday in october but for now illness is stopping us as malcolm is awaiting major surgery but we have said when things get a little better we are hoping to come back befor christamas or for christmas we can celabrate his birthday then thank you all againe see you soon lynn malcolm smith from the uk

Room Tip: we always stay in a room faceing blacktall street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review, I and we all really appreciate it, Please send my regards to all and I am happy that I have been of help to you, It makes you feel good when somebody acknowledges your efforts, and for that I thank you too.

Yours sincerely

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Superbreak UK and Hotelopia so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing