We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and reasonable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Basic and reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here half board for a week. Hotel from the outside and pool is beautiful. Reception fully air-con. We stayed in a family room with large balcony. Room 108 was reasonable clean but there was an awful smell coming from the bathroom which others say was coming from the sewage pipes. To use wifi u had to pay €9 for 3 hours, which was very expensive. We didn't pay to use wifi in hotel. However there is bars and restaurants near by that had free wifi if u buy a drink or food and they would provide you with a wifi code. Food in hotel was ok to nice. They had different variety of food cooked everyday. Breakfast was lovely with continental choice. Malta is a very beautiful place but shame about the locals as the people there are very miserable and rude. They need to learn some manners and hospitality. However I would say not all maltanese are rude but majority of them iv come across are not very friendly. Don't bother with paying for excursions as we made that mistake ( me and my friend was left behind on an excursion, they don't even bother to wait for u if your 10mins late. The reason was because of the communication of wrong timings.)Your better off with a weeks bus pass for €6 or €1.50 a day and you can travel to wherever you like around Malta. Valletta is a must go to visit. The weather in Malta was about 35*c everyday end of July. Would definitely come back to Malta despite the miserable people. Lol. But there are nice holiday people there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest, sorry to hear about your impression and that as you say we are not so friendly. To be honest with you this is the first time I heard this as usually we are deemed to be very friendly and outgoing with a few exceptions that are found in any country, I hope you get to visit Malta again and that you change your feeling about us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    369
    369
    212
    258
See reviews for
341
574
124
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from San pawl hotel. We had to get our room changed as it was small and not very clean second room was more spacious but not a lot of wardrobe to hang clothes up in. air conditioning did not work. The fan on roof was very noisy. t.v had only one station that was in English (news). The food was not bad but with little choice if you had children they had to take same as adults. You were no sooner finished and they would whip your plate way. We went to get our desert after meal was away a matter of 2 min and they had cleard our table along with the bottle of water that we had got. They did replace the bottle of water but asked if there was much taken out the first one. Loved Malta but would not go back to this hotel. You were also asked to hand you room key in to reception if leaving the hotel but on return u go to desk ask for key number they give you it without checking I.d. Could have been easy for someone to come In and ask for key that was not theirs

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Joan,

Thank you for your review and I appreciate your comments. I am sorry about the restaurant and its probably due to eagerness from the staff to have tables available. We encourage guests to leave their room key on the table as we would not know if they are returning or not. As you stated we replaced the bottle of water that was on the table which is the least that we could have done , but please understand that quite a few people leave their water behind when they finish thei meal and we have no way of telling if you are finished or not. Times before people used to indicate that they ended their meal and ok to clear by making use of their fork and knife but today nobody does that anymore unfortunately. Regarding the key I will make sure that at reception they ask for your keycard as they should be doing.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Upon arrival the reception area looked lovely as did the pool, it was when we entered our room that things went downhill, very small and quite grubby, the curtains and bedspreads were filthy and the pillows were like bags of sprouts. The balcony was tiny and the view, well actually we did not have a view. However the main complaint is the location of the room, it was hot and noisy, how could the management put us in that room knowing we were booked in for 2 weeks, by the end of the second week we could have gladly thrown ourselves over the tiny balcony, how many Elvis songs can a person stand hearing murdered by the "Acts" Had we been put in a room at the other side of the hotel I think my review would be quite different. We had room 330 and used the lift nearest to it which led down to the staff corridor, this often stank of smoke and being ex smokers we found it horrible as did non smokers that we spoke to. This should really be addressed as it was awful, because of this we started using the other lift and that is when we found the other half of the hotel which was beautiful, we felt like the poor relations. We are quite easy going and not ones to complain so just got on with it and had a brilliant holiday, we are already looking to go back to Malta next year but not to this hotel.

On a positive note we thought the food was first class, not A' La Carte but plenty of choice and all well cooked, the staff for the most part were friendly and helpful (special mention to Freda in the restaurant) Although give Sandra the dragon on reception a wide berth if you don't want a tongue lashing for just breathing!!!!!

Pool was lovely always got a sunbed and the hotel was in a good location.

Room Tip: If Air con is a choice definitely take it and if you like a big balcony ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room , I wish I had changed it for you especially if you do not appreciate the entertainment which will also soon be moved to an inside location.

Regards

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Well i just come back from a fantstic stay at the san pawl hotel...i cant believe all the bad rieviews i been reading! I can not fault it one bit lovely food, nice room and pool staff are fab very nice people. The hotel is very clean and tidy and caters for everyone families/couples! I cant wait to book to go back next year xxx

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank RDAH6786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Cannot wait to have you back for another holiday. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just returned from a week's stay and I have to say this hotel is definitely not a 3 star.We paid for a superior room which I must say was very spacious but that was the only good point there was no mattress covers, bed linen was thread bare along with the towels, the shower head was filthy and only had a trickle of water coming out.The superior rooms are supposed to have air conditioning but on arrival it didn't work and it took 2 days to fix there were also ceiling fans which we only turned on once as they were falling off the ceiling.Enough said about the hotel the resort itself is extremely filthy with dog mess on nearly every pavement and rubbish just dumped everywhere, the bars and restaurants in the main square need the food standard agency's going in as my young son and nephew were both very ill for 2 days after eating there one evening as we were half board at the hotel and we fancied a change.Overall my opinion of this hotel and resort is do not go to either as us as a family will never be setting foot in malta again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
I am sorry to read about your stay in Malta and sorry that you were disappointed. The local council should look into your comments and I will be sending them a copy too, We do clean the pavements around all the hotel too to keep the area tidy and we shall continue to do that as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My daughters and I had a fantastic stay at this hotel. After reading the reviews I was a bit apprehensive, but for a 3 star hotel it was brilliant. We had a standard room with a fan no air conditioning, in the height of summer, the heat was a bit of a shock at first, but we soon got'used to the hot nights. We over looked the pool, and it was great to listen to the entertainment on the balcony before going to bed. We were bed and breakfast, and I felt there was a lot of choice, I loved the fresh bread and jam! Fruit juices, and teas and coffee. The sausages were my favourite, and the bacon was good. Rooms were clean and beds made daily. The pool was clean, and we had no problem getting a sun lounger. The staff were happy and helpful, and I would quite happily stay here again.. Chris's snack bar across the road, was brilliant food and drink very reasonably priced, and a short walk to Buggiba Square, there were lots of restaurants to choose from, Our Favourite was Grannys, who's prices and choice of food were fantastic ( Even my vegetarian daughter found plenty to eat. )
I will definitely be going back .............. as soon as I can!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terri_burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review . I much appreciate it.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have traveled to many places and stayed in many hotels, but think this was one on the poorer ones i have stayed in and the area as well, was not our cup of tea, but can tick Malta off our travel list.

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as we spent 4 nights firstly in Gozo at the San Andreas Hotel in Xlendi - please stay there with a sea view room! it was awesome.

For the price of this hotel... you can not complain!

RECEPTION:
the reception are is very nice, the receptionists were nice enough, but nothing special with regards to a warm welcome.

ROOM:
We paid for a standard room, but when we entered our room on the 4th floor, there was a fridge and also air conditioning, so i guess we were "upgraded" to the superior room.

The room had air con (which was not very powerful, a fridge, a safe (that you had to pay for) ceiling fan (that creaked and sounded like a pig oinking, i kid you not lol) so had to have that off at night because it was noisy, the room was overall hot regardless of ceiling fan or air con, when the reception air con was great!

The beds had no mattress cover and the mattresses were dated and old, the beds creaked, the pillow cases appeared clean but stained and some of the pillows appeared to be just torn bits of foam, stuffed into a pillow case.

The floors were clean, just everything was a bit tired, the hairdryer was about 20 years old and got incredible hot to hold and had white flaking tape around the broken parts of it.

The shower was ok, plenty of hot water but the shower head was more of a drip than a shower.

We did not use the pool or restaurant, we just used this as a base to explore.

The hotel has a "no outside food policy" but we have a drawstring bag and popped across the road to the local mini marts to get snacks for our fridge!

We also had a hire car, do not hire a car with GOLD CAR! - We managed to find parking around the hotel, but it is sparse.

I personally would not return to this hotel or part of malts, think only Gozo, which is just my preference, as main land Malta has a "Benidorm/ magaluf, ibiza feel to it, couldn't really find a decent restaurant, it has a mainly cafe feel and cater to the "british menu" too much and cocktail bars was shockingly poor quality. but at least we gave it a go.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammysyrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing