We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a fantastic holiday . Staff are great and hotel is very clean..however the quality of food has gone down since our visit last year. The menu promises a daily carvery which was not on for 4 of our days stay...veg was swimming in water and mostly frozen and there was not as much choice. The pool area was not supervised and although signs were there people were diving and had inflatables in the pool which spoilt it for all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindylou1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    483
    359
    139
    82
See reviews for
261
691
94
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was our 4th year in a row visiting Malta, and our first time at the Santana. Stayed 27/07/11-10/08/11. Hotel was recommended by my parents who have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. Hotel is in a good location in Qawra, with shops, bars, restaurants, bus station, sea swimming (from rocks) all on the doorstep.
Booked a standard room on HB. Room was a good size, spacious and clean, with a balcony and large bathroom with bath/shower. Some of the rooms could do with a bit of updating, but this wouldn't spoil your holiday! The only downside was the air-conditioning, which wasn't very effective. Housekeeping services excellent. Breakfast and evening meal were buffet style, with plenty of choice and we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals. Hotel also has a bar/cafe (Cafe Castagna) and pool bar which serve snacks - again the food was good on the occasions we had lunch. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and any queries that we had were dealt with promptly.
If you have any problems, take these up with Reception immediately and they will endeavour to help you...some friends were put in a very small room and after speaking to Reception about this, they were moved to a much more acceptable room.
Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireRoseYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

3rd time staying at the 'santana' very good location with bars, resturants and shops nearby. The hotel itself is a bit run down and could do with a re-furb but saying that it's pleasent enough and very clean. The rooms are a bit dated but good enough for a base and to sleep in and as i said very clean.The roof top pool is wonderful with plenty of sun loungers and a nice cool breeze most of the time. We stayed b&b which had the usual fryed food and cereals,fruit etc. Hotel staff were ok not rude but as some of the other reviews say....did just enough to keep you happy and didnt go out of there way. overall a nice hotel maybe 3* not 4* value for money and would recommend if your looking for a basic but clean hotel. Malta is a very friendly and easy going place to visit and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: front facing room or a high level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SVD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

First time we'd been to Malta & so glad we chose this hotel. I judge a hotel on cleanliness of rooms, food & friendly staff. This hotel ticked all the boxes.
We had two rooms - booked very last minute, so could only get a standard room for the first three nights, then we upgraded to an apartment for the next seven nights. Both rooms were clean and well presented.
Food - loved the choice. It wasn't always to my taste, but I could always find something I liked. Food was always well presented and hot. Best bit - always a choice of at least three desserts (one night there were six) plus fruit salad and four different ice creams. Spoilt for choice so had a bit of each!!
Breakfast was lovely, especially the porridge. Lots of choice of different breakfast items.
we went to breakfast at different times and never had to wait for a table as stated in previous reviews. Food, plates etc were quickly replenished and staff were always helpful.
Pool was brill with plenty of sunbeds. There was also a quieter sun deck shaded area and a pool bar which also served lunches. Ham & cheese toastie with side salad and crisps for two euros.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, 010 is ideal. Good shower pressure. However, it's dark due to balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovehols49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed in August 2010...We arrived in the middle of the night to find that Santana had supposedly double booked us, we stayed at a equally bad place about fifeteen minutes away and were kicked out at ten to find that we couldnt get picked up for two hours to go to Santana and we still couldnt get into our room till three o clock! But once we got to our room we found it dirty dingy, tiny, the bed sheets were ripped, the curtains were brokem, someone had to be sent up to fix them. We had a balcony although it overlooked a waste ground covered in rubbish, it was 33 centigrade and the room air conditiong was dreadful, we had to turn it off and open the windows and door. I had the mind to check out immediately but didnt want to upset my daughter but after a night of having no sleep and being kept awak by the kareoke bar across the road we realised we had to go!!! The breakfast was inedible and so we decided to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flip_flop26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

na
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Anyone that has stayed in Malta before should know that the star rating on the hotels is worthless and anyone booking hotels on this basis... PLEASE DONT. Go on price. Surely common sense tells you that a genuine 4 star hotel does not come at this price the same going for many hotels in the island.

However, i was happy with this hotel and for what we paid taking away its 4 star status... did not expect it for £430 for 3 people, HB in July for a week!! Food was standard but ok, lots of choice through out the week. The location was brilliant, right in the middle of everything. Satisfied!

One of the better Maltese hotels i have stayed in for the price and would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlah003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

booked bed and breakfast, great choices . hotel was very clean, cleaned every day the staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonnylass18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , HostelWorld, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Onthebeach so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing