We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Santana hotel is in a very built up area. There are no good views from any of the bedrooms. The immediate vicinity is full of shops and bars, a very British seaside type resort. One good thing about the hotel location is the closeness of the bus station where you can get on buses to Valletta, Sliema, Rabat, Mellieha and the Gozo ferry terminal. The buses are very frequent, air conditioned and cheap!

The Santana seems to have the attitude of "what you see is what you get" the staff don't seem at all bothered whether or not you have a good holiday, they just seem indifferent. There is a charge for the safe and fridge in the room and if you want the TV you have to ask for a remote control. Some of the channels are pay TV.

The food is very average. Breakfast is cereals, dried fruit, tinned fruit, fresh watermelon,orange and grapefruit. Hot breakfast is the same every day-very fatty bacon, sausage, fried and scrambled eggs, fried potatoes and bread, beans and tomatoes. You can also make toast and there is cakes and pastries too.
Dinner is a soup, mixed salads (not labelled so you don't know what is in them) Pasta, a fish, meat, potatoes, a vegetable or two and always chips. The desserts are gateaux, ice cream and fruit salad. If you are Vegetarian, you might struggle for food at dinner.The restaurant is in the basement and is a bit depressing and dreary. The drinks at the hotel are very reasonably priced, it is not worth having all inclusive option unless you drink loads! Also there are lots of bars very close and food and drinks are very reasonable priced in Malta.

The rooms are just ok, definitely not four star. The Santana hotel needs to spend a little money on better quality sheets and towels. The sheets were very thin and not big enough to cover the base of the bed and some of the towels were so thin you could see daylight through them! The rooms were serviced daily but our floor was not vacuumed all week and i don't think the bathroom floor was cleaned either. The air conditioning is very noisy and isn't very effective. We had to have ours on all night but it was still too hot.

As I mentioned earlier, service at Santana is not particularly hospitable. On checking out, the only words that the guy on the desk said was "where is your remote controller?" I always expect that hotel staff would ask "how was your stay/holiday?" or "we hope to see you again, have a safe journey home" These little things cost nothing but a bit of staff training, yet make all the difference to how you feel about a hotel. The Santana certainly didn't do anything to make me feel a valued customer.
Yes, you can't complain about the value, but, I would in future choose to pay a little more and have better service and a better quality hotel. I wouldn't choose to stay in Bugibba or Qawra in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fufugirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice ,its clean and the staff are helpfull,the breakfasts are ok but not great.The big plus is the car park at the front of the Hotel,always space and handy if youve hire a car.Their are plenty of eating establishments nearby.Downside it tends to be full of British pensioners and the local bars are also full of older British people
.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The area the Hotel Santana is situated in was not really of interest to us with its 'Brits abroad' type pubs and bars, but it was a good deal and within easy reach of other locations so we went for this one.

The hotel was perfectly fine - check in was smooth, and the room was more than adequate for the 3 of us. The view from the balcony wasn't amazing but we didn't really expect it to be.

The pool area was fantastic, with fantastic views from the roof area across Malta. Staff seemed very friendly and eager to help, especially downstairs in the La Mentha (I think that was the name) restaurant.

The indoor pool isn't heated during the summer, so on colder windy days this was a bit disappointing. It would have been nice if at least the jacuzzi was warm.

Breakfast was great - couldn't really fault it.

There were no chavs or troublemakers at this hotel, so I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a chilled holiday, even if you're not planning on just staying in the area like us. The entertainment is what you'd expect for the vast majority of older guests - piano singing etc - not for us but it didn't bother us either...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sythe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Surprised to read the reviews about staff being friendly ! Would've been good 2 see a smile now & again, from both restaurant & reception staff. We stayed here last year & noticed a big difference.
Manners from certain reception staff certainly gone downhill. However we still enjoyed another Summer holiday in Malta but maybe next year we won't return to the Santana.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weepostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

this was our 4th visit to the Santana Hotel. We have some great memories of this hotel. As repeat visitors we had a large fresh fruit bowl and a lovely bottle of red wine waiting for us when we arrived. We were a little too early for check in but we had a drink, a wander and then given our room in no time at all. Rooms are a little dated but very clean and tidy and had everything we required inc a front view balcony, Safe, ceiling fan, A/C and lovely fluffy towels. This time we stayed B+B but ate in the hotel for 3 meals and ate out the other 4 nights.
The breakfast in the hotel was not the usual standard and we missed a few mornings choosing to eat out. The evening meals were good but not much choice. If you choose B+B the hotel is very central and there are some lovely local restaurants inc La Stalla just around the corner next to the San Antonio Hotel
I would recommend the hotel beauty therapy/salon have a massage...brilliant. We didn't use the hotel bar at night but found plenty of good entertainment out and about.
All the staff are very friendly especially housekeeping and do their best to ensure you have everything. I would recommend this hotel especially for its location. We hired our car from KWL rentals as always which is at the front of the Qawra Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: a room on the front of the hotel has the sun all day ... and you can watch the world go by!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cge-lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just returned home from a WONDERFUL and RELAXING time spent at The Santatna Hotel, Oawra. The Staff went over and above their 'duties' to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was a 'bother' to them. The room was extremely clean, clean bedding and towels every day! We chose the B&B option and the selection of food ensured that there was something for everyone to enjoy. Our friends were married in Qwara and the Santana Hotel ensured that they delivered and accommodate any requests made. We would HIGHLY recommed this hotel for couples looking for a very RELAXING HOLIDAY. Thanks again.

Room Tip: We did have a room over looking what others describe as a 'dumping ground', we complained an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

May not be a 4 star hotel but the price isn't either.The rooms are well equiped although a bit dated. The food is very good and the staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you.
The indoor pool and jacuzzi are very good too. I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and am going for Christmas this year. You get what you pay for so all the people who want 4 star then expect to pay for it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,902 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
468 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £13 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing