We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Somerset England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Its our first time abroad for tweenty five years, the hotel is a four star but we would say it more than likely was once upon a time but it looks very dated the rooms are adequate and cleaned regularly. The food was ok and there was plenty of choice with normal soup salad and three main at each evening meal. We were very happy with it until we saw what the other four star hotels were offering as they were very plush and modern but the saving grace for the Santana was the staff were lovely and when I asked for something done it was done very quickly and the Manager came up to check which possibly would not happen in one of the other four stars that we visited the staff didn't seem very helpfull at all. A word of warning though we were talked into visiting a holiday club resort by an English chap at Exscutive travel just down the road from the hotel he promised us a evening out we had mentioned it was a trip to celabrate 25 years of marriage so on three days running we hurried back from our days out to be on time for the big night out that was promised and on three days running the chap said he would do it the next night by which time I felt he had no intention of doing anything. What spoilt it for us was we were treated great by the Maltease people but Exsecutive travel man had basicly cond us, we later lernt that they are paid around one hundred pounds to get people through the door so the moral of the story is dont be taken in with the offer of a trip out as you get nothing for free. We will definetly go back to Santanna hotel again next year. As it is what it is.

Room Tip: lower floors if disabled lifts broke down about twice whilst we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank STMSomersetEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    514
    389
    147
    88
See reviews for
271
740
104
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This was my 5th stay at this hotel yes it is in need of improvement but 4 star in malta is not the same as 4 star in uk and you must understand that before you go,
My room was fine clean and i had no problem the food on the whole is fine and restaurant staff very friendly especially Richard the same can not be said of the bar staff who are all new and not very helpful at all which is a shame as it's always been fine in the past,
I must say the sunbeds do need to be replaced as most of them are broken i think a bit of money
dose need to be spent and a bit of staff training but there are a lot worse hotels in malta and for the money it is good value

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Santana and I have to agree with other reviews that it is looking well dated, and very tatty in parts and it is most certainly nothing near a four star standard I stayed here 11 years ago and it was like walking into a timewarp as everything is the same as back then only now all worn out and very tatty in parts.For example,most of the carpets in the rooms are filthy and worn,the pillows on our bedding was disgusting,full of revolting stains and cleaning standards in general left a lot to be desired especially as a rather large cockroach was found in the bathroom...not good at all. A very visable lack of staff in restaurant seems to cause several problems especially at breakfasts ie:no cleared tables, no plates at the servery time for this hotel to get its act together, pronto!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

cardiff
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Moved here from the dreadful and should be closed down Ambassador hotel, so on the whole fairly pleased with it as at least it was clean. I agree with other reviews that it is not of four star standards, slightly tired looking, but on the whole we found the staff helpful, and always pleasant, aftet our first experience, anything was going to be better, one thing I will comment on is the pool area, lots of broken beds, and very few umbrellas, and those that were there were broken.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chimpmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Have returned from Hotel Santana today after spending 10 days in Malta. On arrival me and boyfriend were greeted by the friendly receptionist got to our room and well what can I say the room was in a bad way very small and very dated with old furnish which was falling apart. The carpet was very dirty had loads of stains which looked like they had been there for years. The view from my room was terrible. Two days into our holiday we asked to be moved we had a look at the first room offered to us which was worse then the room we was first given. on arrival we then looked at the second room and we then moved still not great but it would do. There is no gym at the hotel at the moment still waiting for equipment which has been delayed. You also have to pay four euros for the sauna which I think is a little out of order. The food is quite bad the breakfast was ok but not much fresh fruit to chose from and dinner was quite bad as you would have fish or chicken one night and there would be no fresh vegetables to chose from. or nothing to go with the chicken or fish. The air conditioning does not work they have a fan in the room which was ok. The location of the hotel was ok central to the main bus station and a 10 min walk to St Paul's square. There are some bars and some restaurants near to the hotel and some coffee bars. Be careful when getting a bus ticket as some bus drivers sell you the bus ticket which is a blue ticket when getting on the bus you must present this to the bus driver and in return he will give you a paper ticket back if he does not you will get a spot on fine of 20 euros per person if a bus inspector is on the bus checking your tickets. .This hotel is not four star and needs to be rated as a two to three star. Some areas of Malta is also run down and there is a lot of work to be done as a whole.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Santana from the 30th Aug 2012 - 8th Sept. No way was this a four star hotel, if you wanted four star you had to pay more for an up-grade which alot of people did but why should you when it's classed as 4 star. First thing that happened to us, my partner had a shower when we had just arrived only for the whole shower to fall off the bathroom wall, also we could not lock the balconey door, I will admit they did fix these things quickly, we asked why there was no kettle in the room, we were told that was extra at 2.50 euro a day, speaking to another guest who had upgraded and had a kettle, he said he would let us have his as he was due to go home but he had a whole list of people wanting his kettle. We ended up hireing one from a local electrical shop for a euro a day. Just before we flew out to Malta I had read a review from someone staying at the hotel that a pigeon had landed on the poolbar cafe, but was quickly killed with a parasol in front of other quests eating. We thought this was not possible, BUT on the 1st Friday we had a lunch at this pool bar, a family were sitting in front of us feeding the pigeons, then all of a sudden the Father grabbed a pigeon and broke it;s neck in front of us still eating, the barman came out with a cardboard box and took it away. Needless to say we couldnt eat our lunch after that. This doesnt happen at a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: To have a good room you will need to upgrade, but that still won't help with the blandness of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Have just returned after 2 weeks in Hotel Santana. I have mixed feelings about this hotel rather like others reviewers. Some aspects were great, others were disappointing and shouldn't have been. It is not a 4 star hotel and never will be, whoever gave it a 4 star grading should be taken to task. We booked a suite and were given one as per the photographs...great. However, the fridge didn't work, we got a new one after 3 days and 2 claims that the old one was working, our air conditioning never worked, it made a lot of noise, blew out a lot of warm air but the refrigeration never worked (complained 3 days in a row then gave up) and left the balcony door open as the lock didn't work (reported this twice for security reasons but it was never fixed). Another reason for leaving the balcony door open was that there is no extractor fan in the toilet/bathroom. Got on with our holiday. Staff are friendly but generally infective and some poorly trained. The hotel is in a great location. Nice touch, we received wine and fruit on our anniversary. Food was fairly good, reasonably good choice occasionally spoilt when tepid, the waitress did admit that the chefs keep forgetting to heat the water under the servery. Compliments to the waiting staff, they did work hard, kept the restaurant clean and pleasant and were fully stretched at times.Coffee from machine in dining room was awful. This had the knock on effect that most diners took their coffee from the one inadequate bar that was open. This was generally manned by one overworked person who had to pour drinks, make a selection of coffees, organize meals and snacks and then take payment. Only when customers grew restless did assistance arrive to clean tables and collect empties. Staff also need advice on hygiene. Handling money, smoking, then putting fingers in glasses without washing hands is not on. Entertainment although only 3 times per week was quite good. One of the 2 central lifts failed nearly every day. All inclusive did not include snacks, afternoon tea, packed lunches or cocktails.
So I've mixed feelings, lots of small grumbles with things that the management should not have allowed to occur, most of them have been mentioned before. Some people called it Fawlty towers and vowed never to return, others loved the place and were regulars. Would I recommend to a friend.. NO
Would I stay here again....probably not. But we loved Malta

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,963 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing