We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, good service, good location”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had looked all the reviews from the past one year of the similar priced hotels of Malta and based on the reviews we chose this one. Actually we had what we paid for and everything is an average of the reviews here. It is not as bad as some of the reviewers say and certainly not as good as others claim it was. Our room was on the top floor with 3 other room in the corridor and a smallish room of the cleaner. Altough I really appreciate all the efforts the hotel makes in order to keep the hotel clean I guess it was not necessary from the cleaning staff to go 7 am in the morning into this small room making voices loud enough for us to wake up. This is the last thing you want in your holiday.
A/C was working, but the sound is almost unbearable when on. You can not cool your room when you leave because you get only one card and electricity is swithed off completely when your card is not inserted. You have only one plug for charging your mobiles, tablets, cameras so be prepared. (one UK-style and one EU style to be fair, so if you have a travel adaptor you have two outlets)
Towels were changed when needed, but sheets just on the day before we left (this makes one per week!)
We were told there is no Queen size bed just two single pushed together. Be prepared for that. The quality of the matresses are below average with tending to be rather hard aswell.

By some misterious reason we did received a tv remote and also our small fridge was open, so we did not have to pay for any of them which was a surprise looking at other reviewers. The TV is a new flatscreen LCD 32" which also was a surprise as we were expecting the supersmall TV seen in every catalog.
The pool on the top was super clean, the bar next to it was open all week (not like others were complained) and the indoor pool was open aswell.
The variety and the freshness of the breakast was enough for our 'continental' taste with fresh lemons ananas apples every morning The coffe contains bit more water then it should tough.
The location is great, you are just the right ammount of walk away from the crowded centre of Buggiba/Quawra to be on a quiet place but not far away from amusements. There are plenty of good restaurants in the neighborhood if you wish to go there with B&B which are modestly priced.

Room Tip: We did asked for sea wiev which is only available in the 6th floor. But the rooms facing the sea als...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Robert V.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I apologise for any inconvenience caused by noise from our staff early in the morning and will refer this matter to the housekeeper so that such a situation will not recur. I will also share your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Santana. Our room was small & basic but the bathroom had been refurbished. As others have stated problems with shower flooding as the screen is in the wrong position. Shower gel in sachets & mini soap. Cleaning was poor, with cleaner spending entire day on floor & 5 mins in our room! Floor wasn't hoovered once all week. Glasses in room weren't replaced after being used 1st day. I'm good at recycling towels but when left for changing sometimes they were just hung up again by maid & didn't properly dry out. Problem with Toilet in bathroom constantly filling up but couldn't hear when bathroom door closed. Would be nice to have welcome tray/tea/coffee facilities in room. Bed was fine with new mattress. Ceiling fan & air con in room but air con is on timer & turns off automatically so need both on through night & at that still gets too warm at times. Often had to get up to turn air con back on. Male Reception staff were unfriendly & anytime you approached desk they pretended to be busy on computer & always left you waiting. Breakfast wasn't great, selection never changed, canned fruit, watered down juice. Fresh watermelon/oranges once or twice. We actually got bored eating same thing! Wi-fi was €5 for 10 hours but this was restricted to one device! We only managed to get connected once in the room. Told by reception it was problem with service provider. Eventually managed to get online at rooftop pool area. Pool area was fine but some broken loungers on the lower terraces. Ezster from the spa was the nicest person in the hotel, so friendly. Highly recommend her spa treatments, wonderfully relaxing! Hotel location is good, near restaurants, bus terminal etc. Entertainment was poor - singer every other night. Check out at 11am but commend them for access to shower room & complimentary fresh towels. Overall, could try much harder & definitely not 4 star. Basic but a good base for your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Sear WeeLulu,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us and take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience you have experienced. At the same time I also note that there were other aspects of your stay which you enjoyed.
In the meantime I will be sharing your comments with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product and services.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have stayed at hotel santana many times, it never disappoints the service from all the staff at this hotel is first class, you are treated 5 stars all the way. The hotel is very clean yes some of the rooms need updating, however, the hotel is going through a refurbishment at this present time which can only be a good thing, I always stay in a superior room as it suits my need very room, with tea and coffee making facilities. The food at this hotel is also very good lots of selections to choose from. Malta is a great island to explore with a wealth of history, this hotel is in a great location to do this whether by car or by bus, by car there is a big car park in front of the hotel and for the bus the bus station is a few minutes walk away. You have also got a great choice of very good restaurants around, it is very reasonable to eat and drink in Malta.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are at the front of the hotel the back of the hotel is not to pretty, however the hi...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 233Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear 233Donna,

I was very happy to note that you have enjoyed your most recent stay at Hotel Santana. Thank you for sharing your experience, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.

As always, we are available any time to assist you with future bookings.

In the meantime
Best regards from malta and Hotel Santana
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a great hotel, which is also in a great location to explore the beautiful island of Malta from. The staff at this hotel can not do enough for you, the food is great with a good selection to choose from. I stay at the Hotel Santana at least two/three time a year I am never disappointed. The hotel is in the middle of being refurbished which I believe is a good thing going forward as the hotel was looking tired, however, it was always very clean, I stay in a superior room which has yet to be refurbished but I have no complaints, its clean and tidy and the price that I pay is value for money.

Room Tip: Got for a room at the front of the hotel, a superior room or suit.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnad247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Donnad247,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor and for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with other reviewers. Your favourable comments and your recommendation of our hotel are greatly appreciated. Above all however, our pleasure is that you were truly satisfied with our product and services.

We hope to be able to welcoming you back to Malta and our hotel soon and are, as always, to assist you, with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just back from a week in Malta. Stayed in the Santana, after much research it seemed to be one of the better hotels in the area for a reasonable price. About a five to ten minute walk to main area of St Pauls bay. First look of hotel was lovely, great recepitionists very helpfull and friendly. Booked a double room, very small, two single beds pushed together (hate this), in comparison to the room a very modern fresh bathroom, very basic but clean. The major downfall of the room was the "view" from the balcony, looking into what appears to be an old building site and a number of other apartment blocks, not very appealing. Good working air conditioning. Beautiful pool on roof. All in all it was fine, basic and clean. Would recommend to a young couple on a budget, who were not planning on spending a huge amount of time in room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Charlotte F21,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor and for your comments. I regret to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your recent stay with us and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced in this regard. At the same time I assure you that these comments wil be discussed in our next management meeting with the aim of doing our utmost to improve our product.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I had hoped that some of the reviews I had read about this hotel were wrong, but I was not so lucky. This hotel is horribly outdated and poorly maintained. I can handle outdated furniture, but even the sheets were so worn and thin, I could see right through them and all of the edges were frayed. I had upgraded to a suite in the hopes that they maintain them a bit better but I was not impressed at all. The a/c barely cooled the room and they left a broken glass in the room. The only updated item in the room was the flat screen tv. I also found a silverfish on my bed on my last night there. The only good things about staying there were the location (short walk to the waterfront in Qawra and bus station) and the price. I was happy to check out of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Becky D.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I regret to note that you were disappointed about some aspects of your recent stay with us and, on behalf of the management team, I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced.
In the meantime I am discussing the points you raised so that such issues will be resolved.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We would rate this hotel more as a 2/3 star establishment as it really does lack some TLC.
We did note that some rooms have been refurbished, however our room was one of the older rooms and in general was tired . Broken floor tiles ,Toilet seat , black mould around the bath / shower , very worn towels . Some days we had a damp / dirty water smell. Elsewhere around the hotel there were damaged carpets , misplaced / broken ceiling tiles, dirty glass doors very worn seating in reception.
The staff are generally very pleasant and always happy to help.
Food is average , nothing special cordial orange !!! coffee from a machine !!!
This Hotel could be great with some very small improvements and attention to detail, location is good close to all travel \ transport.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room ....
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear McCheshire,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I regret to note that you experienced certain disappointment with our product during your recent stay with us. In this regard I wish to apologise, on behalf of the management team, for any inconvenience you experienced.
At the same time I will also be sharing your comments with the management team in view of improving our product.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £31 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing