We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way 4 star”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No way 4 star”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Love malta. But not this hotel. 2 things i ask of a holiday is a decent nite sleep and a good breakfast. This hotel provided neither . Food cold . Room not cold enough. Air con rubbish. No sleep at nite . Room too hot. Will return malta but not this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank luby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Luby 11,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us and here take the opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced.
I will also be sharing your review with the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    514
    388
    146
    88
See reviews for
271
738
104
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. When we arrived early the reception staff were very accommodating and let us have our room, which was a superior double. Lots of space, 2 doubles (or 4 single beds), a fridge which in the heat was ideal for keeping our drinks/food cool. The bathroom required upgrading but overall the room was what we paid for. As some reviewers have pointed out the AC is noisy but you can switch this off if you are prepared to perspire! There is only one keycard which also operates the AC and lights.

There was a good selection of both continental and cooked breakfast though the quality was not of a 4 star hotel, though adequate. The cheese/meats would have been better covered and on a bowl of ice to stop the cheese from cloying.

The staff were polite and helpful when required. The roof top pool had great views all around Bugibba with a canopied area if you wished to sit out of the direct sunlight. The pool is not supervised and this is stated within the hotel. The bar/snack area is open 10am - 6pm each day. There is also an indoor pool, which we looked at but did not use and a resident beautician.

The hotel is only a minute or two from the 'bus station. We used the X3 service from Luqa airport, which took approximately 1 hour and 10 minutes. By using the 'bus service you get to see some other areas of Malta. This service runs every 30 minutes and is cheaper than a taxi if you are on a budget. Taxi fares are around 25 euros hotel to airport.

Room Tip: Go for a superior, check it has a fridge included. Some rooms have their own kitchen area which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timperley-trotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Timperley Trotters,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I do hope that you wil soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel. Do let me know if you need assistance with your booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millisle, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in the Santana for 10 days during August 2013. We checked on Tripadvisor before booking and as it was marked as a four star hotel it seemed quite good. The hotel is three star at best. The air conditioning is poor - even though I asked for another key card and was able to leave the A/C on when we were out and the ceiling fan which we had to leave on at night was incredibly noisy. Having said that the room was kept really clean, fresh towels when requested and bed changed every two to three days. We booked room only so I can't comment on the food. The roof pool looked a little cramped but as the hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk from the coast we didn't use it. The hotel is situated in a nice area (close to the bus station) and there are several lovely restaurants within a few minutes walk. The staff are very helpful and very plesant. If, like us, you are on a late flight I would try to book your room for a late departure.The shower rooms that we used before travelling to the airport were terrible. They were basically a public tiolet with a shower in the corner. If you are looking for a 3 star hotel then the Santana is ok but don't book expecting a four star experience, you won't get it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamienS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Damien S66,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I will be sharing your comments with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime
Best regards from Malta
Carmen
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Average hotel, breakfast very basic and unless you want to eat a fry up each morning there wasn't much to choose from. Juices and coffee very bad. Choose room without board and eat out. However pool and sun deck is amazing and so is the location. Well worth a stay if you don't have too high expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedasoDeChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Pedaso de Chica,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor and for your comments. Your review will be shared with the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime
Best regards from malta
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Santana for four nights in August. Good points: nice big room, big bathroom, close to bus station, comfortable bed, generally good service. Bad points: noisy ineffective AC which turns off when you leave the room, inconsistent cleaning, only one keycard allowed even for two people, average breakfast with truly awful coffee. Also the whole area of St Pauls Bay & Bugibba is very touristy - concrete hotels & english food everywhere. However the bus services are cheap & you can easily get out to some nicer parts of Malta. Overall OK for a short break but wouldn't want to stay much longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite & thought it was worth it - doesn't cost much extra but you get a lot m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Katy 101,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I will share your review with the management team in our next meeting.

In the meantime
Best regards from Malta
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had looked all the reviews from the past one year of the similar priced hotels of Malta and based on the reviews we chose this one. Actually we had what we paid for and everything is an average of the reviews here. It is not as bad as some of the reviewers say and certainly not as good as others claim it was. Our room was on the top floor with 3 other room in the corridor and a smallish room of the cleaner. Altough I really appreciate all the efforts the hotel makes in order to keep the hotel clean I guess it was not necessary from the cleaning staff to go 7 am in the morning into this small room making voices loud enough for us to wake up. This is the last thing you want in your holiday.
A/C was working, but the sound is almost unbearable when on. You can not cool your room when you leave because you get only one card and electricity is swithed off completely when your card is not inserted. You have only one plug for charging your mobiles, tablets, cameras so be prepared. (one UK-style and one EU style to be fair, so if you have a travel adaptor you have two outlets)
Towels were changed when needed, but sheets just on the day before we left (this makes one per week!)
We were told there is no Queen size bed just two single pushed together. Be prepared for that. The quality of the matresses are below average with tending to be rather hard aswell.

By some misterious reason we did received a tv remote and also our small fridge was open, so we did not have to pay for any of them which was a surprise looking at other reviewers. The TV is a new flatscreen LCD 32" which also was a surprise as we were expecting the supersmall TV seen in every catalog.
The pool on the top was super clean, the bar next to it was open all week (not like others were complained) and the indoor pool was open aswell.
The variety and the freshness of the breakast was enough for our 'continental' taste with fresh lemons ananas apples every morning The coffe contains bit more water then it should tough.
The location is great, you are just the right ammount of walk away from the crowded centre of Buggiba/Quawra to be on a quiet place but not far away from amusements. There are plenty of good restaurants in the neighborhood if you wish to go there with B&B which are modestly priced.

Room Tip: We did asked for sea wiev which is only available in the 6th floor. But the rooms facing the sea als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Robert V.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I apologise for any inconvenience caused by noise from our staff early in the morning and will refer this matter to the housekeeper so that such a situation will not recur. I will also share your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Santana. Our room was small & basic but the bathroom had been refurbished. As others have stated problems with shower flooding as the screen is in the wrong position. Shower gel in sachets & mini soap. Cleaning was poor, with cleaner spending entire day on floor & 5 mins in our room! Floor wasn't hoovered once all week. Glasses in room weren't replaced after being used 1st day. I'm good at recycling towels but when left for changing sometimes they were just hung up again by maid & didn't properly dry out. Problem with Toilet in bathroom constantly filling up but couldn't hear when bathroom door closed. Would be nice to have welcome tray/tea/coffee facilities in room. Bed was fine with new mattress. Ceiling fan & air con in room but air con is on timer & turns off automatically so need both on through night & at that still gets too warm at times. Often had to get up to turn air con back on. Male Reception staff were unfriendly & anytime you approached desk they pretended to be busy on computer & always left you waiting. Breakfast wasn't great, selection never changed, canned fruit, watered down juice. Fresh watermelon/oranges once or twice. We actually got bored eating same thing! Wi-fi was €5 for 10 hours but this was restricted to one device! We only managed to get connected once in the room. Told by reception it was problem with service provider. Eventually managed to get online at rooftop pool area. Pool area was fine but some broken loungers on the lower terraces. Ezster from the spa was the nicest person in the hotel, so friendly. Highly recommend her spa treatments, wonderfully relaxing! Hotel location is good, near restaurants, bus terminal etc. Entertainment was poor - singer every other night. Check out at 11am but commend them for access to shower room & complimentary fresh towels. Overall, could try much harder & definitely not 4 star. Basic but a good base for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Sear WeeLulu,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us and take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience you have experienced. At the same time I also note that there were other aspects of your stay which you enjoyed.
In the meantime I will be sharing your comments with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product and services.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing