We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good spa, definitively a nice stay.”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Tortona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
2,489 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,289 helpful votes
“Great location, good spa, definitively a nice stay.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I was in this Hotel by chance because what I had booked from home just arrived in Malta was fully booked ...! I was literally hijacked in this structure, which is also 4 stars.
Excellent location, 100 meters from the sea, surrounded by bars and restaurants, it the center of Bugibba.
What is certain is that calling it 4 stars is a bit 'risky judging from the rooms, I think 3 stars is more than enough.
However, it is clean, tidy and the staff is attentive to the guest.
The good side of this hotel is undoubtedly the buffet breakfast but especially the presence of a small indoor pool and a sauna room fully functional, where I could relax and I liked it very much.
The rooms were basics do not expect much, mine was on the 4th floor and the panoramic view from the balcony was not that great.
All in all it was a good stay at an affordable price.
Maybe if I had the chance I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Magella 081,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I will share your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime I do hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return. Do let us know if you need our assistance with your next booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    531
    403
    153
    92
See reviews for
283
772
107
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huskvarna, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Recently returned from Santana with my family: I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times and in my opinion it gets better and better , friendly staff , Clean rooms, good food, varied Entertainment and in a great location near to the bus station.
I booked a special deal with Hotels.com and paid at the hotel on arrival , the room they allocated us was very small for Three adults with no access to the wadrobe, however after pointing out the problem to the staff we were quickly upgraded to a larger room with better facilities.
when we checked out they asked for Another 50 euros stating the hotel rate we was given was wrong !!! Hmmmmmmmmmm good job I kept my booking confirmation.

A very nice hotel and good value for Money.

Room Tip: Choose Superior room that have self catering facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Peter C.

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments. I am please to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return.

Do let us know if you need our assistance with your next booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel (which is in Qawra) mid-morning and went straight up to the room. Then we went straight down to reception again to say we were not prepared to stay in that room. It was dark, light fittings were loose, air conditioning didn't work properly, the ceiling fan spun slowly which was probably a good thing as it wobbled a great deal. The room was so small that a sliding door was fitted between the bedroom and bathroom and it had to be coaxed with a lot of shuffling and jiggling into opening. The balcony got no sun, with a blank wall to one side and other rooms and balconies to the other side. If we leaned over the balcony the view was of the demolition site where another hotel had stood. There was paint splashed down the outside of the windows, and over the balcony. the carpet in the room looked grubby, and the beds were uncomfortable, lumpy and almost on the floor due to old metal bedframes. We were told by reception staff that as today was a "transfer day" it was not possible to change our room, but if we went back to them tomorrow morning they would see what they could do.
The following morning we went back to reception to be told the same thing, at which point we said NO we would not do this, we wanted to be moved today, did not intend to be "fobbed off" every day and the fact that they had new guests arriving was their problem not ours. At that point CAROLINE came up to the reception desk and said she would see what she could do for us. She showed us a beautiful, light and airy room at the front of the hotel on the ground floor. It really was like walking into a different hotel altogether. This room had a huge terrace with a view of the square in front of the hotel, air conditioning that worked well, two secure ceiling fans with adjustable speed settings, sparkling clean windows, and a lovely bathroom almost as big as the entire room/bathroom we were moving from. We didn't hesitate in saying yes to moving into this room, and had a very comfortable stay for the rest of our holiday.
We now realised why there were such different reviews on Trip Advisor about the hotel, because one part of it can only be described as slum dwellings, whereas the part "on show" in photos is like a 4star hotel, and we would happily stay there again so long as we had a firm guarantee of having one of these show-rooms.
We found out that the hotel management had changed "a couple of years ago" and that things had gone down since then. Whether this is correct or not, a great deal of work needs to be done to bring the entire hotel up to the 4star status that the management claims it is entitled to have. Having two swimming pools appeared more important to one manager than having habitable rooms for guests to stay in.
Once again, our thanks to Caroline for listening to our concerns, resolving them and helping to turn a disaster into the holiday we had hoped for.

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Jacquie W,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I regret to note that in certain areas you experienced disappointment with our hotel. I take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience. In the meantime I assure you that these comments will be shared with the relevant managers in view of improving our product and services. We are also glad to hear that after changing your room you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,

John Bugeja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 with 2 girls age 11and 9. Were a bit disappointed initially as the hotel write up stated suitable for kids with kids club, entertainment etc. However there was no kids entertainment but this did not spoil a great holiday! The kids made lots of friends in the end and loved the karaoke nights....even did backing dancing and singing for the great dj! The hotel was clean and tidy, the rooms cleaned every day, we were upgraded to a suite on arrival which was a brilliant size! Maid was lovely! The staff were lovely including Donna, Tracy, James, Craig, managers son, Shirley, Sarah the bar and cafe staff made the stay too as they were all so friendly great and helpful and couldn't do enough for us! We were all inclusive, We had some issues with food catered for the kids and the manager did all he could to resolve this! We met some lovely fellow guests and the kids made lots of friends. If I could make any suggestions it would be to make sure kids are catered for at all mealtimes either in cafe or restaurant, make all inclusive not restricted to times, and so that snacks/ice creams are included through the day as are other all inclusives and the main thing would be to cater more for family's in general with much more entertainment in the day and night. If this was made more a family hotel we would definitely return. But overall a great time was had! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Suzedd,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel and on our staff also thank you for your most favourtable comments and for recommending us.

Above all, I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider returning. I hope you would soon be able to do so and promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking.

In the meantime
Best regards

John Bugeja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had the good fortune to be able to return to Malta for a second time this year and chose this hotel as I knew it was in a good location. For those who hired a car there is a large free car park opposite, The local bus station is 200 yards away and it is handy for the bulk of the bars/restaurants/excursion folks/shops/chemist.
The reception area was spacious (they all seem to be in this part of the island) and manned by pleasant enough folks. Loads of sofas in this area being well used by some of their clientèle. I was checked in reasonably efficiently and headed off to my standard room (8 nights, B&B basis). 2 lifts to all floors from -1 to 6 generally turned up quickly enough.
The room was perfectly adequate for my needs with a pair of beds to choose from, a bathroom with a very nice walk-in shower, air conditioning, ceiling fan and a small balcony with a pair of chairs and a table. The view from the balcony won't win awards, admittedly, looking over some wasteland towards the Canifor Hotel. Still nice to sit out on though and what would you expect to see from a Qawra hotel balcony anyway. The air-conditioning (centrally controlled) did an impressive job of room cooling, so much so that I didn't have it on for very long even though it was surprisingly hot during my visit and let the ceiling fan do the job most of the time. The room was serviced each day, with fresh towels daily if desired and bedding changed every 3rd day. No problems there. One day they forgot to leave me any towels at all, but this was quickly rectified at my request.
Breakfast was good. Assorted continental options and a reasonable English breakfast option. Impressed myself by making it down three on 4 of the 6 days that doing so was a viable option. Apart from breakfast I didn't eat or drink here, way too busy out and about, so can't comment on their other meals drinks.
I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paradise_alley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Paradise Alley,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel, for your most favourtable comments and for recommending us.

Above all, I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider returning. I hope you would soon be able to do so and promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

By no means could this hotel be classed as 4 star, it is more the standard of an average standard 3 star. The accommodation, although clean, is very tired, there was supposed to be tea / coffee making facilities in the room but this had to be asked for, the air conditioning was very noisy and even though this was October it was very hot and was needed. There was a ceiling fan but this was also very noisy. The food was terrible, buffet style, very limited choice, tasteless and on occasions dried up. Luckily the hotel is near to a number of very good bars and restaurants where the food is excellent and reasonably priced. We have stayed in 4 star hotels in Malta on previous occasions and this hotel did not meet their standards. No pool towels, pool bar was closed, main bar limited on choice of drinks, i.e. Only one make of gin, vodka etc. However, the hotel Staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose this hotel because of it's situation but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious but still in desperate need of upgrading. The kitchen facilities come in handy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHV4654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear JHV4654,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I regret to note that in certain areas you experienced disappointment with our hotel. I take this oppotunity to apologize for any inconvenience. In the meantime I assure you that these comments will be shared with the relevant managers in view of improving our product and services.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed 4 days in September. Having stayed in a standard room a few times before pre 2009, I thought it would be nice to upgrade to a Suite. I felt that this was a waste of money and was disappointing.

On arrival at early hours of the morning - desperately thirsty. Asked reception where I could get water, young man said "No-where really. Our hotel cafe is closed. You could try a bar outside" - this is not good - I was a single traveller and didn't really want to be walking the streets looking for water early hours of the morning. I informed reception on my departure that they should have water in the rooms on arrival, she said she will take this on board.

The room needs updating, a lot of wear and tear (I believe some rooms have already been refurbished). My cleaner cleaned and changed towels everyday, she was very nice. My fridge was full of water on arrival - this was dealt with straight away. The aircon didn't work very well and only slightly cooled a certain part of the room making it uncomfortable at most times. Sometimes there was a sewage smell that only lasted for a few moments. Breakfast was okay, not much fruit (funny tasting melon and oranges). There was an array of breads, cereals, cooked foods. Staff are friendly and nice. The pool area was my favourite part of the hotel - never full and always kept clean. The location of the hotel is geat. You are next door to the bus terminal which takes you all over the island.

I'm not sure if I would stay here again, unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear AngelLondon_UK,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. Your review will be shared with the management team in view of improving our product and services.
In the meantime I apologise for any disappointment you have experienced and sincerly hope that you will return to our hotel in future. In that case do please e-mail me so that I will take personal care of your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,005 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing