We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having returned again from staying at the Santana I find some of the reviews strange.
We paid just under 30 pounds per day for half board.
A travel lodge or similar in the UK is at best 29.95 and if Im lucky I dont pay for continental breakfast.Santana breakfast has porridge, cereals, yoghurts, breads and cooked if you want it.
Added to that the evening meal has soup, salad bar, roast, fish at least 1 othe meat dish, pasta, dessserts and cheese and bicuits.
The food is excellent and plentiful.
The rooms are quite adequate, cleaned daily and no request is to much from the friendly staff.
I will rteccomend this hotel , so folks get real about some of the criticisms.
Look at the cost and is it good value.

Room Tip: Pick a landview sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathant621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Jonathan 621,

I was very happy to read your review about your recent stay at Hotel Santana. I am happy to note that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning to Malta and our hotel in the near future.
Thank you for sharing your experience, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.
On our part we promise you our availability to assist you with any future bookings.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    520
    397
    150
    91
See reviews for
278
755
106
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Friendly & helpful staff, rooms are spacious & clean, the views from the roof top pool are beautiful & the hotel is situated in a lovely quiet area with a bus station at the end of the road so it was easy to gain transport around the island (cheap & regular). I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Malta.

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Rose H.,

I am pleased to note that you really enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Santana. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.
We look forward to having you again with us in Malta and at our hotel and promise you our availability to help you with future bookings.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have just returned after a 12 day holiday at this very friendly,clean and ideally situated hotel
rooms are very comfortable, The food is excellent and service provided by all staff is very good, nothing is too much trouble always with a smile.We would recommend to all.

Room Tip: sun is on the front of the hotel if you like sitting on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Sandra D.,

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel. Above all we are very pleased to note that you truly enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return and promise you our availability to assist you with future bookings.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A dated hotel, very good efficient staff. the rooms were cold and as the heating was on a central timer there was no way of getting warm - we did try heating with the hair dryer!!
the food was varied but bland and over-cooked. Breakfast was till 10am and dinner till 8pm but if you went down at 9.30am or 7.30pm then the serving plates were not refilled and everything was picked through, by 8.05 all was taken away. Malta is scruffy, full of litter and dog poo! There are lots of buildings half built and left unfinished, the roads are indescribably bad.
a very unsuccessful holiday!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snoopysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Snoopysmum,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I regret to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. I this regard I will be sharing your comments with the management team in view of improving our product and services.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Birgu (Vittoriosa), Malta
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent a lovely Valentine's Day at your hotel. Food was very very good. The room really big and spacious with two double beds. Really worth paying for a superior room as the additional cost is very little and quite worth it. Nice balcony and very clean. Enjoyed ourselves very much at the indoor pool area. Water was nice and warm and really relaxing.

Room Tip: Superior room are really spacious and worth the little additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el3ctra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear el2ctra,

I was glad to read your review and note that your truly enjoyed your recent stay with us at Hotel Santana. Thank you for sharing your experience, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.

We do hope that you will soon return to our hotel and promise your our availability to help you with any future bookings.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senglea, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed there for a weekend break with my fiancée along with my family and friends.
All of us had great time, the price is excellent, cheap compared to other similar hotels. However the quality of the food, the rooms and the service are very good.
Also the heated indoor pool area is very good for some relaxation.
One of the best features of the hotel is the location.

Will certainly return to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IL-PAGGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear il-Paggi,

I am glad to read that you and your friends truly enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Santana. Thanks you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.
We all look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I could not fault this hotel. Excelent value for money and would stay here agian. Not that this spoilt our holiday in any way but I think free wifi would be a bonus and more TV chanels to watch while waiting for the wife to get ready.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amadryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Amadryan,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor and for your favourable comments.

I am also discussing your other comments concerning the wi-fi and the TV channels with my colleagues on the management team.

In the meantime
Best regards from Malta
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,761 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,982 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing