We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Santana from 13th May 2014 for 2 weeks with my husband who is disabled, also dad and partner who are elderly,the downside it is not very disable friendly, stairs up to the reception, stairs up to the roof and then to the pool, which was quite hard for them to get up as the lift only goes to level 6. It seems a bit strange considering most of the guests are over 50. Apart from that we had a great time , we had 2 suites which were huge a living area, a kitchen and bedroom was lovely and bright overlooking the front of the hotel.
The bar staff, Donna, Sarah, Mandy , shirley and Scott were so friendly and helpful always smiling nothing was too much trouble, Also would like to say the restaurant staff were lovely, especially Maria.
My husband had a massage in the spa,
We hired a car for 10 days and there is a car park right opposite. There are a few bars and restaurants nearby. Overall a good holiday .

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel, rooms at the back just look over other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookie08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments, especially about our staff. I will share this review with my colleagues on the management team since they all do their utmost so that our clients enjoy their stay with us.

I hope that you will soon find the time to return to Malta and to our hotel. Do let me know if you need our assistance with your booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

we arrived at the hotel and thought it looked lovely and clean in the reception and bar areas our room had a lovely view of the apartments opposite with a couple of dogs on the balcony 3rd floor up although the room was abit dated but very clean and chambermaid very good , as were the bar staff and some of the dining room staff . Food ... breakfast was very good choice and quality alas dinner was substandard dry most nights and the anti pasta not in chilled cabinet but sat out by the hot soup and hot plate for over 2 hrs ! mashed potato cottage pie not really suitable for evening meals overall more like a canteen than a 4 star dining experience. first week of our 10 night stay went reasonably well otherwise until the dreaded sunday when a coach load of children arrived and terrorised the guests and staff with little or no supervision from their tutors , unfortunately we were surrounded above and surrounding rooms to ,ours constant complaints from guests didn't seem to appease the situation one poor guest was moved at 3am to another room and told by one of the tutors if she didn't like it she could move to another hotel ! we felt like it could of been a school dormitory rather than a hotel and reception said it was being sorted ... 3 hrs later still continuing ... would we return probably not shame as malta a very lovely place to visit , now feel I need another holiday to recover

Room Tip: a suite better views than a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANNETTE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Annette S.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments about our hotel, the staff and the breakfast.
Your review will be shared with my colleagues on the management team i view of further improving our product and the services we provide.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel was clean,food great nothing was too much trouble .The staff was very friendly will be dack in january next year have told all our friends. The hotel is in a great location for the buses and shops and restaurants

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2,342,014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Grimsby,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor, for sharing your experience and for your mist favourable comments about Hotel Santana. I am also very pleased to note that you will be returning to our hotel in January next year. Do let me know if you need assistance with your booking. My e-mail is carmen.zammit@sunroutehotels.com
I will also share your review with my colleagues on the management team and with our staff because each if us does his/ her best to ensure 100% guest satisfaction.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff at this Hotel were wonderful, particularly in the Dining Room. but the accomodation itself left a lot to be desired. It is very tired, and we could not manage to keep the bedding on our beds, so ended up sleeping on the matress. Not very hygenic!! We had to call the maintenance men out three times to get power in our room, in the end they left a card in the slot.
The room itself was large with a balcony overlooking a building site.
The food weeks 1 was very good, then the chef changed and it really was very poor the second week. Having said all this, it is far superior to the Bella Vista.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonesarsenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments about our staff. I will ensure that these comments are passed to them.
I regret to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us, especially since we always strive to achieve 100% guest satisfaction. I take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and promise to share your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product and services.
At the same time, for the benefit of those reading this review, may I point out that there are no building works going on in the vicinity of the hotel.
I do hope that you will soon return to Malta and will again visit our hotel and I promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having read the recent negative reviews, I would like to comment that we have just returned after 10 nights and found this hotel to offer fantastic value for money.

We booked via an online internet booking agent who seemed to offer an exceptional late deal for B&B.

We stayed in a standard room on the 6th floor which had a small balcony – as we were on the 6th floor, it was high enough to offer a view of the med as well as the rooftops of other surrounding hotels/apartments.

The room was spacious with what seemed to be a new bathroom with walk in shower. Bed linen was changed every other day and towels daily. I agree with other reviews that towels/linen did not appear to be new but they were clean. There was a TV in the room which offered both SKY news and BBC entertainment channels. 2 power sockets available, one with a UK 3 pin plug and the other with a standard European, which we used with a normal travel adaptor. Both aircon and a fan available in the room.

We were only B&B, and each day there were issues with items not being replenished, but the staff were friendly enough and when asked they arranged for items to be replaced.

The rooftop pool is sparkling clean, and in summer months will prove popular. Sun loungers aplenty both by the pool and on the rooftop terrace by the rooftop café/bar.

There is a small café/coffee shop just off reception which we found to be good value for money for lunchtime snacks.

Plenty of free parking opposite the hotel, which was the main reason we chose the hotel, as we hire a car.

Wifi available for E5 for 600 mins and speed in reception/bar/pool areas is strong and fast.

Overall – we had a great stay, and found this to offer exceptional value for money. If you want 5* luxury then pay the price for 5* BUT don’t grumble at what you get for the money from the Santana…

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear SJ Berkshire,

Thank you for the time taken to write a comprehensive review about our hotel and for sharing your experience at Hotel Santana with other reviewers on TripAdvisor. I am happy to note that you enjoyed our stay with us and found our hotel to be exceptional value for money. Ensuring 100% guest satisfaction is what we always strive for.
I also noted your comment about the replenishment of food at breakfast and will discuss this matter with our Chef in view of improving the service.
Once again thank you for your most favourable comments and for recommending our hotel. I do hope you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel and promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The ministry of tourism made a mistake! The Santana got 4 stars from them, while actually it is a 2 star hotel. May be the public areas are 4 stars but rooms are much less. Every day we had to fight the flood in the open shower (no door, no curtain). For 2 days the air-condition didn't work. No electric plug converters in the reception. Extra pay for Hi-Fi, in the 21 century. Terrible view from the balcony- a field of dry, wild "vegetation". Only 1 electricity outlet in the room (considering the fact we had 2 cellular phones, 2 cameras, one tablet. it was difficult to maneuver). Location in St. Paul is quite a far away from Valetta - more than 1 hour by the public bus.
Hotel staff is friendly, and try to be helpful - under the above limitations. Breakfast is rich and reasonable.

Room Tip: Take a room to the front to avoid the "shabby" view of the rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gioram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Gioram,

Whilst thanking you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, I regret to note that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I take this opportunity to apologize for any shortcomings from our end and offer you my assistance in case you have any points you wish to discuss. My address is carmen.zammit@sunroutehotels.com
I also thank you for your favourable comments concerning breakfast at our hotel.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

6.96 euros per day or part of for tv in room shows level of service. I should have known better when their reply to my email question about towels was answered with a token "we will get back to you". I asked for a south facing room but was given a north facing room, pretty small. When I asked about safe in room with my money in hand, I was told it was all in the room. As I had the money there in my hand ready to pay, I took this to mean it was coin in the slot but no, I had to go to room again to check it was a key to rent at 1.15 euros a night and spell it out to sullen staff that I actually wanted the key. Also told no south facing room available. Food that night was awful. Tasteless lukewarm plasticy. Could not eat it so had to go out to eat after complaining to manager. Next morning, as I returned from reporting that the toilet would not flush, we got a phone call to say we could have a south facing room so moved. At least the manager listened. Food improved slightly or was it that we learned what to eat and what to avoid. British staff pleasant and friendly. Maltese sullen. Never saw a smile amongst them but that seemed the norm for Malta.
Entertainment was ok on the 4 out of 7 nights we were there. Difficult to read in room because lighting so poor. Waited for outside lighting to come on so we could read Fridge went off when we left the room but this is common to lots of hotels. I do not switch my fridge off at home when I go out. Air conditioning, such as it was, controlled centrally, switched off if any door was opened and had to be switched on again. That was only the fan to the room. I do not think it ever got cold.
Bathroom floor had to be mopped up with towel every time we had a shower because the shower base was not fitted properly.
Swimming pool on roof cold. Sunbathing difficult because very little protection from wind. No wind breaks, just wall about 3 ft high. Indoor pool cold with jacuzi at same temp.
Rooms clean and housekeeping staff friendly and helpful. Very handy for bus station.
Could win free 3 day stay for filling in house questionnaire but did not bother because we would not stay again even if it was free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank He_of_the_shiny_head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear reviewer,

Whilst I wish to thank you for the time taken to write the above review, I regret to note that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
We strive to ensure 100% guest satisfaction and we would like to apologize for any shortcomings from our end. However for your benefit and the benefit of those reading this review, I would like to clarify some points mentioned above.
I would like to stress out the point that our LCD TVs found in all rooms with 12 channels are completely free of charge. However, should a guest want to have other channels listed in the pay TV section, a small charge would apply.
Rooms are allocated depending on availability. In many cases we do manage to accommodate a guests’ request, however in some cases where the hotel is operating at a high occupancy rate, such requests are not possible to accommodate. However I am pleased to hear that as soon as a south facing room was available, we did give you one.
I am sorry to hear about the misunderstanding you encountered when speaking to one of our receptionists with regards to the safe in the rooms. All rooms are equipped with a safe which is against a small supplement which has to be paid at our front office.
As I am sure you will agree, food is a matter of taste and what pleases one guest might not please another. For this reason our buffet counter offers ample choice for all guests coming from different countries and cultures. In fact on our buffet counter one finds dishes ranging from Oriental noodles to local dishes.
Finally, I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our members of staff. I will make sure that these comments are passed on to their respective Head of departments since they always do their best to ensure that all of our guests leave the hotel with a smile on their face.
Whilst I wish to apologize once again for not having met your expectations throughout your stay, please feel free to contact me directly on carmen.zammit@sunroutehotels.com for further details.

Kind regards
Carmen Zammit
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,897 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
464 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £31 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing