We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel we were moved here because of over booking by travel company , food good , pool lovely , rooms good but we moved back to other hotel purely because we were staying there meeting friends , only complaint about hotel is at night the entertainment is out the front along main road no were for kids and a few ignorant guests were telling kids which were being well behaved to be quiet , but would stay here again but would say it's more 3 star than 4 !

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Carolinederry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for you favourable comments.

I will share your comments concerning the entertainment with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product.

In the meantime I hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel and promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

It's tough to know where to begin. We arrived at this hotel on Monday, midday, to spend 5 days exploring and enjoying Malta. As we arrived early at 1230, there was no room ready for us. The staff were not welcoming or helpful. Just no room until 2 - maybe. We should check back. So we asked if they could store our luggage and they gave us a key. We stored our bags and left the hotel to find some lunch. The good news is that we found a great Chinese spot across from the hotel called xiao xiao. The food was very inexpensive, served tremendous portions and had really friendly and helpful staff. We visited them more than once. :)
We returned to the hotel at 2. We approached the desk to see if our room was ready, and they said to hold on. So we sat in the foyer (thank god it was air conditioned) waiting. We watched 3 people get served off of the street before us, so we went back to the desk and asked if the room was ready. Now the room was ready. They gave us the room number and we collected our luggage and went up to it.
We had booked a room for 3 adults. We got a queen bed and a cot. The room was sweltering (30+ degree according to the gauge on my watch). There is no temperature control for individual rooms - 'it is on a timer' is the line the hotel staff uses for everything. I thought we should give the hotel the benefit of the doubt - it is listed as a 4 star!! - and see if the room would cool down. That night was unbearable. It was too hot to sleep. I went down to the front desk and said that the heat in the room was out of control and that we were having difficulty sleeping. The man at the desk laughed at me. Then I was told that the a/c was on a timer and I should wait for the room to cool. I said I'd let them know in the morning what the temperature was like. Well, no one needed to make up the beds as we all slept on top of the blankets. It was terrible. I went to the desk and reported my concern to a young lady. She took down the room number and said that the maintenance people would look at it. I accepted this.
We went to the closest 'beach' - which had no sand so I'm not sure how it qualifies as a beach - and discovered that it was a tiny bit of sand and a rocky water entry, so we went back to the hotel. We decided to try out the rooftop pool. This is the only 4 star quality that I could find in the hotel at this point. The pool was lovely and there were plenty of sun beds. The indoor pool and tub were also very nice.
When we returned to the room at around 5 pm, the maintenance people had been and they decreed the a/c had been fixed. The room still felt humid, but perhaps less warm than the day before so I left it. That night was horrible again. 30+ degree heat in the room. I called in the front desk to help. A gentleman accompanied me to the room and reset the system he agreed that it was warm but assured me that the reset was the cure. He also informed me that the a/c was set on a timer and at 23-24 degrees. I asked if this was normal and he said yes. I'm thinking that a/c is supposedto cool people after being in 25 degree heat...so I'm not quite sure where the thinking is here?? The next morning I went to the front desk and said that the a/c problem had not been solved. I wanted someone from the font desk to accompany me to the room to see just how hot it was. The vent was blowing out Luke warm air. The young man I spoke with started another maintenance form. I said 'we have done that - it is still not working'. He asked me to wait moment and a lady came out. She told me again about the timer for the a/c. I said that she should come to my room, as the a/c had been on for hours and tell me if this was normal. She asked me to wait and the a new man came out. He introduced himself as the operations manager when I asked why he was the third person I was speaking to in the span of 3 mins. He offered to change our room. I accepted with the condition that it was cooled properly. He said it would be fine. We were moved from the tiny sauna to a self catering suite. The a/c vent was about 3 times the size - and it actually blew COLD AIR! Hallelujah! So my issue is that my room was visited 2 separate times by 2 different people over 2 days and they let us stay in the sweltering heat when they knew very well the system was not working properly. That, or all of the tiny rooms are like that and they wait for people to complain before doing anything about it. They must have told me 100 times about a timer - like I had never experienced air conditioning before and somehow a magic timer was the illusion of heat. Horrible.
From that point, the room was fine. Our final three nights were ok. We used the rooftop pool daily and the indoor tub and life was good. That was until I needed some internet help from the front desk. The hotel internet is pay as you go. 4 star pay as you go internet?! Ridiculous. It's 2014 not 1999. And IT IS NOT common practice at all malta hotels as the db San Antonio gave us free internet any time. The pay as you go internet is not reliable, so we asked for a code for the lobby computers. We paid and were given a code. The code didn't work. I went back to the desk and told the man (same silly little man who laughed at me about the a/c on the first night) that it was not working. He huffed and took the slip from my hand and gave me my money back. I asked him why he had given me the money back? I needed his help to see if he could fix it. He said no 'I'm not an internet technician'. I was now angry. I was trying to book our transport to the airport and needed the internet to do it. I said that I remembered him from a previous night and that he didn't help me then either - and that it took the operations manager to help. He rolled his eyes at me and picked up the phone. When i asked who he was calling while I was speaking to him he shouted 'the operations manager - you think he can help you!?' He got off of the phone and said that the manager said the lobby computers were not working, had not been working all day just had he had already explained. I told him that he never said they hadn't been working all day - he is the one who sold us the code in the first place! I said if he had known why did he sell us the code. He said he thought it had been fixed. So I asked why didn't you tell me when I came back that it hadn't been working all day as the reason he was giving the money back. Obviously he had no idea - and was too embarrassed to say so. Communications breakdown was clear on the hotels end. I told him that his attitude was horrible and that he was very rude and unhelpful. I said he should not be in a position to serve people. He told me I was rude and difficult. Haha. Although completely inappropriate for a staff member to say, he was right in that moment. I had enough of him. So I left.
Oh yeah, the breakfast was gross, too.

Cracking hot rooms - £200. Leading me down the garden path about air conditioning and timers -£100. Knowing full well that my room was no where near the standard and keeping us in it - £150. Rude, incompetent and unhelpful staff member - £ 250. Being called rude in a place I am paying to stay - priceless. For everything else, stay somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Jeremy H.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I regret to note that you were disappointed about your recent stay with us and take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you allegedly experienced.
However, may I point out that whereas we do try to accommodate clients who arrive at the hotel before check-in time, our official check-in time is at 14.00 hrs.
Concerning the air-condition, may I also remark that all public areas are fully air-conditioned during their times of operation. The air-condition in the rooms is centrally controlled but is on during the afternoon and night.
With regards to the Wi-Fi may I respectfully remark that it is the normal practice for 4 and 3 star hotels in Malta to charge for Wi-Fi. Nevertheless, the charge is minimal, at only €5.00 for 10 hours.
Once again I apologize for any inconvenience you claim to have experienced.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel staff charming and very helpful. Good facilities, roof pool, basement gym & pool, bar and restaurants, reading lounge, etc., Our room was very clean with a fridge, two balconies, and a good view. Maid service, new towels daily. Breakfast only average. Hotel in a very central location in Qawra, close to bus terminal, restaurants, pubs, shops, and sea, yet also relaxingly quiet with none of the hustle & bustle noise associated with these facilities. As seems to be custom in Malta, wifi, tea/coffee making facilities, and room safe, are all chargeable extras

Room Tip: Some 5th floor rooms are located under the air conditioning units, which switch on at 7am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Michael S.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your most favourable comments. I am happy to note that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will soon have the opportunity to retunr. Do let me know if you need assistance with any future booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well just back from a 14 night stay at the Santana, Reception staff was very friendly on arrival and was soon sorted and off to my room.When i got to the room it was very clean and well set out also a bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit,Nice touch i thought,
Breakfast is still not great, plates on the small side,need to que for tea,then toast when you get back to your table with your food tea and toast are cold,so only that one gripe,the rest of the stay was just great all week the staff were freindly and always willing to help nothing was too much trouble,Which is a big plus for me after some of the hotels ive stayed in where the staff just didn't want to know or were just not intrested,
Housekeeping was done everyday clean towels if needed and agaain the houskeeping staff were also very friendly and very good at the job they had to do.i had a problem with the electrics in my room and it was sorted straight away with no fuss or bother.
i think the upper deck where the pool is could be made better use of for guest entertainment on an evening i went to another hotel with some friends most nights where the entertainment was much better but would have liked to have had the option of staying at the santana if entertainment had have been better.
So another good stay at the Santana and looking forward to staying there again in December.Try it folks ime sure you wont be dissapointed its taken me a few visits and a lot of hotels to find one that i could highly recommend to other travellers stayed at this place now 4 times and it wont be the last.
Thanks to all the staff for a very pleasent stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank pilot044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Pilot 044,

Thank you for your repeat custom, for your detailed review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor, for your favourable comments about our hotel and our staff and for recommending our hotel.
I will also share your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of continuing to improve our product and services.
In the meantime I hope that you will soon find the opportunity to return to Malta and to our Hotel and promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice, clean and comfortable for price. However, simple things such as wifi, tea/coffee making facilities in room, and room-safe were all chargeable extras (wifi was even charged by the hour, and only accessible in lobby). This is not a budget hotel & we felt it was outrageous to be charged for these things.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Manda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Manda H.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to note that you found Hotel Santana to be nice, clean and comfortable.

With regards to Wi-Fi, tea and Coffee Making facilities in the room and safe at a charge, all this is correctly advertised in our web-site and on the advice we give to operators selling our property. Apart from that, it is the normal practice of most 4-Star hotels in Malta to charge for such services.

I do hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our first visit to Malta so did not know what to expect.
The hotel is advertised as four star . It was is my eyes no more than two star. The hotel staff were lovely and very helpful at all times but the hotel itself is tired and in need of a refurb. Beware that there are additional charges for wifi and room safe.
The room was spotlessly clean and towels were changed every day. The breakfast was the best thing the hotel had to offer and was really nice with everything you could ask for.
The hotel is two minutes walk from most things including the sea , shops and restaurants and also the local bus depot for exploring the island.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was a bit bigger with a seating area which was useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue5923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sue 5923,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to note that you found the staff lovely and helpful, the room clean, the breakfast good and the location of the hotel good.
With regards to refurbishment, our hotel is subject to a rigorous, ongoing, maintenance programme, which ensure that our rooms and public areas are up to standard.
With regards to Wi-Fi and use of safe being at a charge, this is normal practice for most of the hotels in Malta.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 10 years and although pretty consistant good quality I still think it does not excel in all areas. This visit was just the two of us without kids and on half-board basis but we only had breakfast three times and dinner twice chosing to go elsewhere and pay instead. The dining room is dim and not comfortable for a lounging great dining experience, instead of having a few drinks and taking time you tend to rush the mediocre food and get out. Here's some food for thought for the Management (excuse the pun): assuming most folk like to lounge around and enjoy the evening meal over a few drinks why not harness those guests and use the Cashmere Room and the surrounding terrace for the dining area? I know this may be a smaller area but it is well served from the service lift and means guest have a outside or roof-top room to dine in rather than a basement. You may want to have booking times for dinner so this staggers the service, this also means guest may while the time in the bar before their dining time and allows you to have dishes presented fresher rather than a a joint of beef sitting under the lightes for ages waiting for passing diners. Keep the basement dining room for breakfast or turn it into a Gym assuming the indoor pool is going to open. (PS, when we did have the kids with us the Games Room next to the dining room was useful for entertaining them whilst we had a pre/post dinner drink. With this also not in action anymore again the potential is lost.) Let us know and we'll pop back again another time, see ya x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TADJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear TADJ,

Thank you for your repeat custom to Hotel Santana and for reviewing our hotel.
I will share your suggestions with my colleagues on the management team. However, for the benefit of those reading this review, may I point our that at Hotel Santana we offer a main restaurant which serves buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, an a la carte restaurant and a cafe/ eatery. Apart from this, in the Summer months we also organize weekly BBQs on Friday Evening on our terraces.

I hope that you will soon return to Malta and that you will again choose to stay at Hotel Santana. Do let us know if we can help you with your reservati9on.

In the meantime
Best regards from Malta
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,678 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £28 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing