We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santana
Nearby Hotels
Topaz Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$504
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
US$129
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Qawra Palace Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$107
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
San Pawl Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$45
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Primera Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
US$285
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Porto del Sol(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,659)
Filter reviews
1,659 results
Traveller rating
347
598
445
167
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
598
445
167
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcomfort roomthe busair conbuilding workplenty of choicecafe barbars and restaurantshalf boardvisiting maltahotel is in a great locationbed and breakfastwalk in showerbreakfast and dinnercold meatsbuffet stylesun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,197 - 1,202 of 1,659 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2010

At 43 maybe I should know better than to believe all I read.I did check all reports on all hotels before going to Malta.First 2 nights no sleep at all over 70 temp in the room and no aircon.Others also complained. I Complained changed rooms and air con on fast rattled like hell. View from any room at rear is of derelict swimming pool apartment and waste ground. Location,yes its near the bus station and loads of English bars if thats what you want. No beach only rocks. No remote first room,asked second room and finally they got one to work as they are programed to room,although TV was broken.Shower is old mixer tap type. Staff seemed sincere but this hotel is a 2 or 3 star that was a 4 star back in the 80s. Roof terrace bed s poor. Breakfast loads of choice but average. Cappachino and coffee in cafe excellent. Covered in bites on return home and not convinced they are mosquitos.

All in all Im a bit saddened by whole trip as Maltese people are really nice,food good weather unbelivably hot but this has spoiled most of it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jono67cyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

definitely its not 4 star hotel!! maybe it was 20 years ago and nothing change since then!! i wish i could say anything good.... on the first day cleaner has left the door width open while we been out for all day....and it was last time when we seen her...towels and bed has not been changed since then...iv complained we havnt got clean towels and they just left it outside the door in the plastic bag!what a service-you do it yourself.
air con??you can forget...big fan , sticky hot room ,was really hard to sleep.TV wasnt working, and they sort it out after 2 days. horrible deco , plugs falling apart!!i really dont know who gave it four star!! worst hotel i have ever been to, and i have traveled a lot

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lina2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

One star rating would be appropriate- and might be too generous. They even give you remote control at reception for TV and request that you return it when leaving- as a lot of 'guests' appear to steal them according to the receptionist. Smell of fried food throughout the hotel- and dirty linen on corridors. We 'checked out' within 2 hours of arrival, having found a more appropriate hotel to our needs- noting that we had stayed for 3 nights previously at the correctly graded 4 star Grand Hotel in Gozo.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinGuest2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

When we first checked into the Hotel Santan there was a cot in the middle of the room. I asked the front desk to remove it. They removed it but I had to ask twice and it took three hours.

Other than that I found the hotel was a good bargain for the price. The air conditioning worked on 4 of the 5 days that we were there. On the other day, the room was very hot even though the air conditioning was going.

The breakfast buffet was outstaning. Traditional english breakfast foods mixed in with some Maltese cuisine. It was always very filling.

I would recommend that they have someone help guests with their luggage when they first arrive. It was inconvient to have to carry bags up the stairs.

the location is very good. It is located 5 minutes from the bus terminus and walking distance to the Bugibba main strip.

I found the lack of free WI-FI annoying. You had to pay 5 euros a day to use it. And you had to bring your computer to the lobby to be able to use the WI-FI. They should really have free wi-fi much like other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

on arriving at the hotel the first room we were given (room 111) was small, had a balcony yes, but no view it looked onto the reception roof. the air con didn't work well and the fan looked as if it would fall off the ceiling. we complained immediately and at breakfast the next day moved rooms we were much happier with this and was defiantly worth the money. it was large airy and very clean.
the location is excellent quiet at night but very close to bars etc the bus terminal was just down the road these were excellent and i would defiantly recomend the buses great value!
the hotel once we had settled in was great value and as a young couple we were close to the night-life without it imposing on all aspects of the holiday
i would defiantly consider returning to this hotel and malta in the future,

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews