We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unwelcoming - unlike Malta as a whole”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Most unwelcoming - unlike Malta as a whole”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My visit to the Hotel Santana rather soured an excellent holiday in Malta, where the weather, scenery and people were perfect – in contrast to the welcome received at the Hotel Santana.

I think I was unlucky to be dealt with at Reception by the Hotel Manager, the only time I saw him behind the desk for my entire stay. He presented me with a blank form with about 20 blank fields and said “fill this in please”. When I questioned whether there was a need to fill-in fields such as Occupation, Date-of-Birth – or indeed for me to write in my own credit card details on this form – especially given concerns about identity theft, he told me it was a legal requirement to have all this info (not just the usual name / address / passport no / signature), and if I didn’t like it I could leave (not likely as I would have lost two nights prepayment).

Fortunately one of the more experienced receptionists completed the remainder of the form on my behalf, and I was able to complete check-in without the manager being involved.

The rooms were fine, although very noisy with either the local karaoke bar or fellow guests rearranging their room at 3:30am. Finding the hotel was a bit of a challenge given the one-way system – I think you will either find it first time, or have to ask for help after ending up down various dead-end streets. Fortunately the person I asked for help was more than helpful, taking time to go through the zig-zag route required to get to the hotel in some detail.

The TV was very small, and the hotel has an odd policy of supplying an intelligent remote control which will record what channels you have viewed in order to charge you if you watch one of the 9 default channels (which unfortunately don’t include an English language news channel). The toiletries provided were Travelodge standard, and the bath was very low lying which would be a challenge for older travellers, but the Air-Conditioning was good. The view from my room was of other hotels / apartments, but I believe some rooms can see the coastline in the distance.

The breakfast was good, but Internet access was not free. There was a public carpark across the street which was useful - although obviously the hotel takes no responsibility for security there.

Note: for some reason this hotel appears twice on Tripadvisor - it is actually in Qawra.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    500
    371
    141
    87
See reviews for
267
717
98
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Just come back from a week at this hotel. If you're after a good deal then you could do a lot worse. It wasn't fantastic but it was fine. The room was clean but basic, the bathroom could have done with an update, our toilet cistern took about half an hour to fill up between flushes, but it was a minor problem. Our air-con worked for most of the week, for the last two days it wasn't great. The staff were all lovely, with perhaps the exception of a surly chap in Cafe Castagna. We were basically told on check-in that, as we'd missed our first evening meal, we could take our lunch free the next day. But when we went down the next day, the guy in the cafe told us we could only have it on the day we checked out. Which was fine, but his attitude could have been a bit friendlier. However, all the waitresses downstairs in the main restaurant were really lovely! And our evening meal food was great all week. OH and the lifts had a mind of their own. A day didn't go by without one of them breaking down!...Qawra is pretty tacky too. If you are looking for English & Irish pubs (they even have the Diana bar which is dedicated to Princess Di) then this is the place for you. But the hotel was fine, especially when you think for 3 of us half board, it worked out at £32 each per day. The roof terrace area was also very nice, however we won't be going back as the general area wasn't great. Not rough or crime-ridden or even particularly noisy in the evenings, just not the real Malta. One place I would recommend to eat in the area is Funnys opposite the San Antonio Hotel - a really stylish Italian-Russian cuisine restaurant, with ambient lighting and funky music - it was deserted both nights we went there. I don't think the chavs really got it as it wasn't trying to be an english pub. The food was amazing, The best steak in the world!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BagpussBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Spent 3 nights here as part of a package. It's classed as 4 star but it would struggle to be recognised as a 3 star by most people. Room was dull with old fashioned, cheap furniture. Air conditioning was not working properly so it was incredibly hot during the night, making sleep difficult. Tried to get it repaired but no joy. There was a ceiling fan but that just circulated warm air around the room and was very noisy so not helpful at night. I was charged a daily rate to get a key for the safe in the room - why not just supply it? Breakfast was cheap and uninspiring: tinned fruit, processed cheeses and meats, industrial fruit juice, packaged bread and poor quality coffee from a machine. Staff appeared pleasant enough but I didn't really have much to do with them. I don't know about wi-fi but there were a couple of computor terminals in the foyer that required the purchase of vouchers to access them. Location is ok- close to bus terminus so it's easy enough to get around the island. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigdug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My visit to the Hotel Santana rather soured an excellent holiday in Malta, where the weather, scenery and people were perfect – in contrast to the welcome received at the Hotel Santana.

I think I was unlucky to be dealt with at Reception by the Hotel Manager, the only time I saw him behind the desk for my entire stay. He presented me with a blank form with about 20 blank fields and said “fill this in please”. When I questioned whether there was a need to fill-in fields such as Occupation, Date-of-Birth – or indeed for me to write in my own credit card details on this form – especially given concerns about identity theft, he told me it was a legal requirement to have all this info (not just the usual name / address / passport no / signature), and if I didn’t like it I could leave (not likely as I would have lost two nights prepayment).

Fortunately one of the more experienced receptionists completed the remainder of the form on my behalf, and I was able to complete check-in without the manager being involved.

The rooms were fine, although very noisy with either the local karaoke bar or fellow guests rearranging their room at 3:30am. Finding the hotel was a bit of a challenge given the one-way system – I think you will either find it first time, or have to ask for help after ending up down various dead-end streets. Fortunately the person I asked for help was more than helpful, taking time to go through the zig-zag route required to get to the hotel in some detail.

The TV was very small, and the hotel has an odd policy of supplying an intelligent remote control which will record what channels you have viewed in order to charge you if you watch one of the 9 default channels (which unfortunately don’t include an English language news channel). The toiletries provided were Travelodge standard, and the bath was very low lying which would be a challenge for older travellers, but the Air-Conditioning was good. The view from my room was of other hotels / apartments, but I believe some rooms can see the coastline in the distance.

The breakfast was good, but Internet access was not free. There was a public carpark across the street which was useful - although obviously the hotel takes no responsibility for security there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The room was comfortable, bathroom too, but very dirty in general! dust everywhere, you could see that everything was dirty not only by smelling but was obvious! Even towels seemed "used"! Whole 6th floor was smelling awful... Service wasn't bad except cleaners that they didn't clean at all, only they were making beds and go! Does it worth its money? it wasn't really 4 star hotel, but less than 2 i would say! Only location was very good, many hotels around, sea, touristic shops and places for food! Location was like "american style" with those places to eat but ok... you could walk and see the sea, good region!
Also in hotel, water was very expensive almost double price than in a mini-market. And internet was 5euros per hour but there is near an internet cafe that is cheaper.
Food was really good, big variety for breakfast and supper!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North west
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

2nd visit to the Santana and on the visit the room was very disappointing, ground floor room that has a balcony looking at a wall, aircon was touch and go and the room was so stuffy was very hard to sleep. Previous visit was again a standard room much nicer a third floor room at the front of the hotel. Stayed on B&B basis

The lovely is excellent and am told this is one of the better hotels for the price, The pool is nice and has a lovely view, sunbeds in need of replacement

Breakfast was good, rooms cleaned daily however a little warn

We loved the location and in general if in a different room would have been more than happy for the price, will stay here again next year however would request a front room and will pay for a superior room, we only paid £32 per room per night from holiday nights so cant complain too much for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darkangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My husband and I took my 84 year old father-in-law to Malta.
We had originally booked into The Qawra Inn but were absolutely disgusted with that hotel so set off looking for something better. We came across the Santana, checked over a couple of twin rooms, paid and moved pretty darned quickly. We were absolutely delighted with the Santana. Any problems were dealt with swiftly. The food was varied and interesting. The accommodation was excellent - one small criticism is that perhaps they should start replacing the mattresses (which were quite lumpy). The staff were very professional and helpful at all times. It was clean, tidy, smart, and welcoming. I can honestly say that the hotel was a "life-saver" in view of our earlier bad hotel experience.
I would definitely recommend this hotel - it does tend to cater for the older age group though (I didn't see any children at all) - but that can be a good thing if that's what you are looking for. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWorldOutThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Property: Hotel Santana
Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing