We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santana
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 20 September 2010

If you book this hotel be careful which rooms they give you. We were given rooms 008 and 010 at first which are behind reception, they are very small and feel something like being in a dungeon due to them being surrounded by a high wall. We were then moved to 148 which had a tiny balcony and terrible view but 135 which the others were given was much better! The beds are not at all comfortable and are simply chipboard with very old mattresses - we all had backache from them! The hotel pool for some reason feels like they have filled it with ice even though its on the roof and had been through the summer to heat up - the indoor pool is no warmer. Be careful when requesting dark towels and these are charged at 60cents per towel not a lot I know but even so I thought it was a little off!! On the plus side, the staff are friendly as are all the maltese and the hotel is in a good location - make sure you pay a visit to the bar attached to the hotel the barman in there is great! All in all unfortunately, its not a hotel that I would pay a return visit to there are many issues that would need to be addressed first.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hls1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

We booked this hotel for a few days from wwww.booking.com, just as a base until we found suitable accommodation.
Hotel Santana - An out of date hotel, something left over from the 80's gone wrong!
Very small, pokey rooms, dusty old furnishings, balcony-awful view with a waft of chip fat smell from a pub/cafe from the street below. Basic bathroom, shower had low pressure with only warm water.
Beds - awful, lumpy, soft and about 20 year old mattresses.
Could have upgraded our room for an additional 90 euros but doubted that the quality would improve drastically, so opted out.
The reception area & staff were pleasant but that was about it!
Advertised that they had WiFi - but no availability for the duration of our stay, only other option to use Hotel internet for an additional price.
Breakfast - very basic
Pool - very basic
We are a well travelled couple who are used to all ranges of accommodation. Would have preffered a backpackers hostel!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ontheroad2nowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed at Santana last June,
We booked a suite (upgrade from standard room at 10 Euro only), the room was nice,clean, wide with a small kitchen with fridge, the bathroom was good too. The whole staff was skilled and ready to satisfy with our requests.
The hotel is not far from the beach and we could rent beach facilities at convenient prices. With a 7 month old baby we could not travel easily to other beaches but in normal conditions tourists can reach any part of the island with old but efficient bus connections.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elenina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

1 week deal flights booked independantly.
few positives and negatives but overall very satified
not at all happy with one of the boat operators we went with but didnt let that ruin a nice stay in malta.
ok the only down points; the room had no view only into someones apartment and grungy street above a bar. amenities lacking also but small things only. food quality meant we nearly got fat in a week!

therefore positives remaining; rooms good size and kept very clean daily
food was amazing and varied buffet style on half board.
staff very nice and lovely roof pool with sea breeze to ease the great hot weather

we took a boat trip to blue lagoon etc with 'shamu cruises' which is part of romantica cruises also.
we had been dropped off at blue lagoon at noon and return due 2.45pm as we had more stops and fun on return due. sounded great, so we arrived back 10 mins early only to see boat pulling away! we called and had two people w met in the hotel asking them to wait for us but they kept going!! we waited 3 hours as other groups left the island but no return was forthcoming, we got abit worried now as the heat was very high and no parasols remained to hide under.
a speed boat crew offered to take for additional 24 euros so we were only tourists left so had to accept as we were stuck and very dehydrated, we had paid the shamu 35 euros for the trip previuosly.
on returning we told agent/boat crew/owners of shamu but they dismissed our complaints saying we were late and the boat was full anyway? even though we had tickets! they had not counted on board their passengers either.
our friends later said they told them we were missing and should not have left early, they replied we are full so cannot return? so we also missed the return parts to trip snorkelling etc. and to add to the lies they fobbed us off by agreeing to come to the hotel later to sort out all problems officially (owners steph, john)
.......no one showed up, what a suprise!! later that week we found 3 other couples who had similar problems in our hotel alone!! so watch out for these cowboys as they are irresponsable at best and we were lucky to get back and be in good enough health to cope with the mess they left us in.
do take a cruise but there are lots of small good companys there and the hornblower which is a larger boat. many other reputable boats to enjoy without using any cowboys.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrWhitegoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

we stayed at Santanna for 2 weeks could not fault it rooms were clean everyday, meals was fantastic plenty of choice.and staff friendly and helpful we have been to malta a few times staying at different hotels but santanna was the best we will return their in the near future

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelleeaton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

My partner (30 years old) and i (26 years old) were really looking forward to this hotel after reading reviews and looking at the hotel's own website. We chose it because it claimed to have air conditioning and wifi (which my partner needed for working while we were away). On arrival, we were very disappointed. Staff pleasant enough but didn't go out of their way to speak to anyone. Very dated decor, which we weren't too fussed about as we weren't there to stay inside and look at it. Terrible smell all day and night in the hallways/outside our room, urine/stale smoke!! Room was absolutely roasting all day, which made getting ready & sleeping at night unbearable. NO AIR CON!! Just a celing fan, circulating HOT air around the room! Balcony had a view of a stretch of wasteland & other balconies so we didn't sit out there.. Double bed was 2 single beds pushed together. Hairdryer in room was good as was the shower. Towels changed daily & bin emptied but that was all the cleaning done in the week we were there. Free car park across the road which was great for us to get out of the hotel in our hire car! Breakfast ok for a few days but boring after that. Bread, ham, yogurt, cereal, limited fruit. Hot chocolate was nice. Wifi available in the lobby for 5 Euros a day but we couldn't connect so went to a nice wee cafe 2 doors along which gives Wifi for free! Huge complaint we have, apart from the NO AIR CONDITIONING is that we filled in the hanger for breakfast in bed at 10pm one night, which said had to be hung before 4:30am, come 10am it was still hanging there & we had then missed the time to go down for it so had to go out to a cafe. All in all, i would avoid this hotel unless u don't mind no air con & are only staying for 2 or 3 nights. We enjoyed Malta but would have preferred another hotel and St Julian's is much nicer than St Paul's Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshinejill087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Ok, as many other feedbak i want to confirm that this is not a real 4 stars hotel only two star. So it will have a lot of minus if you expect a 4 stars hotel, otherwise is not too bad.
The location for us was good, you need car because you're not close to the sea, but you need a car in Malta! There is a lot of free parking just in front of the hotel. At night you're quite close (by feet) to night life streets in Qawra and St.Paul with many restaurants and pubs.
The hotel plus: our room was really large (we're 2 adults and 3 kids) , the breakfast and dinner were ok even if pretty english oriented (no maltese dishes), the restaurant buffet service was pretty nice (just avoid to get in too close at closing time), it has two pools one on the top and another internal one, the price of the overall stay was really good.
The minus are: it is not on the beach (you need a car), it is not exactly a brand new hotel, the air conditioning was not working well (but we did not care), room cleaning service provided a very "basic service" (but we asked to pay more attention and they did so), but the worst thing was to find always the cleaning tools and/or garbage collection boxes in the hallways and sometimes to access to our room (we had a baby stroller) we need to push those stuff (just funny!)
So the basic idea you get what you pay for: good for a no frills journey

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glawen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
5.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £26 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing