We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stayed for 1 hour then demanded a new hotel from Rep!”
Review of Mavina Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mavina Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We booked a self catering apartment and were given bottom floor. The rooms were awful, less than basic, poor decoration and standard of furniture, no air con and we had two small children. The pool was nice but sun loungers were charged DAILY!
Other rooms may have been better but I was in tears and rang the rep immediately. We were moved within an hour and had a lovely hotel we were happy with. I would not recommend the bottom floor apartment and would not return, ever!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KatieMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed at Mavina with my husband for a week. It's a three star apartman hotel, but after my holiday I would withdraw at least one star from them. The apartement was clean but it was so hot in the room (even we had a fan) that we could hardly sleep and all the guests were saying the same. Some took the beds on the balcony to be able to sleep. The kitchen and bathroom window looked onto the ventillation pipe and the windows were open because of the hot weather. One day I found a cockroach running in the bathroom. At the reception they said that they will spray for us and said that we should close the window. They weren't surprised. Some refurbishment and air condition also needed. I never stay at four our five star hotels when I'm on holiday and I don't have high demands with the accomodation but the cockroach was too much for me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hajnalka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

stayed 2 weeks on self catering ,apartment very clean with every thing needed for acomfortable holiday. Staff very helpfull and polite .Pool cleaned every day,what a suntrap it is round it.Hotel well positioned for local bars and places to eat also bus station for getting round the island Going back(booked already) in June can,t wait

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheffieldOzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

The Mavina was excellent.

Me and my boyfriend went to Malta for 7days, and stayed at the mavina. on arrival which was at 2.00am the Hotel Manager was waiting for us with the keys to our apartment. as it was very late all we had to do was give our names so the rest could be sorted out in the morning.

The room was ok, had a Kitchen/living area with a TV. then seperate bathroom with shower, which was great.
we was given two bottles of water which was waiting for us in the frigde, a loaf of bread and some butter to get you started.

the pool is really good and very clean and you could get a sun bed for 1 euro and theres a little counter where a young man was selling icecream and drinks for cheap.

over all i enjoyed my holiday, and have even got the direct phone number for the mavina so i can book with them again. will be going again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank justme750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

My husband and I were very happy with what we paid to visit the MAVINA through a travel agent. We booked HB and weren't expecting a great deal bearing in mind the amount we paid. When we arrived we found the room basic but on turning back the bed covers found the sheets to be lovely and white and clean. The bathroom was basic also but the towels were brilliant white and clean, as was the bathroom itself. We particularly liked the different meat selections each day for breakfast - especially the one with peppers and olives in. The evening meal menu was varied and plentiful. The pasta starters and the smoke salmon starter was very nice. Also the main courses were varied and tasty. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Infact, I experienced people walking into reception asking to look around because they had heard Mavina was good and their accommodation wasn't acceptable. My Husband and I would certainly visit the Mavina again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

we originally booked at another hotel and had a terrible 4days eventually we got our rep to move us to the mavina. We were only there 3 days but we enjoyed it so much that we are going back soon. the staff were very friendly and helpfully hotel very clean which saddly isnt the case of most of the hotels in malta, there meals were great and unlike some places you didnt have to que for them. the hotel is in the centre of it all which was great as we didnt have far to go to get buses or bars or best of all the shops. The pools are checked constantly which was reassuring for families with children. Even though the hotel is next to bars we didnt have any problems with noise which was ace. When we arrived we were greeted by thomas the cutes cat iv ever seen lol so wanted to take him home. as soon as we get our photos done we will post them on this site

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank donalda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
17
Reviewed 26 September 2005

We stayed 11 days in a 3-room apartment (bedroom / bathroom / living-kitchen). Service was half board

Location:
Directly opposite to Mavina is a 5-story apartment with in-between a noisy and crowded street. Doors to the small balcony mostly need to be closed in order to ban out the noise.

Apartment / rooms
The apartment has a stairwell, no elevator (a problem for people on age with heavy suitcases)
No airco but a fan in the bedroom. Rooms are clean but very basic and definitely needs to be renovated.

Breakfast (half board)
Basic offering, 3 type of breads an egg and as sandwich filling cheese, meat and jam. Coffee, tea and jus available

Diner (half board)
Basic offering daily selection between, 3 starters, 3 main courses, 2 sweets. And although the service is friendly, you will be ready within the hour. (After completion of the starter, main course is there within seconds)

Sports
A small pool is available with limited space for beds around it. Also a snooker table can be used

Summary:
Although Mavina is a 3-star hotel, the apartment probably is not
Instead of half board, ordering from the menu does give a broader selection (dining outside is probably a good alternative).
The location of Mavina is not ideal, the street is noisy and as soon as the apartment on the opposite side of the road is operational, privacy will be minimal.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,390 reviews
0 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,681 reviews
0 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,610 reviews
0 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
0 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavina Aparthotel

Address: Triq il-Fliegu, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £13 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mavina Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mavina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavina Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Mavina Aparthotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing