We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel for the price!”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews but we when we arrived we found it to be a comfortable, extremely friendly and more than adequate hotel to stay in. We booked self catering and were very happy with the facilities (Double hotplate, Microwave, Fridge, plates, cuttlery and everything we needed for our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly (especially Joyce!) giving us information on places to go, points of interest and the local bus services. There is a bus stop outside the hotel which made traveling around the island very easy. The rooms were clean and extra bedding was provided in the wardrobe, the heating also came on every night at 6 automatically so we were never cold, though there is an option to turn this off if you need to by removing your key card. We had a very large balcony with a lovely view of the bay (Room 214) there was a crane 40 yards away where the hotel are renovating though this did not obscure our view much and made no real difference to us. We didn't pay for all inclusive and were quite glad as there was no vegetarian alternative to the cooked breakfasts. We mainly used the hotel as a base for sightseeing and it was perfect for this. All in all it was a wonderful Holiday the hotel was amasing for the price we paid and we would stay there again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophieb815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
There are newer reviews for Porto Azzurro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Having just spent all of the month of January 2012 at the Porto Azzuro Hotel I would like to recommend this BUDGET holiday to any one looking for a quiet out of season Holiday.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Our room small but very clean and also contained the basic self catering facilities.
We were half board. Breakfast excellent, full cooked english + cereal,+toast ,Jam ,Marmalade +continental. You could have the lot if you wished.!!!
Evening meals lots of choices and the menu changed everyday. We were served by attentive staff. Being there a month we got to know them all and they looked after us very well. Brian who owns the Restaurant and Bar is a real character with a good singing voice which he put to good use on the Kariokie evenings. He even got myself singing I didn't get any bookings but it was fun and that is what holidays are all about.
We booked through Club Malta. Went for the meeting which we were asked to do when we booked the holiday . Very interesting and certainly no pressure.
Our only disappointment the cost of 2 euro per day for the use of the metal box / safe which we consider to be an unfare charge having already paid a returnable deposit ( Fare )
The bus service on the island is second to none which we put to good use and explored most of Malta.
Loved Malta and the people god willing we will be back again next January for our winter break.
Janice and Stuart Mitchell (retired).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janice stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

A shocking stay for so many reasons!Waste of hard earned money!No buffett dinner as paid for! Lots of unhappy people!Totally misleading advertising! A shabby, dated & run down place for Malta, clever advertsing! A bad deal as we have had a million times better for cheaper in Malta!Chairs in reception were fraying so badly, such a sight! No repair to the light not working in room, gave up asking after a week! Ants all over the benchtop in room.This was a winter stay so Summer would be interesting! The hotel did not feel clean to us and you could see the dirt marks around the skirtings which we could not see in other hotels in Malta. T.V did not work,judging by the light situation we did not hold our breath! No care for the comfort of the guests as the dining room was freezing with everyone complaining. Such tiny portions of very basic food! First night given a plate of cooked frozen veg each, had to share a plate for the rest of the week! Even the cake portions were split in half so you never got a full piece of cake! Unbelievable! Hotel owner saving money at our expense! Lights not switched on fully in dining room, so like sitting in a dungeon! So cold, people wearing coats, scarves and jackets at the dinner table! So sad! Everyone was complaining to each other and you could really sense their bitter disappointment with the hotel. Gymn and pool were filthy, the pool bin not emptied in the whole week that we were there, gymn equipment was a rusty joke from the 1970's! had to be seen to be believed! Shabby, Indoor pool filthy and tiny, you could visibly see the dirt! Our hope of swimming did not happen! The most shocking thing was that many guests, especially the old, were complaining of feeling really cold in their rooms, but the response that we heard was so sad, heating only on at 6.00p.m and off at 6.00 a.m. Showering in the cold was no fun! The owner should have made adjustments to the heating times upon complaints! Who wants to get up at 5.30a.m so that they can shower in the warm?! Crazy!This holiday was not cheap for us. We were not expecting the Ritz but just a very basic, comfortable and relaxing stay. We did not create a useless fuss but do hope that others will be honest enough to warn others, especially the elderly of what they can be in for. If food, comfort and cleanliness are your thing beware of Porto Azzurro!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank onehundredpercent100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Sir / Madam,

I am sorry to learn that our hotel and services did not match your expectations. As a team, we have been working hard in order to provide a better service and embellish our property.

We appreciate that you brought details about your experience to our attention and immediate action has been taken to improve upon our responses.

We apologise if we did not meet your expectations. We are always ready to speak to the clients and solve an issues that they might encounter.

I hope that our actions as explained above can serve as reassurance that we take your feedback fully on board and should you wish to detail your experience any further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on info@portoazzurro.com.mt or 00356 21585171.

In closing I hope that we will have the opportunity to present an improved experience to you and I look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Malta.



Sincerely,

Charlot Abela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

A shocking stay for so many reasons!Waste of hard earned money!No buffett dinner as paid for! Lots of unhappy people!Totally misleading advertising! A shabby, dated & run down place for Malta, clever advertsing! A bad deal as we have had a million times better for cheaper in Malta!Chairs in reception were fraying so badly, such a sight! No repair to the light not working in room, gave up asking after a week! Ants all over the benchtop in room.This was a winter stay so Summer would be interesting! The hotel did not feel clean to us and you could see the dirt marks around the skirtings which we could not see in other hotels in Malta. T.V did not work,judging by the light situation we did not hold our breath! No care for the comfort of the guests as the dining room was freezing with everyone complaining. Such tiny portions of very basic food! First night given a plate of cooked frozen veg each, had to share a plate for the rest of the week! Even the cake portions were split in half so you never got a full piece of cake! Unbelievable! Hotel owner saving money at our expense! Lights not switched on fully in dining room, so like sitting in a dungeon! So cold, people wearing coats, scarves and jackets at the dinner table! So sad! Everyone was complaining to each other and you could really sense their bitter disappointment with the hotel. Gymn and pool were filthy, the pool bin not emptied in the whole week that we were there, gymn equipment was a rusty joke from the 1970's! had to be seen to be believed! Shabby, Indoor pool filthy and tiny, you could visibly see the dirt! Our hope of swimming did not happen! The most shocking thing was that many guests, especially the old, were complaining of feeling really cold in their rooms, but the response that we heard was so sad, heating only on at 6.00p.m and off at 6.00 a.m. Showering in the cold was no fun! The owner should have made adjustments to the heating times upon complaints! Who wants to get up at 5.30a.m so that they can shower in the warm?! Crazy!This holiday was not cheap for us. We were not expecting the Ritz but just a very basic, comfortable and relaxing stay. We did not create a useless fuss but do hope that others will be honest enough to warn others, especially the elderly of what they can be in for. If food, comfort and cleanliness are your thing beware of Porto Azzurro!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onehundredpercent100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

s/c accom 6th floor. No grill or oven, one pot. Bad smell of sewerage in room (receptionist acted surprised when told) Told her she should look at trip advisor reviews. Small tv on shelf near ceiling. Deposit required for remote control but only two channels (both news) Safe in wardrobe but deposit required plus daily rental. No atmosphere in bar and very cold (January).
No other bars nearby. Breakfast 3.5 euros. Not good. Indoor pool and sauna were nice but jacuzzi didn't seem to be working.

A bit more thought and effort required before I could reccomend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ger96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

When you first enter Porto Azzuro you think 'yeah, not bad'... and then you get to the room and your heart just sinks... The room is spacious enough and that's all it has going for it. I had to sleep with a chair and bed pushed against the door because it didn't feel secure for a start. If you want the luxury of a remote control for a tv which only has two working channels, then be ready to part with 10 Euros. The rooms are cold, we were told the heating would come on any minute now (we checked in at 5:30pm) but my brother slept in a cold room, and in my room where I had hearting, the noise of the fan and the refrigerator kept me up all night. It was also really cold because they only thougt to provide you with one blanket on the bed which looked like it'd leave you with itchy sores if it touched your skin. Depsire it being a studio apartment there was also no complimentary tea and coffee.

Do not eat in the restaurant, food is not cheap and the service is dire and ther is the small issue of food poisoning (!). When a load of olive oil ended up on my pizza I was informed that it was my fault and that they wouldn't change the pizza until I made a complaint, even then I was convinced they saved me the same pizza with the oil mopped up. The waitresess are only pleasant if you eat what you're given and not make a fuss. Service is slow given and food is given with barely an acknowledgement. (There were a total of 5 tables for dinner - hardly manic). My brother also got food poisoning which meant the next day we had to go seeking a pharmacy.

I am familiar with the phrase you get what you pay for, but even then you hope and expect that the hotel will have some standards. This is one place I definitely would not recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uzma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during the stay at our hotel.

In relation to your accommodation, we do not provide teas and coffees in the room. We simply keep our prices low and we do not have any hidden costs or any sort of surprising costs once you arrive. Apologies for the inconvenience caused regarding the refrigeration noise and the heating. We started working on the heating problem as soon as we were informed. During the two days that we were working on the heating, we provided individual heaters for those clients who informed us that their room was cold.

With regards to the pizza, when we do mistakes, we absorb the cost ourselves. The restaurant staff changed your pizza without charging you for the second and with a sense of goodwill. Unfortunately, one cannot state where the food poising came from. This is an accusation that there are no concrete biological evidence that your brother's food poisoning was caused by our restaurant. I would like to inform you that our food and hygiene regulations on the island are very strict and we abide by them.

I urge all clients that whenever one goes for a holiday, and he/she has a problem, the best way is to speak to manager on duty and the issue will be resolved. We always do our utmost to satisfy our guests so that all clients will have a positive experience of both Porto Azzurro and Malta.

I hope that our actions as explained above can serve as reassurance that we take your feedback fully on board and should you wish to detail your experience any further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on info@portoazzurro.com.mt or 00356 21585171.

In closing I hope that we will have the opportunity to present an improved experience to you and I look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Malta.


Sincerely,

Charlot Abela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS WRITTEN RETROSPECTIVELY AND THE DATE IN THE DROP DOWN BOX IS INCORRECT. WE TRAVELLED THERE OCTOBER 2010 AND HAVE JUST WRITTEN REVIEW NOW AS WE ARE REVISITING RESORT NEXT MONTH : FEB 2012.

We stayed at Porto Azzurro Oct 2010. Tired rattan furniture with split cushions in the foyer.not a good first impression. There were broken, dirty curtains in room and en-suite had dirty shower curtain, dirty table in bedroom, uncomfortable lumpy pillows, uncomfortable beds, two pushed together and moved apart in the night... (could have been dodgy)! The room was at the back of complex and had a mass of rubbish around the site. nice to view. (not) The breakfasts were just about ok, but not keen on the numerous chipped plates and warm milk (not refrigerated) for cereal. We made the mistake of booking half board, monotonous repetitiveness of meals, and no coffee after evening meal. you had to wait in bar for someone to make coffee, at an extra charge. Unfortunately it rained in the evenings a couple of times, and when it did, water poured in through glass doors and down the wall next to TV cables... health and safety! No one mopped up the water, eventually someone put some tea towels down along water pooling in bar to try and stop it's flow... just hoped they didn't use them afterwards for the bar glasses. No tea/coffee making facilities in room, which would have been nice. We had to take out our own rubbish, the towels were changed, but that seemed to be the only maid service. I would advise a rental car as Xemxija is a long way from shops, bars, beaches etc. Driving is fine over there, just give way to anything bigger than you ! Probably cheaper to book online at home and pick car up from airport. Beware they wanted to charge us nearly 8 euros for a skimpy map!
We surprisingly are going again, as they have promised us the place had been upgraded and we could do with a cheap getaway. This time we've been promised an apartment and we're room only. We'll eat out.. recommend Mamma Mia. Ta'Xbiex Seafront.

Room Tip: There was a lot of building going on in immediate area in October 2010, hope it's finished. Did...
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueGReigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,614 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,373 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.8 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £18 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing