We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed there for 11 days in a studio. Generally, it is a good hotel, with nice pool and good facilities. The room was spacy and clean, the location is good too, just 100 m. from a bus stop. Also the minimarket saved us a couple of times (altough the prices there are higher than in other shops). What we didn't like were the uncomfortable pillows, hard and too high. The first night was difficult but then we asked the staff to change the pillows and they replaced them with ones of a different type. The other thing we didn't like was the lack of free wi-fi, you had to pay for it and the price was unreasonably high - 5 EUR for 10 hours or something like that. But despite that, generally we consider our stay to be "good value for the money" and we would definatelly choose this hotel again. From our experience: the closest supermarket that we found was GS Discount Supermarket located on the main street of Mellieha (all buses from the hotel go there).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 471Mar_ti_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    498
    315
    153
    116
See reviews for
267
663
107
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

my family stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks,accommdation was ok,expect for there was no shower curtain in the bathroom,food was great,friendly & helpful staff,mini market had sticker on the window saying we sell English newspaper,when we asked them about the papers,they replied they don't sell them!pool outside -sometimes you couldn't get a sunlounger because by the pool side was full,the gym was basic equipment when I went in there to use an equipment,the room was like sauna,because in the gym had no air conditioner!so I never used the gym again!

Room Tip: rooms oppsite the poolside have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A good location with easy access to the bus communication around the island. The staff was overall friendly and helpful. We met guest relation manager Alexis who assisted in a nice and professional. Nice pool with a nice poolbar with excellent service. The room was not being cleaned during the week, but the towels were changed every day and the garbage removed. The beds a little too hard for us, but not a problem for a week of holiday. Good to have the minimarket in the hotel and the breakfast was quite ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LISBURN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After reading mixed reviews on trip advisor, I was slightly nervous about arriving at our hotel. Although the hotel is dated and in need of a touch of tlc, the hotel meets the basic needs of a sun holiday. We only used our room for showering and sleeping and had a large balcony for watching the sunset over the mountain each evening so it was adequate.
We were self catering, so we didn't use the restaurant but we certainly made good use of the pool, which was clean and big with plenty of sun loungers, we also used the new pool bar which was nice. They are doing a lot of work outdoors and with time, I'm sure it'll be lovely. We ate out every night, so the hotel mini market was handy for topping up with drinks and snacks and quite reasonable. Wifi is available at a small charge.
The hotel was clean, rooms a good size and staff all very helpful.
The hotel was very quiet, welcoming and guest relations Alexis was very knowledgeable and friendly. We had no major issues and we would def return to Porto Azzuro.
Although the resort is quite quiet, the bus service is excellent and the bus stop is at the bottom of the road, which has an excellent service that will take you anywhere in the island and a daily ticket costs just €2.60 or a weekly ticket works out even cheaper. We went into Qawra & Bugibba a few of the nights as we the restaurant choices were limited in Xemija bay. They were about 15mins away by bus and much more touristy resorts, offering more choice of restaurants and bars. The last bus returns at 11.30ish, after that there is a night service at extra cost we never used and I don't know how frequent it runs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMCGLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Porto Azzurro is beautifully located as a base to explore the north of the Island. I have stayed there many times, the last being in May of this year. It is a good value 3 star property with helpful staff, a very useful onsite mini market and both an outdoor and indoor pool. The rooms on the 4th floor with a pool view are well equipped and pleasant. There are many good restaurants within walking distance. I am advised that there is a forthcoming upgrade of the pool area - toilets etc which will be very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goddardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tver, Tver', Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent there our honeymoon from 16.07 till 31.07.
It's perfect for those, who wouldn't spend in the hotel all the time, so we were delighted. Breakfast was always the same, but various. The pool has salty water, so it' no matter if you don't want to go to a beach, which is in 1 minute of walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlionaGotlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It is our second time here in Malta, but our first time in hotel porto azzurro. We met with the guest relations manager Alexis who was very helpfull and professional. We used the outside pool and we enjoyed it a lot. The only thing we didn't like was that the breakfast was always the same.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rico a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,249 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing