We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Malta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Malta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a weeks holiday at Porto Azzuro at the end of October in their self catering accommodation. Xemxija Bay is quiet and exactly as we like. The Public transport is fantastic enabling us (my wife and I) to travel all over Malta for 2.65 Euros a day or 12 euros a week each. Malta is a fabulous island with a great history and well worth a visit.
Our accommodation was excellent, maybe one or two minor improvements (the shower could have been improved) but overall it was certainly value for money.
We had a potential disaster with our credit card and only discovered it on our return home and while this had nothing to do with Porto Azzurro itself Alexis gave us brilliant support and it was certainly not a case of "out of sight out of mind" . Many thanks Alexis

Paul & Marie

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 628P_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    476
    301
    146
    113
See reviews for
255
632
101
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great hotel with good facilities. Our room 309 was large and well-equipped and spotlessly clean. We had had previous bed experiences with hotels in Malta but this one was exactly what we were looking for, quiet and in a nice spot. The pool area was good and there were some really nice places to eat close by. Transport was good all over the island and it is a great base for exploring(the heritage trail is on the doorstep) or for a quiet break. Will definitely return as all staff were friendly and polite - no complaints at all.

Room Tip: 309 was great as it was at the end of the corridor so nobody walking past, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie106_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have stayed at this resort several times and find that each time we visit more and better improvements are being made. It is noticeable that the resort is being extended and improvements are continually being made to the apartments. There is a small shop selling all the necessary day to day items and this has been tidied up and clearly laid out.
The staff are all friendly and helpful and coming and going is easy.
Travel to and from the airport is easy as the X1 bus to and from the airport stops at the bottom of the short road to the resort.
We also found it very helpful to have a customer relations person, Alexis, available in the foyer every morning. She will advise on attractions etc and make sure any small repairs or concerns that are necessary are promptly dealt with.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

After reading so many bad reviews about this hotel, I was unsure what to expect, but our room was clean and had our towels changed everyday. Maria who worked in the dining room at breakfast and also in the bar in the evening was very helpful in arranging a car for us, and giving us advice as to which beaches to go to. All in all we had a nice holiday.

Room Tip: We were on 6th floor and didn't have a balcony which was a shame, but it was ok for a week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little tired but very clean.The staff are very friendly particularly Maria looking after the breakfast room who always went out of her way to help with information on restaurants and destinations.There were building works going on at the time of our stay which sometimes started at 6.30am.the pool restaurant offered a limited selection of evening meal but good value.The hotel is not walking distance of many shops or restaurants but there are a few which are ok,however buses run to buggiba where there is a lot more choice of restaurants.the outdoor pool was too cold to use at this time of year.there are no boat trips that run from St. Paul's bay.no beaches in walking distance .Would recommend getting a weekly bus pass though as the buses are easy to use air conditioned and run all over the island.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

when we arrived at the Porto Azzurro apartment and booked in and gentleman called henry was very nice and welcomed us to hotel the next morning we meet a lovely lady called maria who welcomed us to the restaurant for breakfast and was very helpful every morning of our stay, we found all the staff very nice and helpful ,the accomandation was good and everything was clean we really enjoyed our stay there on 22nd to 29 oct '13

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Porto Azzurro was a very pleasent place to stay. My son loved both the pools and enjoyed exploring the surrounding area as there were caves to explore and ruins on the near by hill. The rooms were kept clean and tidy by the staff during our whole visit and the reception staff were very helpful with information on the hotels amenities and with information on the local area and on the Island in general. Alexis was also very helpful and delt with any questions/problems very efficiently and quickly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing