We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break fantastic view.”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I would like to say thank you fir the fantastic servic that we had in this last 4 days espacily ti Alexis for her service all we asked for she gave us from basic as towel an other table for our great terrace thank again. For sure you will see us all soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melabe124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

It was my first stay at Porto Azzurro, and i'm happy to say that it was a great choice to choose to go there. The staff was very helpful but thanks to Alexis our weekend break was just fantastic! Looking forward to come back again, and Thanks for everything!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have been going for many years in June and October,St Pauls bay and surrounding area excellent facilities at Hotel very good with efficient and welcoming staff many have been working there fro many yeras

Room Tip: Overlooking swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Porto Azzuro was a good base to spend in Malta if you are self catering. The bay was quiet and a little bit like going back in time. Just down the road about 50yards from the hotel is a little cafe that serves the most delicious puddings. The buses are good, very cheap and run regulary from early morning until about 10pm, just a shame that the night service is not very frequent.
The room and facilities were adequate, nothing special but nothing to complain about except the view from our room which was pretty bad, such a shame when you are overlooking a beautiful bay.
Also it seem there is a lot of building work currently going on in the bay.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for a short break. There are plus and minuses of this property. Pluses first, clean apartment mostly. Wasn't afraid to unpack, well maintained kitchen area and well stocked with everything you need for a short stay. Beds were comfortable, there were fans in living/kitchen and bedroom. A lovely large balcony with furniture. The Hotel has Spa treatments available at extra cost, an indoor swimming pool and access to an outdoor pool and bar. The breakfast is only 4E if you aren't B&B which was good value. Extras not included, safe was 2E a night with a 10E refundable key deposit, TV was 10E but I think that was for the remote control as the TV worked. There was air-conditioning but we didn't find out the cost. There is a bus stop for the local buses, (which are very good and cheap, 2.60E for an all day pass for any bus to anywhere on island) at the end of the street. Minuses, it is quite a climb to the hotel from the main st. The lift is tiny, holds 2 people max and if you have large suitcase I would only say one person. Our room had loose floor tiles in the hallway, there was serious damp with mould in bedroom, the safe was rusted entirely on the inside, there were cracked tiles in bathroom patched up with cement. We stayed 3 nights, not once did our room get serviced, not a bin emptied which I thought was the minimum you could expect. The shower/ bath taps didn't work too well, the water came out of both at same time. The bus trip to Valletta, they say 45mins, minimum we did it was 1hr and that was at night. I must admit though, it was very quiet even with a group of students staying on our floor. There is also a mini market on site which looked like it carries everything you need.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ausgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a weeks holiday at Porto Azzuro at the end of October in their self catering accommodation. Xemxija Bay is quiet and exactly as we like. The Public transport is fantastic enabling us (my wife and I) to travel all over Malta for 2.65 Euros a day or 12 euros a week each. Malta is a fabulous island with a great history and well worth a visit.
Our accommodation was excellent, maybe one or two minor improvements (the shower could have been improved) but overall it was certainly value for money.
We had a potential disaster with our credit card and only discovered it on our return home and while this had nothing to do with Porto Azzurro itself Alexis gave us brilliant support and it was certainly not a case of "out of sight out of mind" . Many thanks Alexis

Paul & Marie

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 628P_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great hotel with good facilities. Our room 309 was large and well-equipped and spotlessly clean. We had had previous bed experiences with hotels in Malta but this one was exactly what we were looking for, quiet and in a nice spot. The pool area was good and there were some really nice places to eat close by. Transport was good all over the island and it is a great base for exploring(the heritage trail is on the doorstep) or for a quiet break. Will definitely return as all staff were friendly and polite - no complaints at all.

Room Tip: 309 was great as it was at the end of the corridor so nobody walking past, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie106_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,641 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
183 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £17 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing