We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter break”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“winter break”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good value winter break our 3rd visit, this time staying for 8 weeks. Jan/Feb.
On arrival we were given a very warm welcome reception ladies Rachel. Hannah and Catherine. On several occasions we made use of the Guest relations officer Alexis Meylaq. On each of these occasions we found her very helpful and friendly.
A great improved refurbishment to The Shop and restaurant thanks go to Bobby and her team who was happy to listen to our suggestions. The Bar had been refurbished to a high standard also well stocked. Spaz and his team of Jordan and Svetlana who worked tirelessly making sure everyone was well looked after and enjoyed their holiday Thank you. Only used the restaurant a couple of times due to being self catering. Food good value and well presented. Maria making sure we were well looked after for the breakfast. I do apologise for the evening waiter forgotten his name but thank you. Complements to the chef who has greatly improved the catering from previous years.
The rooms are a comfortable standard having an excellent cleaning service. We had problems with a tap which was acted upon straight away being replaced with a new one very good maintenance squad.
Quiet area with an incline to the hotel. Easy to get out and about on public transport..
Have re- booked for next year and would recommend anyone to give the hotel a try.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    491
    310
    151
    116
See reviews for
261
655
105
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A little surprised by some of the comments so thought I'd put something in.

We have stayed quite a few times now at Porto Azzurro during the summer and have always had a wonderful time. We use one of the 6 person apartments overlooking their gorgeous pool, with kitchen area, lounge, 2 bathrooms, TV, 2/3 balconies...and it's great! What more could you need? I have not seen the other rooms so cannot comment on them.
The hotel is always clean and tidy and all the staff are extremely helpful, from the receptionists providing bus times and excursion information, to Alexis who will happily sorting out anything required.
The pool area is a great place to relax and a real sun trap, and the bar will sort out anything from drinks to food all day.
The minimart is just that, it lets you grab a few things you might need and is on your doorstep. If you need anything more there are supermarkets in easy reach.
Location wise, you are right on St Pauls bay and you can eat at the hotel which has a good selection or easily walk to the other local bars or restaurants in Xemxija suiting all budgets.
Bugibba is just 5 minutes on the bus providing the attractions of a larger town, or 10 minutes the other way and you're up the hill in Mellieha, which also has some great cafes etc and views for miles. 5 minutes down the other side and you're on one of the best beaches on the island. Or...if you like surfing head west on the bus from the hotel to Tuffieha and there is surf aplenty!
Grab the bus down to Valletta for the day or pop into St Juliens.The ferry to Gozo is also very simple and a great day out. All are in easy reach of the hotel.
I agree this is not a 5 star hotel...but it does not pretend to be. It is a clean, friendly, relaxing place to stay in a great location to enjoy the whole of the islands.
We enjoy it alot and will be back this year.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WindsurfingRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Travelled here in January, and was not disappointed, great value for a week for 4 of us.
Stayed in an apartment with a view over the bay, staff were most friendly and happy to advise.
Hired a car for £17 a day for 3 days and went exploring, including a lovely day in Gozo, amazed how cheap everything was, inc ferry and bus travel where required.
Good breakfast at the hotel (didn't do an evening meal) but enjoyed the bar most nights

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is the cheapest Hotel we have stayed in since Thailand !!
Crazy cheap, It was clean tidy , and i would be stupid to complain, but in reality, there was nothing to moan about anyway, pleasant staff, parking just outside, good restaurant up the road, Perfect

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank levace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed 7nights at porto azzurro 4-11 feb2014 expected faulty towers but was pleasently surprised
we were on half board breakfast was fine but evening meal bit bland.
towels changed every day room very clean (524) overall hotel pretty good value
would stay there again but area to quiet for our liking.

Room Tip: Try to book 524 overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Arrived on New Year’s Eve, a cold and wet night, we got the X1 bus from the Airport and bought a Bus Pass for the week – I think it was 12 Euro.

Upon arrival we were allocated Room 208, a double room. It was right next to the Car Park and overlooked the outdoor Pool. The only good thing about room 208 was that it had a good shower. Bad points were the following: dirty under the bed, the pillows were discoloured, the bath had a brown stain on it, the plant pots had the guests previous cigarette butts in and the toilet flush was faulty and if pressed down too hard would stick down and keep flushing. There was a broken mirror in the bathroom with a nail sticking out. To turn the heater on we had to stand on the bed and hit the switch on/off with a broom left in the bathroom because it was as high as the ceiling, we did ask the Receptionist if there was a remote or a switch we hadn't seen but she said that is the only way to get it working. If you wanted to dry your hair there was no hairdryer in the room and the kitchen area was basically a fridge and a worktop with one hob.

We told Reception we weren't very happy and she told us we could upgrade to a higher standard of Double room for an additional 8 Euros per night. I cannot remember the room number allocated but it was on the third floor I think. Totally different class of room; Modern, clean, comfortable bed, kitchen table and chairs, TV, hairdryer, cannot fault it.

Throughout our stay we didn't have any maid service at all until we asked reception, then we had clean towels and our bin emptied. Our bed wasn't changed.

There was no payphone on site, it was broken. There was a telephone in the room - no information on the charges in the room. There was no information in the rooms at all about the menu, breakfast times, pool times, local things to do, nothing. When I questioned the staff they said just ask them anything you need to know.

The Hotel Restaurant was dated in looks and quite empty, we were going to eat there but then overheard customers complaining about the food so we changed our minds and didn't eat in there. The Bar was OK. The inside swimming pool was small but adequate and the Jacuzzi didn't appear to be working but seemed clean enough. There were a few gym machines but it was all pretty basic. The outdoor pool needed a good clean and tidy-up.

The fire alarm seemed to go off a lot in the mornings and when I asked Reception they said it was probably burnt toast and if it was a real fire it would continuously sound off in the mornings!. The Supermarket was OK, my only criticism is the miserable man working in there who was very rude and unfriendly. The other Staff were OK.

There’s a nice Indian Restaurant 5 minutes walk away, just do a left out of the hotel and walk up and it’s on the other side of the road. The location of the hotel is on the outskirts of St.Pauls really, it is by the water so has nice views and is handy for bus stops.

I can only say what our first room 208 was like, maybe other double rooms are better. Don't expect the Ritz. You do get what you pay for but you don't expect nails sticking out and hitting a heater with a broom to turn it on/off! and there is a level of cleanliness that there should be. Had we have known I am not sure we would have stayed in this hotel. However once we upgraded to another double room it was a lot nicer.

I think with a bit more effort they could do really well.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a basic double room for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was mine and my partners first visit to Malta, so booking the cheap hotel was a bit of a worry, but the Porto Azzuro didn't disappointed. Our initial room was a standard apartment which wasn't acceptable, with its poor cooking facilities AND TWIN BEDS!!! So we straight away upgraded to the superior apartment, which was the best thing we could have done. We had a better view, bigger apartment, better layout, bigger kitchen (with oven), and finally a double bed.

The rooms are clean, apart from the Flies. They are fully equipped for our 11day stay n with everything we needed to cook etc.

We were unable to use the external pool because it wasn't the summer season, but the indoor pool and gym were small but we were able to get some use out of it.

The bar downstairs has excellent service and is extremely well priced, they had every ENGLISH PREMIERE LEAGUE, & CGAMPIONS LEAGUE games playing which was perfect.

Overall the quality of the hotel and service was above and beyond our expectations. And would highly recommend.

****this hotel is perfectly located for a quiet stay in Malta, from the less busy City Centre. The bus stop outside had services all over the Island, literally u can get anywhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors (may require upgrade) has a better view over looking the port, And gets alot of sunshi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr-Ess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing