We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Stay”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long Stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have had holidays in Malta since 2000 and love the Island. I have stayed at the Porto Azzuro on three occasions and find it very satisfactory. The staff are just the friendliest and nothing is too much trouble. The reception staff and customer service and particularly Alexis are just the best. I don't know how they keep their cool when people complain about the silliest things. For instance, two ladies complained that their towels were wet after they had arrived at the hotel and had a shower!!!! The receptionist took them and promised replacements.

I prefer to self cater but there are breakfast and dinner facilities in the winter and I understand that for the rest of the year other facilities are offered.
I recommend a stay here if you want peace and quiet near the sea and with lots of walking very close by.

Room Tip: There are a variety of room to suit all and a very good disabled suite. The Penthouse suite has wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    498
    315
    153
    116
See reviews for
267
663
107
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The actual hotel is reasonably good and most staff were friendly. However,the location of the hotel is not good for those who like to have a choice of bars/restaurants etc very close to them. For that you will need to go into Bugibba which is about 10 minute drive or 40 minute walk away. There were a couple of local places,the Porto del Sol was the best choice by far. My room was cleaned every day and towels replaced daily also. I would go back to the hotel if it was slightly nearer some activity as I found it slightly isolated. Overall,I'd say it was value for money.
One last thing to mention is that you can hear other people in adjoining rooms quite clearly - not good if you retire to bed early (like me!!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nfs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is good for couples or individuals and those who have plans to go out for the day. Buses into other towns do not take long and very cheap! There was a small bar but not much else to do at the hotel. It was cold in Malta so the outdoor pool was closed yet the indoor pool was cold as well as the jacuzzi! The gym could do with some new machines as a few were broken. On a positive note, the reception staff were extremely friendly and very helpful with information! Wifi accessible for cheap price too! The mini mart attached to the hotel has what u need and the rooms have a kitchen which is great!
I booked a treatment with the beautician who made an effort to come in on her day off just for my treatment-she was lovely, made me very welcome, took pride in her work and I was very happy after. I would definitely recommend having a treatment booked with her if you stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyheadcase17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in February as a getaway. The hotel itself has great view from the balcony and sits at the top of a hill. The room was very basic 2 beds, a tv with terrible reception, tea and coffee making facilities (with no tea or coffee) The lift felt like a deathtrap and did not feel safe. The inside pool was nice, however the spa was cold. The outside pool was dirty and unclean. The customer service was undesirable and at times we felt like a burden. Particularly at breakfast where the person serving would move only us around. The food in the hotel was nice and that made the stay more bearable. The hotel was in a state of disrepair and badly needed a facelift and modernisation compared to other hotels on the island.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying at the Porto Azzurro for your stay in Malta and finding the time to write a review regarding your stay.

We do apologies if we did not meet your expectations. Most of the time, we do get very reasonable reviews and we always offer type of rooms according to the price that one books. Meanwhile we started changing curtains in the hotel rooms.

In case that you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on charlot@portoazzurro.com.mt

Sincerely,

Charlot Abela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Travelled on 18th February (honeymoon)asked if could have a double bed,did not happen,,Reception staff very unwelcoming,Room adequate if you could call curtains hanging of windows, and a couple of wire clothes hangers,Bed linen dirty and pillows stained and rock hard,.A kettle and 2 cups,,if you wanted tea or coffee you had to purchase items from shop..Bathroom not much better,a pool of water by toilet and bath,smelled like dirty drains.Had to ask to have room cleaned on saturday,they were most reluctant to do anything,,,Dining Room adequate ,no table linen,just a knife and fork and napkin,,food uneatable,, Expected more,,very dissapointed.

Room Tip: are there any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne ellen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review regarding the stay at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel.

I do apologise if your expectations were not met. It is very unlikely that we get such a comment regarding the reception staff. For future clients, I urge that if clients would like to clarify something and maybe there is something that is not to their expectation for what one has paid, please feel free to come and see me at the Reception.

In case that you wish to provide me with more details, kindly contact me on charlot@portoazzurro.com.mt.

Sincerely,

Charlot Abela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good value winter break our 3rd visit, this time staying for 8 weeks. Jan/Feb.
On arrival we were given a very warm welcome reception ladies Rachel. Hannah and Catherine. On several occasions we made use of the Guest relations officer Alexis Meylaq. On each of these occasions we found her very helpful and friendly.
A great improved refurbishment to The Shop and restaurant thanks go to Bobby and her team who was happy to listen to our suggestions. The Bar had been refurbished to a high standard also well stocked. Spaz and his team of Jordan and Svetlana who worked tirelessly making sure everyone was well looked after and enjoyed their holiday Thank you. Only used the restaurant a couple of times due to being self catering. Food good value and well presented. Maria making sure we were well looked after for the breakfast. I do apologise for the evening waiter forgotten his name but thank you. Complements to the chef who has greatly improved the catering from previous years.
The rooms are a comfortable standard having an excellent cleaning service. We had problems with a tap which was acted upon straight away being replaced with a new one very good maintenance squad.
Quiet area with an incline to the hotel. Easy to get out and about on public transport..
Have re- booked for next year and would recommend anyone to give the hotel a try.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A little surprised by some of the comments so thought I'd put something in.

We have stayed quite a few times now at Porto Azzurro during the summer and have always had a wonderful time. We use one of the 6 person apartments overlooking their gorgeous pool, with kitchen area, lounge, 2 bathrooms, TV, 2/3 balconies...and it's great! What more could you need? I have not seen the other rooms so cannot comment on them.
The hotel is always clean and tidy and all the staff are extremely helpful, from the receptionists providing bus times and excursion information, to Alexis who will happily sorting out anything required.
The pool area is a great place to relax and a real sun trap, and the bar will sort out anything from drinks to food all day.
The minimart is just that, it lets you grab a few things you might need and is on your doorstep. If you need anything more there are supermarkets in easy reach.
Location wise, you are right on St Pauls bay and you can eat at the hotel which has a good selection or easily walk to the other local bars or restaurants in Xemxija suiting all budgets.
Bugibba is just 5 minutes on the bus providing the attractions of a larger town, or 10 minutes the other way and you're up the hill in Mellieha, which also has some great cafes etc and views for miles. 5 minutes down the other side and you're on one of the best beaches on the island. Or...if you like surfing head west on the bus from the hotel to Tuffieha and there is surf aplenty!
Grab the bus down to Valletta for the day or pop into St Juliens.The ferry to Gozo is also very simple and a great day out. All are in easy reach of the hotel.
I agree this is not a 5 star hotel...but it does not pretend to be. It is a clean, friendly, relaxing place to stay in a great location to enjoy the whole of the islands.
We enjoy it alot and will be back this year.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WindsurfingRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,505 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,249 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing