We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$52
Hotels.comUS$52
PricelineUS$52
Trip.comUS$53
eDreamsUS$49
TravelocityUS$52
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,755)
Filter reviews
1,755 results
Traveller rating
373
639
395
188
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
373
639
395
188
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alexis meylaq self catering roman road guest relations manager bus stop reception staff quiet area winter break bus service irish bar cooked breakfast xemxija bay island apartment malta bugibba
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
872 - 877 of 1,755 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Returned this week from a lovely holiday in Malta. Reception staff at Porto Azzurro were fantastic, although the staff serving food and the food itself at breakfast left a lot to be desired. The breakfast was of poor standard overall, not enough choice and slow to be replenished when things rang out. If I was looking for anything more than self catered I would not stay again on this basis. The management should recognise that the breakfast service is letting an otherwise great place down. One morning there were halves of bananas available which were completely black, and the bacon was deep fried! I survived on corn flakes and toast. Simply not good enough.

There is air con and a room fan in the hotel rooms, however the air con doesn't get very cold which could be a problem further into summer. Also, be aware that your ceiling fan may actually be faster on number 1 than 5. The rooms, although very clean and cleaned every day, need a few odd jobs doing to them, such as repainting peeling paint and getting rid of the old washroom floor plugs in the bathroom which had an unpleasant smell.

The hotel is in the perfect location for a quiet holiday that has easy bus or car access to all the other areas of Malta. We each bought a bus ticket to go anywhere in Malta throughout the whole week for 6.50 Euros! We ate most nights at Munchy Monkey at the bottom of the hill and cannot recommend it enough.

One other point was that the pool is NOT a private pool for the hotel. It is used by locals, and one day there was a kids party being held there. This isn't really fair on guests unless it is stated in the hotel description, so either this needs changing or rules about who uses the pool does.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, just choose an apartment and use the supermarkets in Bugibba rather than the mini market.

Room tip: I would go for self catered (so an apartment) next time instead of the hotel rooms
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Me and my brother are just coming to a week's holiday in Malta, staying at the Porto Azzurro where we had stayed previously last year.
We have been staying in a very pleasant 2 bed apartment with en suite facilities in the main bedroom, and a very pleasant view overlooking the bay in Xemxija.
The apartment is clean and of a very good standard, with modern fixtures and fittings. One big plus point is the independent air con in the bedrooms so you can have them as cool as you like.
The hotel facilities are also very good. The pool area is very nice, and the pool bar area has had a facelift since we were last here, and is very plush and comfortable.
We've been eating out while here so haven't tried the restaurant, but the area looks quite nice.
The apartment has been cleaned and fresh towels delivered every day of our stay. The staff have all been friendly and helpful. We had a courtesy phone call from Alexis Meylaq to make sure everything was okay and there were no problems, and I went down to the office to say hello. Alexis was her usual charming and friendly self, with time for you even though there were no problems to deal with.
Overall, a very pleasant stay at the Azzurro once again.

Room tip: The local bus service is very good for getting round the island, with a day ticket only1.5 euros. If you visit Gozo, the local taxis will take you round the island to all the places of interest for 50 euros for up to 4 people. They stay with you for as long as you need, then take you back to the port in time for the ferry back. A great way to see the island.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were at Porto Azzuro for a week's holiday between 17-24 June 2014.

Summary: A solid base camp hotel in the quiet resort area of Xemxija on the North side of St Paul's Bay close to Bugibba and Mellieha. Inexpensive hotel and apartments with nice pool and bar area offering basic inexpensive food and air conditioned accommodation. Bus stop on the corner offering regular transport to whole of Malta.

Good Points: Clean and tidy rooms, regularly attended to by maids. Nice balcony views. Very conveniently located for those wanting a quiet relaxed resort which is on a regular bus route for all Malta's main attractions. There are also a few excellent restaurants within walking distance, including Munchy Monkey which I highly recommend. At the rear of the hotel is a Roman road with Heritage sites - within a 2 minute walk from the hotel grounds. At the front is a beautiful and immediate view of St. Paul's bay. The reception staff all speak English and are incredibly polite and helpful: dealt with a very minor noise complaint efficiently and diligently. Inexpensive hotel that ticks all basic boxes and a few more besides. Would recommend overall.

Bad Points: It seems that the breakfast element of our Bed and Breakfast has been sub-contracted to Eastern Europeans. The breakfast lacked variety, being the same offering every day. The staff in the breakfast hall were incredibly rude, had a poor standard of English and sought to cut costs and corners at any available opportunities. Food warmer presentation dishes were often empty, or else contained over-warmed (burned) food. Deep fried bacon is not really up to British standards; it also frequently ran out and staff would only bring more when asked repeatedly to do so. I understand the temptation on behalf of the Hotel management to sub-contract such services in order to keep overheads low - but in the case of the breakfast contract I would recommend terminating this immediately or else risk a very low return visit rate - particularly from British guests. Part of my reasoning in choosing to visit Malta was the lovely, warm and open Maltese people - and their excellent service. Sub-contracting services to foreign companies who bring in their own staff rather detracts from the Maltese experience. Hotel management: You have been warned.

Conclusion: If you are considering booking here, do so, but be aware of the 'fight' to get good service and food for breakfast. However, the superb reception staff, great location, friendly welcome from the Maltese and British reception staff and the great Pool and local restaurants means that the Porto Azurro is still a great choice for those seeking a relaxing holiday away from the hussle and bustle, but within touching distance of the rest of Malta.

If you can book for less than £350 pp incl. breakfast, flights, taxes and taxies etc then you will find the Porto Azzuro to be a great base camp for your holiday to Malta. Overall, would stay here again, but perhaps self catering in future. Go for it!

Room tip: Ones at the back are in the shade all day but have a view over the pool and a side view of St Paul's bay. Rooms at the front have poorer views but more sun on the balcony.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinHE80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My son (20 months) and I enjoyed our first ‘sun’ holiday together with my Mum and Dad at Porto Azzurro in early June. The facilities were ideal for the type of holiday we wanted – simple, uncomplicated, but welcoming and child-friendly. We’d booked the penthouse for the week, so had just the right amount of space for 3 adults and a baby. Two bathrooms and a massive balcony were luxuries, with the sun rising and setting in just the right places, meaning we had shade and sun at all the right times of day.

The views were spectacular – truly panoramic, taking in the surrounding hills and St Paul’s Bay – so lovely to sit and look out over with a chilled glass of wine! The general repair of the hotel (corridors, lifts, etc) is a little wanting but is far outweighed by the overwhelming helpfulness of all of the staff – any request we had was dealt with speedily and cheerily, with especial thanks once again to Alexis Meylaq. The location of the hotel is delightful – Xjemjia is quiet and pretty with some great restaurants to suit all budgets and styles (we loved eating alfresco at the Moose Restaurant with simple menus that catered for all 4 of us).

By far Joseph’s favourite place though was the pool, with plenty of beds and umbrellas, baby pool and big pool with water features, and we spent most mornings down there playing. We also went to the pool bar most days for a freshly squeezed orange juice, smoothie or caffe latte – all delicious and inexpensive. We had planned to eat there one evening as the ambiance and decor were very inviting, but ran out of time....next visit perhaps. So all in all just the ticket.

Room tip: The penthouse is worth the extra...
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Grim would be an understatement, my room 318 overlooked an internal courtyard with minimal day light, it was so dark you really could not tell what time of day or night it was, all drains from the toilets, sinks, showers etc ran down this courtyard so you heard everything the guests were doing in their rooms. Bedding was clean, although one of my pillows didnt smell too good, they were also hard lumpy foam type. Cleaner only serviced room once in my 7 night stay, although I got friendly with another guest who had daily cleaning service. I was half board but the food was so grim we ate out on 3 occasions, breakfast was in a dark basement room, deep fried bacon and sausages, scrambled egg, tomatoes and metalic tasting baked beans, toast, 1 cereal, yogurt, half a banana, sliced apple, orange quarter, usual ham, cheese and salad, tea/coffee from chipped or cracked mugs, plates and bowls always running out, all cooked food luke warm. Dinner was at the pool bar across the road, food slightly better but menu repeated every couple of days, 2 choices of starter, main and sweet, soup/salad, pasta/chicken frozen veg, melon/ice cream, boring. If you are thinking of the self catering option, hotel shop is sparce to say the least and there is only one highly priced shop down the road, supermarkets are few and far between. Pool area could be nice but most loungers are ripped and some tiles off in the pool, steps into the pool weren't easily visible and I think these could be a danger to people jumping in, no lifeguard and nobody keeping sn eye on the pool, a group of local children had a pool birthday party and basically ran riot, climbing on the waterfalls and fences but nobody said a word. Reception area is grubby, lots of cobwebs but on a plus side Rachael and Joanne were lovely. The hill down to the main road isnt as bad as I thought it would be, local buses are amazing €1.50 all day, dont book expensive day trips, everything is easy and cheaper on local buses. The Star of India over the main road is fantastic as is the Chinese restaurant

Room tip: Overlooking the pool, or floors 5 and 6 if on the back of the hotel, 218,318, should only be sold at vast reduced price
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliegoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews