We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another enjoyable holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at Porto Azzurro for a week at end of May / beginning of June. I was very impressed with the Pool bar which is newly refurbished and where you can enjoy good food at reasonable prices in very pleasant surroundings, served by friendly efficient staff.. Also pleased to see that the pool toilets have been renovated since my last visit. Just need to replace the rather shabby and worn sunbeds now and the pool area will be even more of an attraction.

I was disappointed with the maid service this year - up until now the standard of room cleaning has been very high. As usual, the towels were changed daily, and the bed linen was changed mid week but the washbasins/ showers/ bath and floors were not cleaned to an acceptable standard.

We had a few days of bad weather but the excellent location of the hotel with bus stops just down the hill meant that we were able to get out and about to many areas of the island.

We transferred to Porto Azzurro from another hotel for the second week of our stay in Malta and I am very grateful to Alexis for arranging a very early check in time . I would also like to thank her for ensuring we could stay in our favourite apartment on the 4th floor, and also for making time to give us a guided tour of the Penthouse - very impressive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goddardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    466
    299
    144
    111
See reviews for
251
618
97
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Returned this week from a lovely holiday in Malta. Reception staff at Porto Azzurro were fantastic, although the staff serving food and the food itself at breakfast left a lot to be desired. The breakfast was of poor standard overall, not enough choice and slow to be replenished when things rang out. If I was looking for anything more than self catered I would not stay again on this basis. The management should recognise that the breakfast service is letting an otherwise great place down. One morning there were halves of bananas available which were completely black, and the bacon was deep fried! I survived on corn flakes and toast. Simply not good enough.

There is air con and a room fan in the hotel rooms, however the air con doesn't get very cold which could be a problem further into summer. Also, be aware that your ceiling fan may actually be faster on number 1 than 5. The rooms, although very clean and cleaned every day, need a few odd jobs doing to them, such as repainting peeling paint and getting rid of the old washroom floor plugs in the bathroom which had an unpleasant smell.

The hotel is in the perfect location for a quiet holiday that has easy bus or car access to all the other areas of Malta. We each bought a bus ticket to go anywhere in Malta throughout the whole week for 6.50 Euros! We ate most nights at Munchy Monkey at the bottom of the hill and cannot recommend it enough.

One other point was that the pool is NOT a private pool for the hotel. It is used by locals, and one day there was a kids party being held there. This isn't really fair on guests unless it is stated in the hotel description, so either this needs changing or rules about who uses the pool does.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, just choose an apartment and use the supermarkets in Bugibba rather than the mini market.

Room Tip: I would go for self catered (so an apartment) next time instead of the hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justausername24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Me and my brother are just coming to a week's holiday in Malta, staying at the Porto Azzurro where we had stayed previously last year.
We have been staying in a very pleasant 2 bed apartment with en suite facilities in the main bedroom, and a very pleasant view overlooking the bay in Xemxija.
The apartment is clean and of a very good standard, with modern fixtures and fittings. One big plus point is the independent air con in the bedrooms so you can have them as cool as you like.
The hotel facilities are also very good. The pool area is very nice, and the pool bar area has had a facelift since we were last here, and is very plush and comfortable.
We've been eating out while here so haven't tried the restaurant, but the area looks quite nice.
The apartment has been cleaned and fresh towels delivered every day of our stay. The staff have all been friendly and helpful. We had a courtesy phone call from Alexis Meylaq to make sure everything was okay and there were no problems, and I went down to the office to say hello. Alexis was her usual charming and friendly self, with time for you even though there were no problems to deal with.
Overall, a very pleasant stay at the Azzurro once again.

Room Tip: The local bus service is very good for getting round the island, with a day ticket only1.5 euros. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were at Porto Azzuro for a week's holiday between 17-24 June 2014.

Summary: A solid base camp hotel in the quiet resort area of Xemxija on the North side of St Paul's Bay close to Bugibba and Mellieha. Inexpensive hotel and apartments with nice pool and bar area offering basic inexpensive food and air conditioned accommodation. Bus stop on the corner offering regular transport to whole of Malta.

Good Points: Clean and tidy rooms, regularly attended to by maids. Nice balcony views. Very conveniently located for those wanting a quiet relaxed resort which is on a regular bus route for all Malta's main attractions. There are also a few excellent restaurants within walking distance, including Munchy Monkey which I highly recommend. At the rear of the hotel is a Roman road with Heritage sites - within a 2 minute walk from the hotel grounds. At the front is a beautiful and immediate view of St. Paul's bay. The reception staff all speak English and are incredibly polite and helpful: dealt with a very minor noise complaint efficiently and diligently. Inexpensive hotel that ticks all basic boxes and a few more besides. Would recommend overall.

Bad Points: It seems that the breakfast element of our Bed and Breakfast has been sub-contracted to Eastern Europeans. The breakfast lacked variety, being the same offering every day. The staff in the breakfast hall were incredibly rude, had a poor standard of English and sought to cut costs and corners at any available opportunities. Food warmer presentation dishes were often empty, or else contained over-warmed (burned) food. Deep fried bacon is not really up to British standards; it also frequently ran out and staff would only bring more when asked repeatedly to do so. I understand the temptation on behalf of the Hotel management to sub-contract such services in order to keep overheads low - but in the case of the breakfast contract I would recommend terminating this immediately or else risk a very low return visit rate - particularly from British guests. Part of my reasoning in choosing to visit Malta was the lovely, warm and open Maltese people - and their excellent service. Sub-contracting services to foreign companies who bring in their own staff rather detracts from the Maltese experience. Hotel management: You have been warned.

Conclusion: If you are considering booking here, do so, but be aware of the 'fight' to get good service and food for breakfast. However, the superb reception staff, great location, friendly welcome from the Maltese and British reception staff and the great Pool and local restaurants means that the Porto Azurro is still a great choice for those seeking a relaxing holiday away from the hussle and bustle, but within touching distance of the rest of Malta.

If you can book for less than £350 pp incl. breakfast, flights, taxes and taxies etc then you will find the Porto Azzuro to be a great base camp for your holiday to Malta. Overall, would stay here again, but perhaps self catering in future. Go for it!

Room Tip: Ones at the back are in the shade all day but have a view over the pool and a side view of St Paul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinHE80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My son (20 months) and I enjoyed our first ‘sun’ holiday together with my Mum and Dad at Porto Azzurro in early June. The facilities were ideal for the type of holiday we wanted – simple, uncomplicated, but welcoming and child-friendly. We’d booked the penthouse for the week, so had just the right amount of space for 3 adults and a baby. Two bathrooms and a massive balcony were luxuries, with the sun rising and setting in just the right places, meaning we had shade and sun at all the right times of day.

The views were spectacular – truly panoramic, taking in the surrounding hills and St Paul’s Bay – so lovely to sit and look out over with a chilled glass of wine! The general repair of the hotel (corridors, lifts, etc) is a little wanting but is far outweighed by the overwhelming helpfulness of all of the staff – any request we had was dealt with speedily and cheerily, with especial thanks once again to Alexis Meylaq. The location of the hotel is delightful – Xjemjia is quiet and pretty with some great restaurants to suit all budgets and styles (we loved eating alfresco at the Moose Restaurant with simple menus that catered for all 4 of us).

By far Joseph’s favourite place though was the pool, with plenty of beds and umbrellas, baby pool and big pool with water features, and we spent most mornings down there playing. We also went to the pool bar most days for a freshly squeezed orange juice, smoothie or caffe latte – all delicious and inexpensive. We had planned to eat there one evening as the ambiance and decor were very inviting, but ran out of time....next visit perhaps. So all in all just the ticket.

Room Tip: The penthouse is worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Grim would be an understatement, my room 318 overlooked an internal courtyard with minimal day light, it was so dark you really could not tell what time of day or night it was, all drains from the toilets, sinks, showers etc ran down this courtyard so you heard everything the guests were doing in their rooms. Bedding was clean, although one of my pillows didnt smell too good, they were also hard lumpy foam type. Cleaner only serviced room once in my 7 night stay, although I got friendly with another guest who had daily cleaning service. I was half board but the food was so grim we ate out on 3 occasions, breakfast was in a dark basement room, deep fried bacon and sausages, scrambled egg, tomatoes and metalic tasting baked beans, toast, 1 cereal, yogurt, half a banana, sliced apple, orange quarter, usual ham, cheese and salad, tea/coffee from chipped or cracked mugs, plates and bowls always running out, all cooked food luke warm. Dinner was at the pool bar across the road, food slightly better but menu repeated every couple of days, 2 choices of starter, main and sweet, soup/salad, pasta/chicken frozen veg, melon/ice cream, boring. If you are thinking of the self catering option, hotel shop is sparce to say the least and there is only one highly priced shop down the road, supermarkets are few and far between. Pool area could be nice but most loungers are ripped and some tiles off in the pool, steps into the pool weren't easily visible and I think these could be a danger to people jumping in, no lifeguard and nobody keeping sn eye on the pool, a group of local children had a pool birthday party and basically ran riot, climbing on the waterfalls and fences but nobody said a word. Reception area is grubby, lots of cobwebs but on a plus side Rachael and Joanne were lovely. The hill down to the main road isnt as bad as I thought it would be, local buses are amazing €1.50 all day, dont book expensive day trips, everything is easy and cheaper on local buses. The Star of India over the main road is fantastic as is the Chinese restaurant

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool, or floors 5 and 6 if on the back of the hotel, 218,318, should only be sold at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliegoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Have just come back from our holiday in Malta. June 2013, stayed at this hotel and had a fantastic holiday. Booked same hotel, for the same week June 2104 and had another fantastic holiday.

Hotel is brilliant! Clean, tidy with friendly staff who are always happy to help. It also has a little shop in the lobby. Alexis Meylaq is such a star!! Extremly friendly and happy to help with anything.

The pool is wonderful and pool bar served throughout the day and night.

We will be booking soon for our holiday June 2015 (we find the weather at this time best for us. Not too excessively hot, although still high 20's, and not too low)

Room Tip: The only issues we had was with the pillows, but that's just down to personal preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays and Onthebeach so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing