We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Porto Azzurro”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Porto Azzurro”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Recently spent 2 weeks in Porto Azzurro, found all staff to be very friendly and helpful, Joanna on reception is a star as is Simon. Alexis, Guest Relations, is extremely helpful, lots of knowledge and nothing is too much trouble for her, a gem. Our apartment was spacious, facilities excellent, cleaned regularly, towel and linen changes etc. The pool area was lovely and good food served at pool bar which was not at all expensive, Trevor the barman was great also. Xemxija is a quiter location, there are some nice restaurants overlooking the harbour, a particular favourite of ours was Beach Haven, up the hill a bit, quite a few steps down but setting fabulous and food great, Munchy Monkey and the second chinese up the road were good too. Bus service excellent, 6.50 for weekly ticket, great way to see the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Porto Azzuro and will definately return. Thanks to all for making our holiday so enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaitrionaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    502
    315
    153
    116
See reviews for
268
666
108
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed in the Porto Azzurro from 12th February to 7th May and I couldn't have enjoyed it more. My room was excellent with self catering facilities. The view was good - over the bay and the countryside taking in the Is Simar nature reserve.The buses were cheap and convenient and took me wherever I wanted to go. Best of all though the lovely staff from the ladies who cleaned my room and the maintenance men to the receptionists, and even Charlot the manager.Nothing was too much trouble. They are all the best! I have to give a special mention to the lovely Alexis. She helped me in lots of ways but because of her I have bought a timeshare taster and I can't wait to go back next year and no doubt for many years to come - there is lots to do in Malta for people of all ages and I don't think I'll ever manage to do all I want to do but I'll certainly try with the help of people like Alexis, Rachel Lucille and all the other lovely people. Thankyou so much

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the top floor. The Penthouse would be an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have visited this apartment complex many times; it suits us very well - quiet and relaxing. Nice pool area, newly refurbed poolside café/bar. number of nice restaurants within short walking distance. In-house restaurant was not tested, so not part of this review. Guest Relations Manager Alexis Meylaq was again attentive and friendly, extending a warm personal welcome.

Room Tip: Request an apartment on 4th floor or higher. I you want sun in morning, request one facing the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Ideal for us and visited many times. As always thanks to Alexis for the hard work that she does. Amazing poolside bar which has been totally renovated Love Malta - Love Porto Azzuro. You have to visit Gozo, Comino and the Blue Lagoon. Try evening swimming from a Turkish Gulet off St Paul's Island!!! Wonderful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

just spent 1 week at this hotel with my husband has its ups and downs. The room we stayed in had no balcony or terrace just a brick wall facing us as you opened the curtains was very dissapointed, the room was very dark had to keep lights on most of the time we was in the room,.We had been in the room for 4 days before any maids went in and cleaned. but the room overall was clean when we arrived . The pool area was ok but the pool water was very dirty did not see anybody cleaning the pool water at anytime there was other people saying it did not look clean so was very worried about swimming in there. The bar area was very nice to relax at night and drink prices were ok.The hotel does advertise bbq night in the brouchure and online but no bbq night when we was there and we stayed for one week.The indoor pool was good cleaner than the outdoor pool and the gym was very good to.Avoid the shop very expensive and did not sell much. If booking this hotel and wanted a quiet week would advise you to ring hotel as lots of students arrived in groups and was very noisy round the pool area and in the rooms. The receptionist joanne was very helpfull and very nice but we found some off the other staff on reception not very polite.

Room Tip: we asked for a room with balcony or terrace but did not get one so maybe phone hotel and ask to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahc3077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I bought a deal online for me and my mum to spend a lovely day by the pool at this place and unfortunately it turned out to be a nasty idea. First of all I don't advise nobody to go there because service is horrible and receptionist is one hell of a nightmare. The moment I've tried to book for this day, nobody answererd my call and when they did, I was told to phone again because the person incharge wasn't there.In all I phoned all week and this should gave me a sign that the place I was going to was a disaster.

When we arrived, (Friday 11th July) the lady at the reception area was babling words and she wasn't helpful at all. When I politely asked here at what time lunch was being served, she pointed out arrogantly enough that it was during 12pm, as if I live there and know every inch of this place. To sum up, pool outside was way too too small and dirty with loads of floating items. We didn't swim and when we used the toilets, they were filthy too and loads of cobwebs and insects dangling through the wall.

However, I must say that when we took our lunch (which was included in the voucher), we were glad at least that the food was very good. Just to point things out, if you eat at the pool are items are really pricey e.g classic burger with fries is €9!! But it was good at least..

This is the first and surely the last time that I am visiting this place. Don't bother to go there!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inlovewithfood o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Langham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been visiting Porto Azzurro now for several years and go twice a year June and October
It is situated in the North of the Island overlooking St Pauls Bay. It is a friendly Hotel the staff have been working there fipr several years and nothing is too much trouble Any questions or requirements then Alexis Mellaq never fails to come up with the answers

Room Tip: Overlooking swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,297 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,756 reviews
1.3 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Property: Porto Azzurro
Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing