We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stays for a week in july, in a quiet location and on a steep hill! Rooms clean but only cleaned and fresh towels once in the week. Stayed on grounded floor which balcony was large but had water pouring onto it from floors above, very slippy . No entertainment which was advertised! Poolside bar and pool area good. Munchy monkeys down the road had good food and inexpensive. Good base camp if u want to explore the island, local buses cheap and regular but very busy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roymackie19965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yet again we had a great time in Malta. For the past 4 years we stayed in an apartment. This year we stayed for 2 weeks. The apartment was very clean, maid service was very good. The staff at reception were very helpful. Alexis The Guest Relations was very accommodating when we asked to move to our usual apartment for the second week. She was at he reception every morning with a very pleasant smile and a cheery Hello. We would highly recommend the Hotel. Great pool. Although there are a few restaurants and bars near by, we always ended up at the pool bar for a night cap. Did not need to hire a car as there is a Bus stop down the road. for 1 euro 50 cents, we could hop on and off every where we chose to go for the day Looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside. Although the see view is good it is a little restricted, depending on which level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in July on a B&B basis, staying in a 1 bed apartment. Apartment was fine, spacious and clean. Breakfast was extremely poor and would have to be the worst breakfast ever ! Staff were lovely and helpful especially Joanna and Anna on reception. The pool area was nice however please be aware there seems to be a wasp problem, there is also to many broken sunbeds, with most of them being very old & tatty. The pool bar was lovely, however it was extremely over priced with limited beers available. Please note as they pour mixers e.g coke, fanta from 1.5 litre bottles the drinks are usually flat!

It should be noted this hotel is on a steep hill and if you have mobility issues or pushing a pram this wouldn't be for you.

There is nothing whatsoever to do in this area. Quite literally nothing! There is a couple of restaurants and 1 small mini market. Munchy monkey restaurant is lovely and inexpensive. Fortress is awful, food terrible and staff rude. Chinese isn't great either. Greek restaurant was good.

There is a bus stop at bottom of hill from hotel. Good value €6.50 for the week. The buses come every half an hour however they are usually always packed so expect to be standing around a little longer than anticipated or to be standing on an overcrowded bus.

The girl Luana who works for sightseeing malta in the hotel is very rude and unhelpful, she should be sent on a customer service course. Don't be fooled in to booking excursions with her, malta is an easy island to travel around and you can do any of these excursions at less than half the price if you just go and do it yourself.

Overall Malta is a lovely island, however this area is a very poor location with quite literally nothing to do!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMCscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had 7 nights in an apartment overlooking the pool. Apartment very clean and towels changed every day. Used it as a base and occasionally sat around the pool . A bar food was good for lunch. Guest Relations ManagerAlexiswas a gem and gave very useful information - down at reception every morning. Would highly recommend it and would stay again.

JR from Brighton

Room Tip: Poolside quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just a few words to say that I enjoyed some very valuable 'down time' at Porto Azzurro back in February (2014). I have stayed at the resort on previous occassions and return each time. The staff are always friendly and helpful and I feel that I am not just among friends, but with 'family' as well. I had a very difficult time in early December with a bereavement. In February, I decided to return to Malta to try 'escaping' and start a recovery. The staff were very understanding. I had no complaints really about my apartment. Any issue I had with using the new digital TV was quickly resolved. The hotel was quiet and I got the solace I required for that week away. I don't use the restaurant as I do my own catering. The hotel itself is clean and my apartment was attended to regularly. I look forward to using the swimming pool on another occasion and I understand that the Hotel is investing in new facilities. If you want a pleasant and friendly place to stay while in the St Paul's Bay area where you can switch off and enjoy peace and quite, enjoy beautiful views over the bay which lift the heart and which provide comfort, then Porto Azzurro is ideal. I look forward to a retun visit in November this year and I shall draw comfort from my stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the swimming pool. It's alway a pleasure to look out from the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Porto Azzuro in Xemxija Bay (NOT St. Paul's Bay!). Accommodation was adequate as a base, nothing to do in the area, we found only 3 restaurants with outside seating within walking distance, Beachhaven - pretty good unless they're having a function in which case too busy, this happened 3 times during our trip, The Fortress (more of a wine bar), closed Monday and Tuesday, good food (although limited menu) and nice location and the Porto del Sol, very good although more pricey. Sammy's looked nice although limited outside seating on the pavement by a busy road so we didn't try it. We were self-catering and didn't try the hotel restaurant, given other reviews we have read this was probably wise! Other places mostly seemed to be closed. Nice pool although far too busy given the large groups of students staying at the hotel. One group we counted over 40 and at least 2 other groups same sort of numbers. Typical teenagers, totally oblivious to the presence of others - and their guardians weren't much better! Some sympathy given the location, nowhere else to go within walking distance. Sunbeds need an overhaul, too many broken ones cluttering the place up, especially the sunbathing area to the left of the pool, which seemed to be a bit of a dumping ground. Serious wasp problem that needs to be addressed (wasp traps?). Pool bar nice (apart from the flies) and staff there very friendly. No beer on draft. €3 for a can poured into a glass when you can buy for less than half in the only shop a few minutes walk away,

Haven't mentioned the building works on the adjoining appartments which did start at 7am some days nor the constant barking of dogs awaiting the return of their owner(s) late afternoon/ early evening. Don't query this with reception though - they know or hear nothing!

Please visit and make up your own minds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just come back from 10 nights stay at the Porto azzuro - Malta is lovely but would not stay at this 'hotel' again. If you just want to use the accommodation as a base to visit Malta it is fine but if you are looking for more than a place to lay your head it is not for you. The staff are not helpful and one in particular - Rachel is very rude and does not want to help. The food is appalling, we went half board but could only eat one meal at the hotel and had to eat out every night. Breakfast is passable but the same every day - scrambled egg deep fried sausage and bacon and salad. You have to get there before 8.30 or there is nothing left - they regularly ran out of cutlery plates and glasses. The only redeeming feature of this hotel is the pool and outside bar area - however food and drinks cost way more than you pay outside. Beds and towels only changed every 4 days and room not cleaned. We did have a lovely holiday but that was not in any way down to this hotel. Happy to answer any questions if you are thinking of booking. One last thing you have to pay for wi if but it doesn't work in the rooms

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Porto Azzurro.

I do apologise if we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been all listed and I will assure you that all comments will be taken into account. Please note that the apartments are prepared and cleaned as you said. All our operators are informed.

In case that you wish to clarify something, kindly do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Charlot Abela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,639 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £17 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing