We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First stay at Club Selina Wharf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First stay at Club Selina Wharf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed for 4 weeks. The Club site is being given a face lift which resulted in half of the complex being closed. The outdoor paths are being renewed and are level and attractive. The first apartment we were put in was below the standard we expected and when Linda, who was looking after us, was informed she went out of her way to ensure that we were put in an apartment we were happy with. It was spacious,clean and warm and had all the facilities we needed for our stay. The equipment was of a high standard. There were plenty of utensils, crockery, pots and pans. All the staff were friendly and helpful and there was daily cleaning and fresh towels.
In the complex, the outdoor swimming pool was being re-lined but the inside pool was clean and warm and open for 10 hours a day. The onsite pub was not open every evening but there was a reasonably priced Fish and Chip night on Fridays which proved very popular with the guests. There was entertainment a couple of evenings a week but we found that there was plenty of entertainment in local bars - especially The Tourist Bar and Simon's Bar. The bus station is only five minutes walk away which gives access to the whole island. During our stay a new cafe bar opened up just off reception and it was a huge improvement - light, airy and overlooking the pool area. Breakfasts would be available there too. Although there was no WiFi (as promised by the sales team last year) this visit, we were assured by the new manager, Elaine, that it was a priority and would be installed in the very near future.
To sum up I would say that Club Saina Wharf is improving its facilities but the work being done did not distract from our holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors are a better standard and have more chance of a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MartClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Guest Relations Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for travelling to Malta and considered the Club Salina Wharf for your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that Linda exceeding your expectation and assisted you throughout to change your apartment which was to your satisfaction. It is our pleasure to receive your comments that our staff from different departments all provided you with great service and that you enjoyed our leisure and bar facilities.

I am glad that you had a lovely vacation and sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    130
    102
    74
    56
See reviews for
155
182
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We went out of season so the hotel was pretty quiet. However, the apartment was large, clean and had everything we needed. They hadn't got our request for a twin apartment right so our beds were made up as a double the first night. They quickly rectified this though. The only problemt we had all week was the hob which smoked when we used it! Despite reporting this to reception it still didn't work the rest of the week (not great for a self-catering apartment). Other than that I think it will be a nice hotel in the busy season.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Guest Relations Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you for making the time and sharing this review followong your stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your accommodation apartment and will certainly share your positive feedback to our Housekeeping department.

I also appreciate your notification regarding the hob equipment and trust that it is dealt with by our Maintenance Manager and his team.

Whilst thank you for sharing this experience, I look forward to welcome you back yo our resort.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We returned from a month holiday at the above resort today 5th Feb, found staff helpful except the time share representatives who feel they run the resort and will only speak to you if they can drive another deal out of you. A big shock on arrival was to find that Bar on site was closed every evening Sun, Mon ,Tues, and Wednesday every week for the 4 weeks we were there, There was only entertainment two nights of the week on Thursday and Saturday ( same artist ) except the last week when a replacement came for one night, and there was no entertainment on Friday. The restauarant was also limited to opening times when the bar was open and i witnessed some customers wishing for meals shown the exit door, Residents had to fend for themselves during this closure for their meals and entertainment which was still in force when we left. Management claim that they cant afford to provide entertainment for a few people. This is a time share resort with 1.000s of memebrs who pay maintenance fees. !! I have not written a bad report on this resort but felt that others need to know that at a drop of a hat facilities which are advertised are in this case not available to owners or hotel guests. The resort is currently having some improvements carried out which are long overdue . I am returning in May and hope to see a vast improvement but due to the above facts this was the worse holiday experience i have had at this resort and couldnt wait to get back home. This was sold to us as a unique club however is being turned into a hotel , we sampled a night with hotel guests in the room below us and at 0230hrs had to bang on the floor to shut them up as they continued to bang furniture around the floors .My letter of complaint far exceeded what i have written in this entry. Be warned !

Room Tip: Get confirmation about your bookings, do not accept a room if it below standard , rooms overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Guest Relations Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf. I am also very happy that our team members provided you with helpful service.

I apologise that you were not satisfied with the pub opening times during your stay and am very sorry to hear that the projects of doing the outdoor common areas paving and the outdoor pool are late on schedule. We have no control over the weather conditions.

It is the managements intension to offer quality service standards and a comfortable atmosphere in the resort. I have also discussed the works schedule with the Projects Manager to take necessary action so as to execute our works on time.

The work on the new Lobby Cafe is now completed. The Lobby Bar is open daily from 08:30 hours to 23:00 hours.

I would also like to thank you for the gift presented to our guest services team after making sure that the apartment offered was to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to the our Club in the near future.

Thank you

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Malta 8/11/2012 - 23/11/2012: Salina Wharf, Salina Bay

We arrived at about 12:00 - a bit before the time that the apartment was due to be ready. The reception was spacious bright and smart. We checked in and were told that the apartment would be ready in an hour. We were told welcome to sit in reception or by the pool. This we did and relaxed by the pool and got a coffee from the bar. The coffee was good but only luke warm.

After the hour had expired we went back to reception and received the keys to the apartment and told that the apartment was ready and lacked a television but that would be provided later.

We arrived at the apartment to find that it had a horrible dank fusty smell. We opened window and doors but quickly realise that the dingy look of the place was unacceptable. I went straight to reception. I had to speak to a different receptionist who apologised and said to go back to the apartment and someone from house-keeping team would attend to the problem.
A man with a spray gun soon arrived and began spraying in the bathroom and then the rest of the apartment. This clearly was not going to clear the smell or the dampness. In fact the man agreed with us that this would not work. However by this time we discovered that the bathroom door would not lock, there was black mould on the bathroom ceiling, the shower had no screen, the sofa-bed was dirty and the bedroom bed covers were in need of replacement.
So it was back to reception with my wife. The original receptionist was back at the desk. We explained the situation to asked for a different apartment. The man apologised and asked us to wait while he looked for an available apartments. After a short wait we were offered a alternative apartment, We looked at it. It was larger then the original. It was bright, probably recently decorated and had none of the faults of the first.

We accepted the new accommodation and appreciated that the staff acted quickly but are amazed that housekeeping made such an obvious mistake. It marred that beginning of the holiday and made us quite critical of the place.

With only one exception the staff were friendly and helpful.

The pool area was bright and pleasant and a part from some freshly grown weeds in the boarders well cared for. The pool itself had some paint peeling from the bottom but this could be end of season wear. The indoor pool was very cold as the heating had not been switched on. The outdoor poor was slightly less cold but the sea was very warn.

We had not visited Malta before and would have appreciated a welcome meeting. But this did not appear to be part of the resorts services. There was very little tourist info about although the desk staff were helpful.

The television service was poor: basically just news channels. We didn’t watch it much so did not complain although we should have done so. The Laundry was out of action and neither the Jacuzzi or the sauna were working.

We did not use the on site restaurant until our second week. We were not welcomed. We were asked if we had booked. We had not although there were no instructions to do so. We rather felt that we were a incontinences as there were several other parties in that night . First we were asked to wait in the bar for 20 minutes and then had a very long wait for out meal: getting on for an hour before the starter arrived We had the set meal although one of us did not eat anything that was on the starter menu. It would have been good if she had been offered a fruit juice as an alternative. The other 3 of us had a Greek salad. It was the only thing that was good. The main course was very poor with very soggy vegetables.

The person in charge of the restaurant was certainly not people friendly (although the assistant server was lovely and embarrassed by the others behaviour.) The kitchen appeared to be under staffed which was probably the reason for the long wait.. It was the worst meal of the holiday: in fact probably the worse meal in my memory!

We had a very good holiday. We were able to do several organised trips and the resort is close to beaches with very clear water and good conditions for snorkelling. There are a lot of good restaurants and cafes in easy walking distance. The maximum daily Temperature was 24C during the first week and 21C in the second.

We will go back to Malta but we would think twice about of going back to Salina Wharf in spite of the helpfulness of the staff.

We regret writing a poor report, especially as the staff were so friendly and helpful. However we believe that we have given an honest account.

Terry Watson 28th November 2012

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Silverbonsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoCalleja, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
I thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

I am really proud to hear that our reception team provided you with quality service and that our employees were friendly and honest

I am also very happy to read that you enjoyed our pool facilities.

Certainly guest response is an excellent tool to learn about and make changes where needed.

I have also discussed the issues with the Managers concerned to take the necessary corrective action so as to avoid such incidents in the future. I am also very sorry for the way your comments were handled as the team aims towards to a customer satisfaction experience.

I thank you for your comments.

Best regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Spent 1 week here in September 2012. We knew it was timeshare and that we would have to attend a sales meeting. OK, when we both signed in we were told we were being allocated a 6 person flat. Flat was excellent, 2 double bedrooms, 1 with ensuite, separate bathroom, large living room/kitchen, extra large balcony with sun most of day. All in, room 1st class. Although we never dined in the hotel, other guests say meals are good. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Pool area and pool were good. Anyone thinking of going on one of these viewing holidays, but unsure, should not be worried. Once you have attended the sales meeting, about 2 hours, you are not bothered any more and all other time is your own. Considering this type of holiday is usually dirt cheap, we paid £57 for the two of us for the week, it’s worth a try. I think you can book direct with the hotel but don’t know prices. The hotel itself is in a back street, just off the beach. I would say we were not too happy with the location but bars , shops buses etc. were close by. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you go on one of these viwing trips, you are allocated a room on arrival. They will not put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saltcoatsbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have just read the reviews of other people who have been to Club Salina Wharf, and decided to write my version as theirs are a bit outdated.
My wife and I have just returned after a fortnight of complete relaxation as my wife put her back out on our first day and found it difficult to walk, so we spent most of the time sitting by the pool.
When we arrived we were put into room 203 and as the reviewer says the view was a bit dreadful,
The bins are still there but now covered in and I must admit you should not have to pass bins to get to your apartment, The whole of the ground floor was the service area with the laundry and housekeeping and I assume staff accomodation, but most suprising was the delux suits 101 and 102 which had been refurbished,
We had had a electric storm in the night and I must admit the following morning there was a nasty smell of rotten cabbages, We reported it to reception, and they came and opened a window in the bathroom.
The pool was looking lovely with new loungers and umbrellas the restaurant was not bad and had a good menu but the bar staff were also the waiters as it was the end of season,
The Island sightseeing tours were excellent with a free trip around the grand harbour of Valletta and if you keep your tickets you get 10% of a tour in other countries.All for 15 Euros p/p.
If you have never been to Malta you can buy a roving ticket on Arriva buses so you can hop on and off at will.as there is so much beauty to see.
We were happy and relaxed at the complex and will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I've just returned from a week stay at the Club Salina Wharf hotel on an exchange break, what a let down that place is, very disappointing.

I was shocked and disappointed at the standard of the resort, which is allegedly a 4 star resort, more like a 2 star if that. I had to request to change rooms, my first was tiny for 4 people, very damp, smelly and tired worn out looking furniture. The second room was not much better, again it was damp, smelly and dirty there was mildew on the ceiling and in some pictures hanging on the wall. We did not have hot water all week even though we complained, there was a leaking pipe behind the fridge which maintenance looked at but never repaired and there was still no hot water.

The indoor pool was freezing,there was no jacuzzi or sauna the outdoor pool was a very sorry and shabby state, reception was not very helpful they were not very uninterested, I only wish I had read all of the reviews before I booked it, but I did not see them. I will certainly not be going there again and I would not recommend the resort to anyone else, the 70 euro service charge I have still to find out what it was for as the maintenance service was virtually non-existent.

Apparently the Club Salina Wharf is being upgraded to a 5 star, I would love to see this miracle, and it would need knocking down and entirely rebuilding to come close to that. I was not at all happy with my holiday. It was in fact a holiday from hell! It was certainly not worth the money I paid, or the exchange that I made. I checked the prices of a few more hotels in Qawra, because I wanted out of there, but I could not afford it so I had to stay.
There is certainly nothing there for children.

There was no free Wi Fi at Club Salina, however any other place I went to, a small cafe on the Beach, bars and restaurants around the island or the boat tour around the Grand harbour of Valletta, (certainly a lovely city) had free Wi Fi. So a lot needs to be done at this resort to avoid further disappointment.

Be warned don't take the photos of this place on face value, it looks good until you get there, I made a costly mistake, don't you do the same.

Room Tip: Don't go there, there are far better hotels in and around Qawra, and Buggiba
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Property: Club Salina Wharf
Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing