We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing and Pleasant Holiday.”
Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived just late Saurday night/Sunday morning and were greeted with a smile by the friendly receptionist, who booked us in quickly and explained with the aid of a map how to get to our gold standard apartment.
The appartment was spacious well maintained and clean in readiness for our arrival, including the food pack in the fridge which we ordered so we could make a drink when we arrive.
Salina Wharf is located on a back street just behind the main road which meant it was in a quite location, making it easy to relax in. Only ten minutes walk away is the bus station with regular buses to different places. For only 12 euros you can get a weekly bus ticket to explore this historical island.
The pool and outside areas of the resort had recently been upgraded and were very pleasant for sunbathing ,swimming or just having a drink under the trees.
The apartment was serviced five days out of the seven we were there and it was always kept clean and tidy.
We enjoyed our stay at Salina Wharf and will be returning next year to explore more of Malta.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your complimentary comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

It is indeed pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who have experienced our hotel and we are glad to note that the hotel’s location, the apartment and leisure facilities were to your satisfaction.

I am also very happy to read the welcome experience received by our receptionist during the night and cleaning helped to a good start and enjoyable holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and do send me an email on aldo@clubsalina.com should you require any assistance.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Club Salina Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at Salina Wharf Cub 24-31 Oct 13. Arrived with friend and given damp room. Asked for a change and given a very small apt for the night till they sorted their error. I had already been given the name and number of apt. Next morning went out sightseeing coming back at 5 and told by blonde receptionist-(name withheld from us )that there were no other rooms. As we met other folk and we knew there were plenty I disputed this. I asked for a manager(still waiting) and she ignored us for an hour. Finally went up and asked for a room key and she handed me the luggage room key! I was furious and said there was no way we were staying in a luggage room which attracted a fair bit of attention. Then we were offered a room which was fine although light bulbs out and wiring clearly not correct. Reception have no idea what is going on. Sales reps coming and going and one named David who sd he recently came over from America to sort things out here told us both Salina Wharf was 'a ---- hole!' Unprofessional or what! He had no interest in anything but his forthcoming pint and was clear to let us know this! House staff lovely.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and this gives you am opportunity to refuse it. Rooms to the the left of r...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickieMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It would be highly appreciated to contact me direct on aldo@clubsalina.com regarding your recent stay at Club Salina Wharf.

Meanwhile, I thank you for the comments about the hotel staff.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Arrived to get a one bedroom after booking a two bedroom which was booked in June. No sofa bed, instead a heavy pull down bed which had never been cleaned. NO SHOWER We had a shower head on a flexi hose over a very small bath. NO SHOWER CURTAIN, NO BRACKET for shower head. Some lights didn't work, the fan on the ceiling was ready to drop any minute and had bare wires showing. The window, four flights of stairs up, had no guard or bar on it. A child could be killed if it fell out. Cooker was ancient and filthy. Not even a draining board at the sink. Overall scruffy. After much complaining we were eventually moved after THREE days to two studio apartments. these were much better. The bar area was very dark and dingy and had no atmosphere at all. Pool area was the only decent bit but it had faults too. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IreneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Madame,

I have read your comments on Trip Advisor following your most recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

It is recorded that on arriving to the hotel, it was confirmed to you that a one bedroom apartment was reserved for your stay. Our reservation team did contact your exchange company however did not approve that your booking was for a two bedroom unit.

Reference is also made to our conversation, that for us customer satisfaction is key and will do our best possible to sort out the accommodation difficulty. Since we did not receive any sort of confirmation from your company, it was decided that we will give you an additional apartment and even without charging you for it.

I have also followed with you during stay as you stated that you are very happy with the alternative solution offered. Please rest assured that our hotel is certified within the local standards and approved classification.

We do have and inspection check system for our Housekeeping and Maintenance Team prior guests checking in the apartments. I will personally follow up on your comments.

Although, we are disappointed to read this review, we still thank you for taking the time to insert your post on Trip Advisor.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We only stayed here for 3 days but we had a large apartment which i was very impressed with. The place is quite huge and a bit confusing when you first get there but we soon knew our way round. There was evening entertainment which makes a change at this time of year as most hotels don't bother after September. No hotels in this area are what you would call 4 star so we know what to expect. But this hotel was ok. Down side was not very good view from window and the balcony was very narrow. Also although the sheets on the bed were clean the bedspread looked a bit grubby. The air conditioning in the bedroom made a racket as well but we kept it off.

Room Tip: Try ad get a good view otherwise you may face the street or rubbish
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kazz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your accommodation apartment during your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our Entertainment program and cleaning services.

I am also sorry that you found it confusing to get around our hotel, we do provide all our guests with a Resort map on check in and I will ask the Front Office Manager to once again ensure that this procedure is being followed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel was very hard to find and noone seemed to know where it was. Although it is about a 5 minute walk from Bugibba centre we had to drive around with the bus for an hour from there until ultimately finding it.

We had a room on the 3rd floor, I had booked the superior room but I am pretty sure we got the standard room since there was no balcony. The room was cleaned well but the stairs outside the room was never cleaned.

The pool area was good, aswell as the indoor pool, nothing special but not bad. The breakfast area outside was nice aswell, with palmtrees. We only ate at the hotel once since it was quite expensive. From the bar we bought ice cream twice which was overpriced and there was a poor selection. The staff in the bar was not very friendly.

I did not have a bad stay at the hotel at all, it was clean and nice but seeing other hotels in the area I regret choosing Salina Wharf. And I'm disapointed there was no balcony since swimwear and bathtowels had to dry indoor which meant they were never dry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimoSimona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guests,

I have noted your complimentary comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf and indeed pleased to note that you enjoyed having breakfast in the garden and our swimming pools. We are also upgrading our indoor pool by refurbishing the bathrooms and changing rooms.

I also appreciate your constructive comments as such advice helps us in our endeavour to improve our bar services.

In the meantime, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and thank you again for your valued custom.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed there last week for a getaway break. We arrived late at night and the next morning went to take out our ham and cheese (we ordered a welcome pack for 14 euros) for breakfast. It was full of water because the fridge had defrosted. It was Monday before we could see anyone and I was told that they would make a small refund. I didn't want the ham and cheese then. When we came to leave, there was no one there who I could discuss the matter of the 1.50 euros credit. I didn't think this was on as we had tea bags that were from the restaurant and sugar sachets altogether in a plastic bag. The set menu in the restaurant was very poor and not value for 13.50 charged. Other hotels were offering very nice set menus from 9.00 euros. We had to pay 15 euros for a rubbish tv and a further 55euros for utilities. What a rip off. The saving grace in the very tired apartment was the nice towels. We were led to believe that the hotel nestled amongst lovely trees. The only trees that we saw were two around the bar area and there were hundreds of flies. I would not choose this hotel again - it did the timeshare trade no favours.

Room Tip: Don't know.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in September at Club Salina Wharf.

I am very sorry that the fridge in the apartment defrosted during the night leading the sandwich ham and cheese the water. It is recorded that whilst claiming our staff offered to replace the item until it was agreed with the Food and Beverage Manager to refund you EUR 1.50.

In order to offer quality in our restaurant, we are very sorry but we can not sell a three course set menu for EUR 9.00 per person. We have a weekly order system in order to get what is locally fresh produced.

Our garden pictures available on our website are a true fact of what is available in our outdoor space.

Please accept my sincere apology if you were not satisfied with our hotel services and trust you will give us another opportunity in future to make it better.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We asked for an apartment on ground floor since we have two small children but were placed on the third floor without a lift. So were another family with a small child and a couple where one was blind. Not once was the apartment cleaned, the only thing they did was emptying the trash can and made the beds without once changeing the sheets. All of the reception staff except Paul should attend a customer service course since none of them are any helpful. Basically the only things good with this place is Paul in the reception and the bar/restaurant The Owl and the Pussycat. They serve good food at a low price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peha20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Please accept my sincere apology for not allocating the apartment on a low floor. We always try to offer the best accommodation for our guests however this is difficult to confirm when the hotel is fully booked.

I would like to thank you for complimenting the services by our Receptionist. Please rest assured that I will pass over your comments to Paul.

I am also very happy to read that you enjoyed the food quality served in our Bar and Restaurant.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,775 reviews
3.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £38 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing