We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Malta”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Malta”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 12 March to 16 March. What a great find!
The apartment was spacious, very clean and really well presented, with a great view over the pool and sea from our balcony. The bedroom featured two single beds, combined to make a double, a dressing table & chair, and a walk-in-wardrobe which included an iron and ironing board. The kitchenette was well equppied with a kettle, toaster, microwave, oven/grill and hob, as well as enough utensils and cutlery. Perfect for the one night we decided to eat in. The apartment also had a TV which featured English channels including BBC World and Sky News. We also enjoyed full access to the indoor and outdoor pool facilities, which we pretty much had to ourselves as we were staying outside of the busier Summer season.
The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating, and were available 24 hours. The rooms were cleaned on a rota basis and were done on most days.
It was, however, a bit of a walk from the main Bugibba bus station. Nonetheless, many buses stop at the nearby Qawra bus stop including the number 45 bus which runs evry 20 minutes to Valletta. Qawra/Bugibba was a nice and quiet resort that certainly caters for European tourists.
Overall, I would definitely recommend Club Salina Wharf to couples, families or solo travellers. It was a nice place to stay in Malta and offered excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room which offers a pool and seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guests,

I would thank you for staying at the Club Salina Wharf for your stay from the 12th March to the 16th March 2014.

It is with great pleasure that our hotel met your expectation and that the customer service offered by our reception team was friendly and always accommodating. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in comfortable décor finishes of our Standard One Bedroom Apartment.

Thank You for taking your time to share your views about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are sincerely glad to note that all you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you decide to visit Malta again so that I can make the necessary arrangements for your next stay. My email is aldo@clubsalina.com

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    130
    103
    75
    56
See reviews for
156
184
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We visited here 6 years ago and decided the location and the current website descriptions meant it would be ideal for a return. We were wrong. We booked a superior 1 bedroom apartment and were given a less-than-standard studio. When we complained we were given keys for 3 apartments to choose which we wanted. Only one was suitable as the other two smelt stronlgy of damp and none were anything like the website pictures. The one we chose was spacious enough and clean, beds were comfortable and there were plenty of bedding and towels. But this was a self catering apartment which had no microwave or kettle. We were given a kettle when we asked for one, and eventually got an inventory which showed we were missing quite a few bits and pieces. The stairwell in the block we were in was dark and dreary, with leaking pipes dripping into an overflowing bucket which meant the floor was wet all the time. The pool area is pleasant and the gardens well kept. But overall this hotel is tired and jaded. And stay away from the restaurant - it's truly dreadful. I was served still-frozen veg one night and the service is snail-pace. It's a pity it's all declined because it could be really nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for travelling back to Malta and considered once again the Club Salina Wharf for your stay in March 2013.

Having read carefully your booking comments, it would be highly appreciated that you contact me direct in order to investigate it further to get back you.

We are very sorry that during your stay we encountered a pipe leak from the third floor of the hotel. Management did the very possible to recover the situation immediately thus even bring over a professional company to replace more than thirty meters of pipe.

It is also recording that on one night only, our waiter served your vegetables not at the correct temperature whilst she apologized and wanted the change it for you. On the night is a also noted that sufficient team members were on duty.

Meanwhile, I am also very pleased that you enjoyed our pool area, garden and the spacious apartment of your choice.

I thank you for your comments and please you may contact me on aldo@clubsalina.com

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed for the second time from 9th January to 6th February 2014.This year there have been many improvements. The outside walkways have all been finished to a high standard. The apartment has been repainted and looked fresh and clean, with a lovely view over the pool to the sea from the large balcony. There is now free WiFi in the reception area or you can hire a computer with Skype for 1 Euro for around 20 mins.. The on-site pub and restaurant has entertainment several nights a week which is not so loud that you can hear it outside.The new snack menu is reasonably priced and the food is tasty. The indoor pool is having the showers refurbished and the pool water is pleasantly warm.The reception staff are really helpful and attentive and always have time for you - even when you get in from a night out at 3.00am! There are many bars and restaurants in the area serving a variety of food. The bus service is cheaper this year at 6.5 euros a week and the service is frequent. These apartments are only 5 minutes walk from the bus station so are an ideal base for exploring Malta. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool for the view but if you want sunshine for most of the day you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MartClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Club Salina Wharf and, most especially, for your continued loyalty.

We are pleased to note that you were satisfied with our customer service, upgraded facilities as well as the quality of food served in our Restaurant. It is a particularly warming experience to receive such positive feedback and your kind comments about our Team Members have been personally passed on.

Meantime, we do look forward to welcoming you back soon and please email me once you have decided on dates.

Thank you once again.

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel over the New Years period and i was truly impressed. Didn't expect it to ohave such great rooms! Great for families and couples and I would surely return over the summer break. Friendly staff, especially receptionists and good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like you for taking the time to share your experience and choosing our hotel to stay over the Festive Season in 2013.

I am very happy to read that you were satisfied with the apartment given to you, hotel location and guest services offered by our Reception Team.

Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to host you back in the near future.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff was nice and really helpful. It's close to big places and the transport system is good.Just be careful while you are walking because there is dog's'poop' on the sidewalks....by the way....a lot!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elis Regina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for travelling to Malta and considered the Club Salina Wharf for your stay.

Meanwhile, I am pleased to read that the service offered and positive attitude of our staff were to your satisfaction.

I thank you once again for choosing Club Salina Wharf for your stay.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mqabba, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Enjoyed the overnight stay. Service was impeccable. Rooms were clean and very big. Mattress and duvets very comfortable. Breakfast large portions and good. AC worked quickly to heat up the room. It is situated in a central area, a few minutes away from centre and near the sea. In fact we went for a walk then to some clubs nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielabuttigieg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Ms. Buttigieg,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Club Salina Wharf.

I am very happy to read that you found your apartment to be clean and comfortable whilst thanking you for the comments about our team service delivery and hotel location.

Thank you for staying with us and looking forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Arrived early and apartment was ready nice big apartment, beds comfy, kitchen a bit tired but adequate for price paid no complaints cleaned daily staff friendly main reception welcoming indoor and outdoor pool and areas clean, food in on site bar ok nothing outstanding and breakfast ok but nothing to write home about. to use as a base for getting around the island perfect would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
106AldoC, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Club Salina Wharf for your stay and for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor.

It is indeed pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who have experienced our hotel and we are glad to note that the apartment, indoor and outdoor pools cleanliness and welcoming check in experience particularly by our reception staff were to your satisfaction.

We will also be improving our Restaurant quality by launching a new menu produced by our new Chef.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Should you be returning to our hotel, please email me on aldo@clubsalina.com

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#6 of 16 in Qawra
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Property: Club Salina Wharf
Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing