We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Club Salina Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Salina Wharf
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here in August 2014 in a bronze 2 bed apartment. The apartment was clean and comfortable, nothing amazing but fine for a family with children. They accommodated us by putting a third pull out bed in the apartment so we didn't need to use the sofa bed. We had clean towels daily and the fresh sheets half way through the week. The apartment was furnished well and would be fine for self catering as there is a big supermarket 5 min walk away. The air conditioning needed some attention as it was old and needed cleaning out properly to work effectively. It was very noisy so we didn't have it on at night. We were on the front of the hotel on the ground floor which actually was great as it was quiet and the children could play in the little seating area outside our apartment which was safely away from the road. Room 119.

The pool area was ok, it needed some TLC especially the grating round the edge of the pool which was broken in places and algae green! The pool itself was fine if you like swimming around in sweat and sun lotion- but I guess most of the hotel pools are the same. Personally I hate public pools so I'm not best placed to judge. However I did notice someone cleaning it out in the mornings.

We opted for half board which in hindsight was not a great move. Breakfast was fine and a good choice. The evening meal was very hit and miss. We were given a set menu each day and had to choose from that not the main menu which was a bit disappointing and restrictive.(We hadn't been told about this previously). The food was not great! The children had a very limited choice although having said that they did try and accommodate their fussy needs. We ate out a few times but to be honest if you want cordon bleu don't go to Malta!

Overall we found the staff pleasant and helpful- but I got the impression they are pretty fed up of loud Brits so they can seem off hand at first but if you are polite to them they are polite back-Simple isn't it ?

If you want a simple holiday with nothing flash then there is nothing wrong with Salina Wharf. If you are looking for something spectacular then you will have to bite the bullet and fork out for it.

Room Tip: Don't expect the Ritz and you'll be fine. If you want to be quiet ask for a room at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    136
    105
    77
    56
See reviews for
161
188
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have chosen this hotel for a short vacation in Malta and it prove to be an inspired choice. Although be thought we have booked a normal double room, we were given a large two-room apartment with fully equipped kitchen! All the facilities were well-functioning and the services was good. You can order English or Continental breakfast to be served on the terrace next to the pool, excellent start for the day.
The location was a bit remote from the very few (rocky) beach places in Malta, nevertheless it was convenient as it was close to the bus station (public bus services are excellent on the main island). After we rented a car and could park it for free anywhere around the hotel, the location did really not matter at all since it is actually a very small island...

Room Tip: Probably the best rooms are the ones with a glimpse of the sea view, located in the 'villas'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKLPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at these Apartments for 2 weeks in July 2014. On arrival, the Reception Area is well maintained and so also is the Outdoor Swimming Pool Area Terrace. However, once in the Apartments it is a different story. We were initially in a “Bronze” Apartment within the North Sea Block. The Apartment was in need of a good clean – The Kitchen Area especially (Cooker and Cupboards thick with grease). The Shower Curtain was black with dirt and the Shower Head did not fit on to the Wall Bracket therefore it was a non functional Shower. The Balcony was also filthy and the Balcony furniture very uncomfortable. After 3 nights in this Apartment with no food being stored nor eaten, we had a Red Ant and Cockroach invasion. We contacted Reception and after an hour the Duty Manager came to our Room and said we were to pack our things and he would move us Apartment. We were moved and upgraded to a “Silver” Apartment. However, this was even filthier than our previous Apartment. On the Monday, the Reception Staff tried to chuck us out, stating we were only booked in for 6 nights however, we were booked via “Thomas Cook” for 2 weeks. After several Telephone discussions and proof of documentation, they agreed we were booked for 2 weeks however, come the afternoon, they had deactivated our Room Cards (locked us out). Eventually we got this sorted. On the Monday Night, we returned to another invasion of Red Ants and Cockroaches (still no food stored nor ate in Apartment). We tackled this as best as we could. On the Tuesday morning we pulled out the sideboard and there was a mass invasion of Ants. We then pulled out the Bed Setae and there were Ants all over the back. The Duty Manager came to our room and tried to say it was only dirt however, when our oldest daughter said “I’ve never seen dirt with legs before”, the Duty Manager agreed to have the Room Cleaned and Sprayed. Even after this we still had an ongoing problem with Red Ants as the Kitchen area was still filthy despite the supposed clean of our Room. Our Air Con also stopped working. The Maintenance Man came to our Room (no Tools!!), played with a few switches, banged the Air Con vent, Balcony Doors etc and then said it was the children not closing the door properly. Despite this, the Air Con still did not work so we had to live in an extremely hot Apartment. The Reception Staff and Managers are also extremely rude and unhelpful. The Bar is in need of an upgrade however, the young Bar Man was friendly and had a good sense of humour. The Night Time Entertainment is dire!! However, there are other Bars\Restaurants nearby. The Apartments have an Indoor Pool however, this has apparently been closed for over a year (maintenance supposedly!!). “Club Salina Wharf” are the Apartments from Hell. This was our first time in Malta. Luckily, we had an opportunity to visit other Apartments and Hotels nearby that were spotless. “Malta” is a beautiful Island with plenty for all ages, great Restaurants, Bars and Outdoor Activities and the Maltese people that we met outwith the “Club Salina Wharf” were extremely nice and friendly. We would go back to “Malta” but would advise anyone not to stay at “Club Salina Wharf”

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear David T,
I am very sorry for the negative points that you encountered. We do not normally have cleanliness issues, so I am surprised that you had ants in the apartments and that you had a number of unclean items. I will raise these issues with the relevant department. On the positive side, it is customary to offer an apartment change (if available), when our guests are unhappy with what they get allocated, and I am pleased that you were offered an upgrade from Bronze to Silver as an alternative. I am sorry that you still found this apartment unsatisfactory. On another note though, I feel I must correct you regarding your comment that the indoor pool has been closed for about a year. There is in fact a notice on the door of the entrance of the indoor pool stating that the indoor pool would be unavailable from June 30, 2014 - it will remain closed for only 2 months - July & August. It is being renovated as part of our refurbishment program, and we chose the hottest time of the year to do this, since this facility is heated and very popular during Winter. We will endeavor to improve on the points raised in your review and we thank you for taking time to review. Thanks, SeanC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

bugibba Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just came back from my Holiday. The Salina Wharf is not realy up to date. ate a couple of times in the Restaurant food was great and staff very nice. but the rest of the place is not to Standard. Special note to the Manager You could be nicer to People, and not so rude.

Room Tip: If you have a gold / Superior Apt. you should be ok the rest not so sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikabugibbaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned today from a very unpleasant stay at "Club Salina Wharf". When we first arrived, we arrived at very early hours of the morning to a Bronze apartment in the North Sea block. There was no water available around the hotel so the "duty manager" sent us walking till we found a pub around the corner where we managed to purchase some water at 2am. In the first apartment, we were missing a bread bin, a bread board, the kitchen was filthy and the cooker rings were full of grease, the sofa was all marked, torn, dirty and worn out, the shower curtained was gruesome, looked like it had never been updated or washed, the fridge was disgusting and the whole place was a tip. After 2 days of staying in that apartment (with no food being eaten there) we came home after a day out to find the place INFESTED with ants. Finally, after hours of waiting, someone finally came to view the room, and they moved and upgraded us to a silver apartment in the Red Sea block, this time not overlooking the sea. The 2nd apartment was not much of an approvement, for a start, the air conditioning did not work, and made garggling bubbling sounds, the fridge would automatically turn off and not cool if you didn't give it a good whack inside at a certain spot, the balcony was very dirty and the outside table and chairs needed a good wash and updating, there was a bath mat inside of the bath that had dirt and dead insects ingrained in the suction cups of the bath mat, the shower curtain was still also very grotty, the only improvement from the previous room being a pull out sofa bed instead of a bed that pulled out of a cupboard (which was also quite dirty, and had different insects in the frame work) and the shower head was attached to the wall. There was no sheets provided for the sofa bed, no kettle, and only 3 sets of spoons etc in an apartment that was able to sleep 4. After notifying th duty manager at Reception, and asking for some sheets and a kettle, he was very rude to us and we went without a kettle for 3 days of our stay. After the second day of asking, they provided us with an old whistling kettle that sat on the stove, and on day 3, finally an electric kettle appeared, although not in the best condition. After a few more days of our stay, (still no food been eaten in the apartment) we were invested by ants again, after finding an ants nest on the balcony, we sprayed bug spray, put down talc etc until that night we came home and found cockroaches crawling out from under the sofa. When we moved all the cabinets, sofa, coffee table, fridge etc, we found thousands more ants, cockroaches, spiders and other undesirable insects you wouldnt want to share your living space with. We told reception and they sent up a maintenace man, who informed us all the crawling insects were "only dirt" but proceeded to send a cleaner up to "clean". A few days later, we found more ants, inside the breadbin, and in the sink, once again we done the bug spray/talcum powder procedure. The reception area, pool, terrace make the hotel look somewhat half decent, but it really is the accomodation from hell. Staff are all very rude, unpleasant and sour faced, minus the bar staff who seemed to be the only nice staff in the complex, although, the bar was lifeless, needing updating and the night entertainment was drastic. Would definitely not want anyone to have the same experience as we have, and would recommend booking with a new apart/hotel. Really looking forward to visiting Malta again but will never ever touch those apartments with a barge pole ever again, YUCK! Ruined a good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Alice M,
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Some of your points are of great concern to me. Normally, as you can see from recent Trip Advisor Comments, the staff are praised greatly, and hence I am somewhat taken aback by your view that all the staff are rude. Housekeeping Staff are usually hospitable, obliging and hard working; Nevertheless, please rest assured that I will investigate all the points that you raised. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from the Salina Wharf and after reading the reviews on here I wasn't looking forward to it, but we had a good time. We had booked a bronze apartment, we were in room 224 in the Coral sea block. It was a very nice room overlooking the pool, our only disappointment was it had no balcony. Regarding the cleaning of the room etc, we had no problems with that, the cleaning staff seemed to work very hard, they didn't do a full clean every day but we didn't need it, the towels were changed daily, I don't think the sheets were changed during the week we were there but I don't change my sheets at home more than once a week so what's the problem? The pool area was smaller than many places we have been to and not the prettiest but there were always sunbeds available, if not around the pool then on the balcony part above it and there was a nice shaded area outside the bar near the pool to sit and have a drink or a snack. There was also a pool bar open while we were there. Now one thing I have to say we didn't enjoy was the evening entertainment. There was a mixed age of people staying here but the entertainment seemed to be for the older people. I'm not young myself but even people in their 60s and 70s now would have been enjoying the swinging 60's in their youth but all we seemed to hear was country and western! The Hotel is in a handy location, round the corner to a nice promenade which you can walk round to Bugibba or you can cut across to Bugibba but it's across some wasteland full of dog dirt and not very pretty. The hotel is also handy for the bus station if you want to visit other parts of Malta. I personally wouldn't stay in this area again, Sliema looked far prettier, but if you are wanting to stay here the Salina Wharf is ok. The Qawra palace on the front looked like it had a nicer pool area and it was on the front, but then again you would probably pay more for it. It was very refreshing not to be hassled by restaurant owners all the time as you are walking along (like I have experienced in The Canaries), and we only had one approach by a Time share tout while we were waiting for a bus at the bus station. Oh and the staff at Salina Wharf were all very friendly. We did have to wait to check in as the room wasn't ready, we arrived at midday, check in time is 4pm which I found quite late, but we did check with reception around 3pm and our room was ready by then. We also had to pay a 10 euro a night deposit against damage which we have never had to do before, but perhaps that is the fault of lowcost holidays who we booked with for not advising us. Enjoy your holiday we did.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pomy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear pomy63,
Thanks very much indeed for taking time to review.
Of course we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you also for the positive comments regarding the standard of customer service. At Club Salina Wharf, we take this aspect of one's stay very seriously indeed, so it's great to see it pay dividends.
We will look again at the evening entertainment program and look to make some improvements to it to make it more attractive to everyone.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I loved it! My family and I go every year as we have a time share and the service is first class, it is not too busy around the pool either so it means you don't have to get up early to put your towels in a sun lounger. It is very central and it is close to everything you need and if you want to go anywhere the staff are very kind and are happy to direct you to wherever it is you want to go, every year it just gets better!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KirstyTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clubsalinawharf A, Manager at Club Salina Wharf, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Kirsty,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks very much for the kind words about our hospitality. Our staff understand the importance of good customer service and clearly they are demonstrating it well. We look forward to having you back again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Salina Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Salina Wharf

Property: Club Salina Wharf
Address: Triq Il-Majjiera, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Salina Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where family comfort meets the true splendor of the Mediterranean. Club Salina Wharf offers you a superior vacation, with all the facilities and necessities for a wonderful and relaxed holiday. It combines luxurious accommodation with plenty of amenities whether you are looking for a quiet getaway or a fun-filled vacation. The tranquil resort is located just two minutes walk from the inviting ...blue Mediterranean Qawra Front, a diving school and water sports facilities. The surrounding area known as Bugibba is bustling with a variety of restaurants, nightclubs, bars, a cinema complex, bingo hall, children’s activities, seaside promenade, shops and a casino.In-house facilities ensure you feel completely at home here. Relax by our indoor and outdoor pools, be entertained in our pub, well fed in our restaurant and welcomed by our friendly staff. Everything you require for your stress- free break is right here on your doorstep. General Information: At Club Salina Wharf we realize how much your holiday means to you and have tailored the resort to include the luxuries and facilities that guests appreciate most:• Outdoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Heated indoor swimming pool with adjoining children’s pool• Jacuzzis- Sauna• Billiard & games room• Internet Cafe• Outdoor competitions (seasonal), - Swimming races, Treasure hunts, Darts, Crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotelopia, Lastminute, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Salina Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Salina Wharf Hotel Qawra
Club Salina Wharf Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing