We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
32
78
50
27
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
78
50
27
35
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Clover is ideally situated in a quiet area of Qawra only 5 mins walk from the centre and bus terminus and 10/15mins walk along the esplanade from the centre of Buggiba. It is a budget 3* complex which is typical of Maltese standards. We had a standard studio which was huge, it did need updating but was spotlessly clean. There were a few safety aspects which I would be mindful of if travelling with young children. There was an old gas cooker (must have been over 25 years old) which was abit ricketty, also the water was heated by an eletric immersion heater which got far too hot resulting in the taps always being very hot.

The whole complex was thoroughly cleaned daily, everything was just abit tired (the plastic sun loungers had been painted with white emulsion). We got this holiday in Thomas Cook's January sale at a good price and would definitely return at the right price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We are just back from a great holiday in malta staying at the clover apmnts, the apartment we stayed in was ample in size and very clean, the towels were changed daily and fresh sheets every other day, the apmt was cleaned daily , the only downside to the apmnt was that some of the fixtures & fittings were a bit tired, the bedspreads & curtains had seen better days but this did not distract from the great holiday we had staying there, the apartments are in a residential part of qwara and are very quiet but only five mins from the seafront and ten mins from the shops, bars resturants and very convienient bus terminal.. the reception staff are brilliant ,very helpfull, we will definatly stay here again. Very good value for your money..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjinw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

My friend and I stayed here in July at one of the hottest times of the year, and got a really good deal on the package.

Firstly the service in the apartments was excellent, particularly the very patient night receptionist who was an absolute gentleman. Our room was cleaned regularly and although it's true that the rooms are very basic and could do with being updated, they were perfectly functional and very clean. My one gripe was that we couldn't get air conditioning, and I did find it difficult to sleep for the first few nights as temperatures were in the mid 30s. We didn't keep the balcony doors open at night because of the mozzies, which had a good old feast on us while we were there. But, you can't blame the Clover for the heat and the mozzies. The room had twin beds, wardrobe, table and chairs, cooker, fridge, sink and plenty of cupboard space, and there was always hot water in the shower. Each room seemed to have a balcony too.

The apartments have two swimming pools (one indoor), and a sun deck. The outdoor pool wasn't huge, and was hogged by British tourists for most of the time - yes, you know the ones who get up at 8am to claim a sun lounger and stay there all day drinking crap lager and turning lobster-coloured. We got up early though for a quick swim before the children took it over with their inflatables - any later than 10am and you didn't get a look in. I tried the indoor pool a couple of times and had it to myself every time, but it wasn't as nice as the outdoor one, and I couldn't swim proper lengths because of a rope tied across the first third of it. We didn't try the restaurant, but there seemed to be live entertainment a few nights a week.

Although Qawra isn't a great centre for nightlife, it is a good location for travelling to other parts of the islands and Clover is less than a 5 minute walk from the main bus terminus in Qawra as well as being very close to the sea with some good swimming areas. The Tal Kaptan is one local restaurant we could recommend, but mostly we travelled into other areas for food and nightlife. Qawra overall would benefit from a cash injection to bring its tourist industry out of the 1970s, but if you concentrate on the weather and the sea and the cultural sites on Malta, it was just somewhere to rest our heads at the end of the day, and one good thing is that it's a nice quiet area so you don't have gangs of 18-30s on holiday keeping everyone up all night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowBibliotecaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Just returned from 1 week staying in the Clover Apartments (Aug 09). The hotel is in a great location, just round the corner from the bus station (buses are the best way to travel around the island for a little over 1 Euro!). Not sure whether we were actually in Bugibba or Qwara, as we were kind of in the middle, but both main areas are about 5 mins walk, if that. Enjoyed the week, such a great island. Hotel was fine, pool was nice, a little cozy round the pool and not many sunloungers free, but it is August. Staff were all very friendly and there is a little resturant, but we only eat a couple of lunches here, but it was nice. There is an indoor pool as well, with jucuzzi, but the weather was too hot to be inside. The apartments dont have much more than this, but had everything we needed. The only negative was that our room had no Air conditioning and it was too hot with just a ceiling fan in August. There was no entertainment on there either in the day or night. But i don't think this was a bad thing, we just got left to do our own thing. Sky TV in reception area to occassionally watch the news and reception was 24/7. I would reccommend to families or couples as the location makes the stay very easy. Great for a cheap and cheerful holiday, i would only go self catering in Malta because the resturants are cheap and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottingham060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Travelled to Malta with my 13 year old son the first time he has been abroad and he loved it, sorry we both did. Clover complex is near the tourist area for bars and food, the bus station and the promenade about two minutes walk and best of all none within hearing distance when you are in your room. It was ideal and had everything we needed. He is very impressed with his first trip abroad and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satisfied46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews