We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will keep returning!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clover Holiday Complex
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This complex is very friendly,you are a name not a number.The staff are very helpful and friendly.It is clean,well sited for exploring.I go here every year for the last 10years it is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Clover Holiday Complex
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

Place is situated on what looks like a residential street, 5mins walk away from any pubs restaurants, if you just want a base to sun bathe and do some day trips its great for the price, be careful it costs extra for a 'superior room' which has the A/C in it (if you don't like sleeping in a sauna, make sure you request a superior room). Good points only 5mins to the Bus Station at Qawra/Bugibba, 15mins to Bugibba Square for those who want a little bit of life, any gamblers there is a casino round the corner (Holdem MTT on a Mon and Fri). Places to eat Incognito, Overflow do go to the Mal'et Restaurant in Bugibba.
On the downside the place does look a little bit tired, never saw anyone in the Bar or eating at the complex, limited sunbeds with no soft cushions. The beds are comfy, but they are designed to be lifted up when not in use, which is a major task in itself but leaving them down leaves two pieces of angle iron sticking out, 'trust me you will only catch your ankles once'!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancisM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I have just returned from a holiday at the Clover Holiday Complex. It was the best accomodation we have had on the Island in all the years we have stayed there and that is every year for the last 14 yrs.
I was a little reticent on reading the mixed reviews before we went and as we had not paid as much as some of the other accomodation we have stayed in was prepared for the worst. However when we arrived we were made very welcome from walking into reception. Our room was on the ground floor and although it was only one bedroom (which we had taken into account when booking) it was of a very good size. I was so impressed with how clean everything was. I am really finicky about cooking utensils and plates and cutlery being scrupulously clean and I was not disappointed.
Every pan was shining and spotlessly clean, cupboards, drawers etc were immaculate.
Both bathrooms (yes both) were beautifully clean and toilet bowl sparkling. Everything was in perfect working order apart from the air conditioning system, which was working very well but pumping out water into the courtyard. Once reported this was fixed within 30 minutes of reporting it.
The sofa bed was a little uncomfortable but when you are only paying for one bedroom that is something you have to put up with. It wasnt so uncomfortable that we could not sleep.
If there was a down side to the holiday it was the fact as has already been mentioned that there arent a lot of sun loungers around the pool as it is quite small and unless you are able to jump over your balcony wall on the morning, just after cleaning, and put your towel on a bed, you have little chance of securing a bed at all. I came out from my room quite often at a little after 9am and every bed had a towel on it but amazingly enough only two people actually sitting around the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MercelEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

As with other reviewers I was a bit concerned about Clover but we couldn't have chosen better. Our room (yes it was dated) was cleaned every day except Sundays (fair enough), fresh sheets and towels everytime and the ladies who came round were lovely. We didn't have air con which I would pay extra for next time if going in July! It was so handy, all you needed was a short walk and if you wanted you could stay in. The bar/restaurant was in no way busy but the kids did have snacks and drinks on the days we weren't out. The pool and surrounding area was cleaned every morning, the pool is a bit on the deep side, even in the shallow end, my daughter is 10 and 147cm/4'8" (ish) and didn't have far before she was out her depth, thankfully she is a confident swimmer but when the pool gets busy it is a worry that they can't just put their feet down if something happens. Apart from that the Clover is a hidden gem, you can get anywhere on Malta as the bus terminus is just a 5 minute walk, along with shops. Buggiba is lovely walk along the promenade for more shops and eating places and of course there is the car museum literally round the corner! All in all it was a great base and will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjj006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Ok so we booked our flights to Malta and then stumbled across a bargin for a weeks stay in the Clover Holiday complex! We were all abit unsure after we booked especially with the reviews we had read online and the fact it was almost peak season with no aircon!!
However, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised, although yes, the rooms are basic, but we were on holiday to explore, not to spend a week in our hotel room! We had two balconys, 1 large bedroom with 3 single beds, a dressing table, bedside cabinates and 2 large wardrobes. The room also had a large fan on the ceiling and a smaller plug in wall one, which was fine, none of us experienced lack of sleep due to the heat as the fans actually cooled the room down alot! The doors were shut all day with the curtains drawn and we managed just fine!!!
I would agree the hotel could do with an update, however for the price we paid and the service we recieved it was first class! Everyday the maid came in and made the beds, cleaned the bathroom and put fresh towels out! This is something we were shocked at with the price we paid! On our arrival we were also surprised to find Eggs, Bread, Milk, Butter, Tea ,Coffee in the kitchen!!!
The pool was good, although we didn't go in peak season, we managed to have sun beds most days without getting up v early... the pool was also very clean and idea for children with 2 smaller pools. We had daily entertainment from the "italian stalions" that seemed to live in the hotel, at first they seemed like pests but in the end were harmless and just added entertainment to our holiday! The night receptionists were also fantastic with us when we arrived in at the early hours everyday, this was never a problem!!
The location of this hotel was perfect for us, 5 minute walk to supermarkets, 5 minutes to the bus terminal where you can get all around Malta! 10 minute walk to Buggiba square which has entertainment every night and a good range of excellent resturants.
Overall, i would say as long as you don't expect 5* accomodation this is the perfect hotel to use as a "bed" stop! Hope you will enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyb2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Clover is ideally situated in a quiet area of Qawra only 5 mins walk from the centre and bus terminus and 10/15mins walk along the esplanade from the centre of Buggiba. It is a budget 3* complex which is typical of Maltese standards. We had a standard studio which was huge, it did need updating but was spotlessly clean. There were a few safety aspects which I would be mindful of if travelling with young children. There was an old gas cooker (must have been over 25 years old) which was abit ricketty, also the water was heated by an eletric immersion heater which got far too hot resulting in the taps always being very hot.

The whole complex was thoroughly cleaned daily, everything was just abit tired (the plastic sun loungers had been painted with white emulsion). We got this holiday in Thomas Cook's January sale at a good price and would definitely return at the right price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We are just back from a great holiday in malta staying at the clover apmnts, the apartment we stayed in was ample in size and very clean, the towels were changed daily and fresh sheets every other day, the apmt was cleaned daily , the only downside to the apmnt was that some of the fixtures & fittings were a bit tired, the bedspreads & curtains had seen better days but this did not distract from the great holiday we had staying there, the apartments are in a residential part of qwara and are very quiet but only five mins from the seafront and ten mins from the shops, bars resturants and very convienient bus terminal.. the reception staff are brilliant ,very helpfull, we will definatly stay here again. Very good value for your money..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjinw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Holiday Complex

Address: Triq It Tartarun, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Qawra
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clover Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Clover Holiday Complex Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing