We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wow!”
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Ranked #35 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing wow!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Well, it's one okay restaurant. Unfortunately the one never-to-do things in a restaurant happened. The wine we ordered was served mid-way through the starters, and this after reminding 2 waiters. Main course had 2 thermidor lobsters. Nothing out of this world. Overcooked.

Reasonably priced. I guess in summer the atmosphere is nicer as the winter months, it's closed in a plastic tent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    13
    6
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qawra, Malta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Walked past this restaurant a few times as it is just over the road from our apartment and decided we would give it a go after reading a few reviews on this site. The place doesn't look upto much from outside and it was very quiet and I can't for the life in me understand why because it is a stunning little place my partner and I ordered various items from the Chinese menu and a pizza and they were all amazing I would truly recommend this place to anyone and we shall be going a lot more often and will be taking all our friends here outstanding

Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pleasant”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We took an extra cheesy pizza and chicken salad. Ingredients were fresh and pizza was appetizing and nicely done; a few ‘modified’ ingredients in the salad but nonetheless tasty! The dressing arrived after consuming a third of the salad, but was a yummy bonus.

An unusual mix of local and Asian staff. Service was awkward due to the Asian waitress’ shy nature. Smiles didn’t go amiss however!

Quiet area off the promenade, with a splendid sea view in the terrace. A calm location without people staring at you eating. Romantic too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgrimmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“fab”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Been going to Malta for years and the boathouse is just outside our hotel. But never tried it infill this year and I can tell u it was the best Chinese meal in years . The waitress was lovely it was empty and don't know y! Amazing. Recommend to all to try excellent and value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cherrylwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qawra
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BBQ night”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a beautiful evening during the BBQ night celebrating our friends birthday party. Fantastic place for good food and for group parties.
Sure this is going to be my favourite restaurant.
Fantastic staff and enjoyed a nice drink with the owners Martin and Rachel very pleasant

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing