We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made perfect by certain people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“made perfect by certain people”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

we came to malta, and this hotel on july 14th. id recently been concerned about what to expect but upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly reception and asked if we would like to attend lunch as our room wasn't quite ready. i must say the food here is exceptional, not once did we need to eat out (apart from perhaps a burger after visiting the clubs at night to soak up the alcohol) :P
each morning the staff were brilliant, made conversation and always seemed sincere in wanting to talk to us.
the bar staff in the evening were the best, whilst watching the entertainment (which by the way was also very impressive, be sure not to challenge anyone to a dance off!!) they always made sure our drinks were never empty and soon recalled our room number of 444 with out us having to say it. maybe we ordered a few to many! but id say the waitresses made our stay, in particular a lovely lady named luca. she was always smiling and genuine in asking about our day. i wish people i worked with were more like half the staff at this hotel. for people attending this hotel in the near future, do not threat. its perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    1,027
    304
    94
    58
See reviews for
1,038
1,546
124
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were dumped in this hotel by db group we had booked seabank 10 months ago and on arrival in Malta were told it was full and sent to this hotel the reception seemed to have no idea they were rude and unhelpful. The room was at the end of a corridor which had more workmen and plasterers than guests. There was plaster everywhere thank goodness our older son was not with us otherwise we would have been in hospital as this would have given him a life threatening asthma attack. The food was dire the restaurant was like a school canteen. The so called pool bar was a couple of wooden doors like a kiosk it reminded us of a school tuck shop. The food selection was not good most of it was of a cheap variety and was Luke warm at best. In the morning the maid tapped once then fling the door open at 9 am and asked us when we were leaving. The agreed transport to take us to the proper hotel did not arrive and we had to ask twice for it. The hotel is on a Main Street which had stag and hen parties parading up and down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tessitura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have signed up as members for this hotel for future holiday although we didn't stay in the hotel we had a members pass for the week and had the use of and used all facilities on offer cannot praise this hotel highly enough ,certainly there is some snagging needing to be completed but it didn't affect us at all and we were pretty much there all day every day looking forward to next year .

Room Tip: Can't praise this hotel highly enough well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evb1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have been to this hotel many times before and decided to return this year after the refurbishment. Our rooms were good and clean. Had a couple of days without water in one of our rooms the air conditioning broke but thankfully was fixed the same day.
There is still work going on in the hotel this was after being reassured it would all be finished for 30 June. We're woken a few days with a hammer drill and that went on all day. It was the fire escape that concerned me the most as it was full of rubble, boulders and boards. There was workers hanging off balconies finishing work and some of the carpets could do with a good clean due to plaster being dragged along them. We also had cranes finishing off the rails at the upper pool deck as the rails were unfinished.
The hotel in general was okay. The animation team were brilliant. The only thing I would avoid was the lower pool deck on a Sunday as it turns into the local swimming pool. You can pay into the pool if you are not staying in this hotel but it seems to be worse on a Sunday.
Overall I would like to return to see if it turns out as good as the promise it could be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sib_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Travelled to Malta as family of 6 - myself, husband, 2 boys age 5 &7 and the in laws, for 10 days returning beginning of August.

Had originally booked months ago to stay at the Seabank in Mellieha but two weeks before travelling they informed us we had been double booked and would we want to stay in their sister hotel the San Antonio. After some negotiations we agreed and were given an upgrade at the San Antonio to two suites. We stayed all inclusive with a room on the 8th floor.

The hotel was lovely, rooms very spacious with two bathrooms, separate bedroom, two (small) balconies. Reception staff were very friendly and approachable and checked us in quickly. Our rooms were ready before check in time (which we had requested).

No problems with air con or leaking water as mentioned in some other reviews. We encountered no problems at all during our entire stay. Most of the plugs in the room were uk sockets so adapters weren't needed.

The only time I heard builders was twice at the pool (for about two minutes each time) and one morning about 8.30 for about 5 minutes so we were not at all bothered by the building work. There are some snagging bits around the hotel that still need doing, such as filling around plug sockets etc but none of that bothered us at all (and why would it?). There are some painting bits that still need doing and other finishing touches but that's no big deal.

The outdoor pool is large and not at all cold so the kids loved it. It has shallow and deep areas. Not at any point did we need to reserve sunbeds as there were more than plenty, even in the summer holidays, which was a nice change!

There is waiter service around the pool, they come round all day so you just need to get their attention and they will take your order and bring it over a few mins later. You can also place your order at the bar if you prefer. We were all inclusive so all drinks were free. I did see them brining out food orders such as pizza, chips etc to people who had ordered them as snacks from the pool bar were chargeable. The pool waiters were very friendly and work so hard and they keep the pool clear of empties too. They definitely earn their tips.

The animation team were great and also work so hard and interact well with the guests. During the day there are games such as water polo, aqua gym and in the volleyball sand court there is football and volleyball daily. They talk to the guests but aren't pushy if you don't want to join in. They do the evening shows too which are fun and finish about 10.30 (there is a kids disco early evening too).

There is a rooftop pool and bar for over 18s but we didn't go there as we had kids with us. Didn't use the gym or spa or indoor pool either. The good thing for us about the rooftop pool was that a lot of guests without kids must have used that one which helped keep the downstairs pool from getting too crowded.

The buffet restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner has great food. Breakkie had the full English option, plus salads, meats, fruit, breads, pastries etc. lunch always has plenty of options too including a couple of meat and fish dishes with plenty of sides, salads, fruit, meats, plus plenty of ice cream and puddings.

Dinner also had plenty of options, including fish, meat, sides, fruit, pizza, pasta, salads and the list goes on. Plenty of puddings and ice cream too. There was always more than enough to choose from, food was always hot and tasted great. My 5 year old is a fusspot and after speaking to the chef and asking if it was possible to have some chicken nuggets for him, quick as a flash they cooked some for him, were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

There were never any large queues for food, about two minutes was the most I queued, even on a weekend where some locals use the facilities. We only had to queue once to get into the restaurant for about 10 mins - this was a day when locals were using it too, so they were having to pay at the door which was holding it up a bit - so perhaps on those occasions they could have two separate queues. I think the longest we waited for our drinks to be brought over was about 5 mins. What some of these other reviews are moaning about I have no idea as we were there 10 days and had no issues in the restaurant. Perhaps we didn't go at peak times?

The hotel is about a two minute walk from the bus station from where we went on trips to Valetta, Mdina and Mellieha bay beach (which is lovely). About 10 mins walk away there is an aquarium which was fun for the kids with a big park outside it. The other way about 2 mins walk is a mini water splash park, lots of cafés, restaurants etc. the beach across the road isn't great - better to get the bus to Mellieha (30 mins). Buses are cheap - 1.50 euros for day ticket to use as much as you like and kids day tickets are 50 cents. Valetta was about an hour, Mdina about 30 mins. They do get busy though but most are air conditioned.

If all inclusive (not sure about other guests) you can ask for a wifi code at reception - works fine in rooms and reception but not around the pool.

Check out took about 1 minute and was hassle free. The hotel ordered us a minibus taxi to the airport which was only 25 euros (about 40 mins away) which was good as from the airport we got two cabs at 25 euros each.

The only downsides I would say for this hotel is that between lunch and dinner the only 'free' snacks are sandwiches in cafe maroc - it could do with something more. And possibly a few more 'basic' options of food for kids such as fish fingers. The jacuzzi pool wasn't working whilst we were there although the only person miffed by that was my husband. The only other thing I would say is that the night time entertainment is just a bit too loud, so loud that the waiters can barely hear you when you order your drinks, so sitting outside to watch the show is better!

I simply cannot understand the bad reviews on here at all, the place and staff were fantastic and I would definitely return here. Please don't be out off by the bad reviews on here, I think some people like to moan over small things,

Bearing in mind it was summer holiday time I was expecting the place to be heaving with people, no sunbeds, packed pool but it was just spot on. I was glad that our hotel was changed to this one as we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view as you get a sea view too, which is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed until 31st July 2014. I'm 27 and had a room of my own which I found big and modern. Shower leaked a bit due to it being a walk in one but not a major issue.

In the whole week I was woken up once by banging at 8.30am. We were on the 9th floor.

No major work going on, they are simply going round doing all the touch ups.

Pool was fantastic with a sea view and big in comparison to other hotels.

Food was great but I suggest for evening you get down for 7.30pm to avoid the queues.

Hotel is bang in the centre and 2 mins from the bus station (week bus pass 6.50euros)

I think for the money this hotel is great. Yes they are still finishing but nothing major. But in comparison to the other hotels in Malta this is fab alot of them are dated, pools across the road etc. If you want perfect pay the money and stay in 5star hotel. This is currently still a 4 star with a perfect location and reasonably priced.

I was panicking due to the reviews coming here but if u can look beyond the finishing touches it's great hotel and will be even better when finished. Don't go to Malta to live in your hotel with so much history.

Free WiFi and free safe :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca87667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hotel is nearly ready to be a 5* There is still some work going on, but not too much to worry about. (we were on the 6th floor and there was some work going on to a few rooms)

Animation team are brilliant fun and the shows are short, but of high quality. They are also chatty and get people involved during the day with races, table tennis, water polo, aerobics.

Kitchen staff are friendly and will chat if you ask about dishes.
I have read of long queues, which we only saw once as they only had a single "station" open. A second was opened after a while and there was always two open until we left.

Pools are large for Malta and there bonus for over 18's is the roof pool which is always quiet due to that and the "no floats / inflatables"

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view as it is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poyntzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,702 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,642 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db San Antonio Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db San Antonio Hotel + Spa

Property: db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Address: Triq it Turisti, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1024, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
#2 Family Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db San Antonio Hotel + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, All-Inclusive, Malta, welcomes you in its newly refurbished Moorish style hotel in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea. It is one of the largest hotels in Malta with over 500 rooms and suites, a variety of restaurants, bars, fitness and Spa facilities in a Moorish style and outdoor pools overlooking the picturesque St. Paul's Bay. The hotel is situated in the northern part of the island of Malta, right in the heart of Qawra, St. Paul's Bay and at a walking distance to the sandy beach, bars, restaurants, casino, National Aquarium, public transport and other amenities including fashion outlets, commodities and services. db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, All-Inclusive, Malta, offers a relaxing environment that makes your stay in Malta an amazing experience. Starting from our outdoor pools and bars to enjoy the sun with family and friends, up to our spa treatments, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and our private Jacuzzi Sultan's Bath. You can start your day with a rich and varied buffet breakfast. For lunch and dinners, you have a choice of cuisines at the various restaurants and a coffee shop within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your db San Antonio Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Hotel Qawra
San Antonio Hotel And Spa
San Antonio Malta
San Antonio Hotel Malta
San Antonio Qawra
Db San Antonio Hotel + Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing