We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel with a few teething issues but worth a stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of db San Antonio Hotel + Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with a few teething issues but worth a stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned after 10 days at the San Antonia and some people just love to complain.
The Hotel isn't quite finished with snagging going on but its no more than regular maintenance at other hotels.We had a room on the 6th floor with a full sea view. The room was large enough for 2 adults and 1 child and was very clean and tidy. Linen was immaculate and the room cleaned daily with spare pillows/blankets available. All the staff where very helpfully at all times with no rudeness that others have mentioned.
The pool was very nice but smaller that the photos make you believe and bear in-mind the hotel caters for up. The rooftop pool with very nice but can get very hot and is adults only- worth a visit to get away from the kids
Bear in mind the hotels caters fro upto 800 so its busy !!
Food is basic but a full variety to cover most tastes and is a buffet self-service- again its busy and can take awhile to eat.
The pool bar is expensive 3.5 euros for a 330ml local beer so beware and the hotel bar has wow fully slow service.
Lift- these have a mind of there own- be patient
The best bit is the entertainment from the Animation team- best on the island.
Brilliantly coordinated by Phil with street dancers Didi,Mathew,LouLou,Diego, Frenchy and Angelica-pure fun and pleasure throughout the day with a 40 min evening show- not to be missed
Its a nice 4* hotel with a few teething issues but the entertainment makes up for it.

Room Tip: 6th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JayPeirson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear JayPeirson,

We thank you for your review. We will continue working hard to give the best service to our guests.

We hope we can welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Gordon Borg
E-Commerce and Online Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,695
    945
    278
    88
    53
See reviews for
953
1,416
114
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were a little concerned about staying here after reading such negative reviews, but need not have worried, the hotel is now 95% refurbished just little jobs being finished off. The San Antonio is definately family orientated so much to do for children of all ages. If you want to spend some time away from children then the 10th floor pool is perfect, no one under the age of 18 allowed up there. Food very plentiful catering for all tastes, Malta is a lovely friendly place who really love the British and are still so grateful for all our efforts during WW2. We will definately be back as you seem to get alot more for your euro than other countries in the EU.
Ignore the negative reviews give it a try.

Room Tip: sea view from the 3rd floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PandLOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear PandLOXforshire,

We would like to thank you for your review.

We hope we can welcome you again at our hotel.

Best Regards

Gordon Borg
E-Commerce & Online Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Forget all the reviews that you might have read about this hotel and go and book it and have a great time like we have just had. We booked a standard twin room with sea view but there was nothing standard about our room. The room was so comfortable and spacious more like a suite. The air conditioning was fantastic and the ceiling fans were great if you did not wish to leave the air con on during the night. We had a fantastic sea view and pool view and we had no problems with any noise during the night. The rooms were recently decorated and very clean and spacious, accompanied by tea and coffee facilities, table and chairs and extra seating areas and table in the hallway. There was a small fridge which is enclosed in a cupboard and this was a blessing as we needed to have cold drinks stored. Plenty of drawers to put stuff away and cupboard space. Balcony very comfortable- spacious enough to take one table and two chairs and still have room to walk around. We were on bed and breakfast as I have family in Malta and they would insist on us joining them for dinner. The breakfast was superb, everything that was hot was cooked and served hot and plenty of it and anything that is cold was fresh at all times, there was a huge selection of cereals, bread, yoghurt, cakes, cheeses, sliced meats, salad stuff. list is endless - fruit and I must not forget the freshly cooked pancakes, omelettes and hash browns. Lots of various drinks. Although the hotel was full, there was always enough room in the dining area which is huge and around the pools which are fantastic. The reception staff are outstanding and nothing is too much of a problem to them particularly a young lady called Donna. She was amazing. All in All - thank you San Antonio- 28/07/14 till 04/08/2014

Room Tip: go for Sea View - you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boo52WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Boo52WalesUK,

We would like to thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service.

We hope we can welcome you again in the near future at our Hotel.

Best regards

Gordon Borg
E-Commerce & Online Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We are currently in the db San Antonio, buggiba.

I don't have a clue what some of these people below are on about, really if you are coming here soon you have literally nothing to worry about! We have been here about 9 days now and there is no building working going on! There's the odd maintenance being done on some rooms but nothing you would even notice, we have however noticed a lot of moaning British people who don't shut up. Rooms are clean and modern and you have a double bed and a pull out sofa bed! Flat screen TV, Hot showers or cold, all rooms have a balcony!! Safe is free!!

If you know malta this is defo a good hotel for malta standards!! Breakfast is great!! Roof top pool is top notch gets so hot tho led up there. We are on the 8th floor and have inland view buts it's great for people watching!! I would definitely stay here again! They've also cleaned the room every day! Which is great! You also get as fridge we haven't gone to pool downstairs as it gets a little busy! But it looks nice anyway! Would say this is best hotel in this part of Malta!

So don't worry people we did and we need not have done.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, I was a little skeptical about how our stay would be at the San Antonio Hotel, but it couldn't have been further from the bad reviews! We arrived end of July for a 10 day holiday on a Bed & Breakfast basis. Breakfast had a HUGE selection, and was fresh food being cooked all morning, every day. It did get a little busy later on in the morning (around 9am)but not enough that you couldn't get food or had to wait. It made a perfect start to the day with almost anything you could wish for, plus food made to order if needs be!
On arrival, the staff on the reception desk didn't seem all that helpful to begin with, but it was a very busy time of day when we arrived. However, when going back to ask for extra information we were greeted by two very lovely members of staff who gave us wifi codes, timings for activities, bus timetables, maps, and even recommended us the best beaches. They were helpful later on in our stay when we unfortunately, we noticed a leak in our bathroom (this wasn't an issue for us). We simply informed reception, who notified maintenance, and as we were out for the day, they fixed the leak whilst we were out and the room was left spic-and-span on our return, like nothing had ever happened! The rooms were thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis including clean towels, floors cleaned, beds made etc.
Admittedly, the hotel is undergoing some improvement and maintenance works, but this didn't seem to be a problem. We were never disturbed by any noise or builders, and if they needed to work in close proximity they always seemed considerate of the hotel guests and were rather polite. The new addition of the roof top pool is a luxury (Over 18's). Its a really quiet area to relax in peace and quiet, with a small bar for some nice drinks! Was very relaxing and the views from the pool - amazing! The hotel is also very large and the lift system can get a little frustrating - not an issue for us as we took the stairs most days (8th floor!!) but it could get quite congested around breakfast/dinner times.
The hotel is in the PERFECT location, just a 2 minute walk away from Buggiba Bus Station, which has buses that can take you to any part of the island. Was 1.50Euros for an all day pass, or 6.50Euros for a week pass. There is also a fantastic Crepe place right on the corner of the hotel which we treated ourselves to once or twice - they were unbelievable if you fancy something sweet! We found that there wasn't a lot to do in the area, we ate out in Buggiba 3x nights and Qawra 1x night, but spent most of our 10 days travelling around the island to different beaches and places to eat. There are some lovely places to eat in Portomaso, St. Julians (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED) as well as some hidden treasures in St. Georges Bay & St. Julians.
We visited Golden Bay & adjoining beach on two separate days, which were big sandy beaches with some excellent walks across cliffs and lovely blue seas. If you get the chance to go to Paradise Bay - its a little far and excluded, and does require some walking across cliffs - but it has the 'wow' factor!! I would recommend getting up early to go to the beaches around 9am and returning back early afternoon as to avoid the afternoon rush. (They can get VERY busy!)
We also took a Boat Trip with Mermaid Cruises, to the Blue Lagoon and Comino (adjoining island) which made for a great day out, saw the caves and a lovely swimming area. Well worth doing if you can + take snorkels!! Excellent fun!
All in all, an excellent all-rounder. Good location which allows you to explore malta at its best!

Room Tip: Higher Floor with sea view & balcony/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croc212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Unsure what to expect as Hotel group said work was complete but Trip Advisor reported otherwise. 1-0 to Trip Advisor. Good points were that it is well located, breakfast was good and the one evening meal we had was also good. Our room had been renovated and, generally, the staff were great. The pool area was clean and the Entertainment team were great with the kids. Down points, unfortunately there was always the smell of paint or plaster and a decorator would randomly be sanding down a piece of wall outside your room first thing in the morning, three times in a week, and you didn't see him again after 10:00am. Several East European workers amongst the hotel workers and I have to say a couple of these were unpleasant. Our room wasn't cleaned everyday and we had to ask for towels on one occasion. We struggled to get served drinks sometimes and we were paying so the All Inclusive was possibly slower. Although renovated, our "Family Room" was very very small and cramped. The renovation is behind and does interfere with the enjoyment of the holiday (possibly if the builders worked as quickly as they watched the bikini clad girls it may be finished!). The main door out of the hotel to the swimming pools is where all the workers, predominantly time share salesmen, congregate to smoke so is unpleasant to walk through. Which brings me on to the target market for this hotel. I'm not sure what it's aim is, we were on a Bed and Breakfast arrangement as I am a bit sick of All Inclusive, but many guests were All Inclusive and the main restaurant felt geared toward All Inclusive. I therefore also assume some were Room Only Guests and some Full or Half Board Guests. Tie this in with the sheer volume of Time Share salesmen trying to sell off bits of the hotel and the dozens of Time Share "guests" being paraded round the pools and restaurant for a free T-Shirt or bus ticket, and a large part of the pool area and sunbathing area being closed off to guests all of the Saturday for a private function in the evening, I felt the hotel was a bit directonless. This was our first visit to Malta and thought it a lovely island and would possibly consider the San Antonio again, but NOT until it's finished. (I did speak to a couple of members of staff who confided that they didn't think it would ever be finished!) Nor would I want a Time Share here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perrypub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked for the san antonio back in october 2013 seeing that it was due to be upgraded, we regularly checked to see the progress and look at reviews etc and thought we had made a huge mistake booking but after emailing the management we were told that all would be ok (we stayed 11-21 june 2014 halfboard) when we arrived we were given our room which was ok at first glance but i thought i would ask to see if we could be moved to a room that would get the afternoon sun so i popped back to reception to see if that would be possible but was told that they were all occupied i then mentioned about my email from one of the managers that stated if we had any issues to speak to reception i mentioned that when we booked we told that the roof pool would be ready etc but it was not i asked if we could be upgraded to all inclusive as a gesture of goodwill and was told no problem, all the reception staff were so helpful, i cant see why they are getting slated, the hotel was still under a lot of construction but again the noise was not constant and not even that loud it also did not start at 7am and did not finish at 7pm. The pool bar staff were lovely, as were the bar staff in the kosy bar they even remembered our drink order each night as well as which room. Food in the resturant was lovely, lots of choice and even my 2 children found something to eat each night.
We cannot praise the amimation team enough they entertained our children every day for 10 days playing with them in the pool, teaching them swimming/diving and generally sitting having a chat with me and my husband, then each evening they would entertain the kids again even teaching them breakdance moves - they made the holiday for the children and it gave myself and my husband a bit of a break to sit and have a drink together knowing the children were in safe hands as we could see them at all times.we have already booked for next year!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pool or seaview room is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swateridge7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
4.4 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db San Antonio Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db San Antonio Hotel + Spa

Property: db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Address: Triq it Turisti, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1024, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#2 Family Hotel in Qawra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db San Antonio Hotel + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, All-Inclusive, Malta, welcomes you in its newly refurbished Moorish style hotel in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea. It is one of the largest hotels in Malta with over 500 rooms and suites, a variety of restaurants, bars, fitness and Spa facilities in a Moorish style and outdoor pools overlooking the picturesque St. Paul's Bay. The hotel is situated in the northern part of the island of Malta, right in the heart of Qawra, St. Paul's Bay and at a walking distance to the sandy beach, bars, restaurants, casino, National Aquarium, public transport and other amenities including fashion outlets, commodities and services. db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, All-Inclusive, Malta, offers a relaxing environment that makes your stay in Malta an amazing experience. Starting from our outdoor pools and bars to enjoy the sun with family and friends, up to our spa treatments, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and our private Jacuzzi Sultan's Bath. You can start your day with a rich and varied buffet breakfast. For lunch and dinners, you have a choice of cuisines at the various restaurants and a coffee shop within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your db San Antonio Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Hotel And Spa
San Antonio Hotel Qawra
San Antonio Malta
San Antonio Hotel Malta
San Antonio Qawra
Db San Antonio Hotel + Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing