We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building work still going on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned back from here yesterday. Not the enjoyable peaceful holiday that was expected ...lots of drilling by pool and work men EVERYWHERE carrying tools .......only restrauntant open was the buffet ??? Although food was pleasant but NO fusion or Morocan restraunt was open! The jacuzzi pool was eventually opened but only during last few days of our Holiday. Builders were coming and going with out concent in to your rooms! They were working a lot outside our room like 9am on Sunday morning, Fixing things all day long!! Not at all what I expected. We were offered a different room on 9th floor...however the rooms were a lot smaller and NO AIRCON!! So declined as AIRCON was a priority. The entertainment was limited all finished by 10.30pm and it was a great bunch of talented young adults dancing in different style each night .....however I felt more variety was needed. ......I feel I need another holiday to recover from this ....such a shame as this was out first experience in malta. I think this hotel will be amazing when totally finished with the referbishments completed, it angers me as I noticed they still selling holidays there without informing people that works are still ongoing!! If I had know I wouldn't of gone .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Kim C,

Thank you for your review.

Currently, we do not have building/construction works going on. It is maintenance service that is an ongoing procedure to assure the best service to our guests. We are taking all the measures to cause the least inconvenience to our guests and we are sorry to hear that.

As regards to the Fusion restaurant which is the Q-Zins Restaurant, was opened for more than a month now. While the Moroccan restaurant called Tagine restaurant opened last Friday.

Whilst, we thank you to point out these things, we hope to host you again in the near future.

Best regards

Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,092 - 3,098 of 3,835 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed from the 28/07/14 until 04/08/14 and it was great.I wouldn't listen to the negative reviews as far as we were concerned the hotel, staff, food, pool and entertainment are A*. We had room 558 with an amazing pool and sea view with superb views of the sunrise and sunsets. All of the staff from the cleaners to the management work exceptionally hard to ensure that everyone's needs are catered for. No ask is too much for them and we were always greeted with a warm welcoming smile. Donna at the desk is brilliant and is always willing to help you whenever she can.
The rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. There was myself, my wife and my 9yr old daughter in the room and we found that there was plenty of room. The bathroom is superb, especially the power shower and the balcony had 2 chairs and a table and we used the stool from the bathroom for our daughter to sit on whilst we were on there enjoying the views. The breakfast is outstanding with an array of food even for the most delicate taste buds. The food was was piping hot and fresh and yes there are queues but they disappear quickly and they even opened a second hot serving hatch to accommodate the guests.
If I was you, I wouldn't hesitate and would definitely book this superb hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view room from floor 3 and up!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JakeSam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear JakeSam27,

We would like to thank you for your review.

It is always our pleasure to assist you with a welcoming smile and we promise to continue working hard to improve our service to assure the best for our clients.

We hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards

Gordon Borg
E-Commerce & Online Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After being let down by Sunny Coast Hotel, where we have booked and paid for a 2 bed apartment, we were told a mistake had been and were being moved to the San Antonio Hotel. We wanted a self catering apartment, so were disappointed before we got to the hotel, but when we arrived 6 hours later, we were pleased with the size of the rooms which would easily sleep 3 but my 21year old daughter didn't want to sleep with her parents, so we were given the room next door as well. Some days though we had upto 5 different people knocking to check the kettle, bathroom paint etc this began to grate a bit and the restaurant is at the bottom and massive, and we so many people you cannot hear yourself think. We gave up and ate out which increased the cost a lot as we were going to cook some days for ourselves . The over 18's roof top pool though is fantastic with great views. The nearby beach is rocky and dirty with cigarette ends everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Molly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Ozzymolly,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We will work on your recommendations.

Best Regards

Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I stayed here back in May. As always our stay was very pleasant. For many years we have chosen to stay at the San Antonio and it has always been a delight. Even before the refurbishment I would give it 5*. During our stay a lot of building work was taking place to refurbish the hotel, however this didn't interrupt our stay one bit! Those who have complained I believe must be hard to please.

The bar held all these different shows nightly which were very entertaining to watch while sipping on many of the cocktails on offer (including non alcoholic ones). The pool area downstairs is very large with a gorgeous pool. Only disappointment was how cold the pool was, however dipping in there after a long day in the sun was brilliant. The buffet at breakfast and dinner was great, lots of choice for everyone (and all you can eat) and the staff are happy to provide you a children's meal if your child does not take a liking to any of the food on the buffet (which is a rarity). My favourite experience at the hotel would have to be the facial I had the spa. The staff are incredibly friendly and provide excellent treatments (massages, facials and baths).

Overall the facilities are great, the food is great, the rooms are modern and spacious, the pool area is large and attractive and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Definitely coming back here, just feels like home but better!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soph1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Soph1997,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to have your comments and hearing that you had enjoyed our spa treatment amongst other facilities within our hotel. We hope to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned after 10 days at the San Antonia and some people just love to complain.
The Hotel isn't quite finished with snagging going on but its no more than regular maintenance at other hotels.We had a room on the 6th floor with a full sea view. The room was large enough for 2 adults and 1 child and was very clean and tidy. Linen was immaculate and the room cleaned daily with spare pillows/blankets available. All the staff where very helpfully at all times with no rudeness that others have mentioned.
The pool was very nice but smaller that the photos make you believe and bear in-mind the hotel caters for up. The rooftop pool with very nice but can get very hot and is adults only- worth a visit to get away from the kids
Bear in mind the hotels caters fro upto 800 so its busy !!
Food is basic but a full variety to cover most tastes and is a buffet self-service- again its busy and can take awhile to eat.
The pool bar is expensive 3.5 euros for a 330ml local beer so beware and the hotel bar has wow fully slow service.
Lift- these have a mind of there own- be patient
The best bit is the entertainment from the Animation team- best on the island.
Brilliantly coordinated by Phil with street dancers Didi,Mathew,LouLou,Diego, Frenchy and Angelica-pure fun and pleasure throughout the day with a 40 min evening show- not to be missed
Its a nice 4* hotel with a few teething issues but the entertainment makes up for it.

Room Tip: 6th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JayPeirson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear JayPeirson,

We thank you for your review. We will continue working hard to give the best service to our guests.

We hope we can welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Gordon Borg
E-Commerce and Online Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were a little concerned about staying here after reading such negative reviews, but need not have worried, the hotel is now 95% refurbished just little jobs being finished off. The San Antonio is definately family orientated so much to do for children of all ages. If you want to spend some time away from children then the 10th floor pool is perfect, no one under the age of 18 allowed up there. Food very plentiful catering for all tastes, Malta is a lovely friendly place who really love the British and are still so grateful for all our efforts during WW2. We will definately be back as you seem to get alot more for your euro than other countries in the EU.
Ignore the negative reviews give it a try.

Room Tip: sea view from the 3rd floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PandLOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear PandLOXforshire,

We would like to thank you for your review.

We hope we can welcome you again at our hotel.

Best Regards

Gordon Borg
E-Commerce & Online Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Forget all the reviews that you might have read about this hotel and go and book it and have a great time like we have just had. We booked a standard twin room with sea view but there was nothing standard about our room. The room was so comfortable and spacious more like a suite. The air conditioning was fantastic and the ceiling fans were great if you did not wish to leave the air con on during the night. We had a fantastic sea view and pool view and we had no problems with any noise during the night. The rooms were recently decorated and very clean and spacious, accompanied by tea and coffee facilities, table and chairs and extra seating areas and table in the hallway. There was a small fridge which is enclosed in a cupboard and this was a blessing as we needed to have cold drinks stored. Plenty of drawers to put stuff away and cupboard space. Balcony very comfortable- spacious enough to take one table and two chairs and still have room to walk around. We were on bed and breakfast as I have family in Malta and they would insist on us joining them for dinner. The breakfast was superb, everything that was hot was cooked and served hot and plenty of it and anything that is cold was fresh at all times, there was a huge selection of cereals, bread, yoghurt, cakes, cheeses, sliced meats, salad stuff. list is endless - fruit and I must not forget the freshly cooked pancakes, omelettes and hash browns. Lots of various drinks. Although the hotel was full, there was always enough room in the dining area which is huge and around the pools which are fantastic. The reception staff are outstanding and nothing is too much of a problem to them particularly a young lady called Donna. She was amazing. All in All - thank you San Antonio- 28/07/14 till 04/08/2014

Room Tip: go for Sea View - you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Boo52WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Boo52WalesUK,

We would like to thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service.

We hope we can welcome you again in the near future at our Hotel.

Best regards

Gordon Borg
E-Commerce & Online Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
806 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db San Antonio Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db San Antonio Hotel + Spa

Address: Triq it Turisti, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1024, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#2 Family Hotel in Qawra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £80 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db San Antonio Hotel + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, All-Inclusive, Malta, welcomes you in its newly refurbished Moorish style hotel in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea. It is one of the largest hotels in Malta with over 500 rooms and suites, a variety of restaurants, bars, fitness and Spa facilities in a Moorish style and outdoor pools overlooking the picturesque St. Paul's Bay. The hotel is situated in the northern part of the island of Malta, right in the heart of Qawra, St. Paul's Bay and at a walking distance to the sandy beach, bars, restaurants, casino, National Aquarium, public transport and other amenities including fashion outlets, commodities and services. db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, All-Inclusive, Malta, offers a relaxing environment that makes your stay in Malta an amazing experience. Starting from our outdoor pools and bars to enjoy the sun with family and friends, up to our spa treatments, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and our private Jacuzzi Sultan's Bath. You can start your day with a rich and varied buffet breakfast. For lunch and dinners, you have a choice of cuisines at the various restaurants and a coffee shop within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your db San Antonio Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Hotel And Spa
San Antonio Hotel Qawra
San Antonio Malta
San Antonio Hotel Malta
San Antonio Qawra
Db San Antonio Hotel + Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing