We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent hotel, good location, central for travelling. The refurb is stunning, the pool area is very nice plenty of sun beds which is always a bonus. The staff were lovely, housekeeping were brilliant. The room we stayed in was very spacious and clean. I think to summarise our stay I would say 'WOW'.
Thank you to all the staff and Donna who made my little boy very happy, he's fallen in love he's only 6 and already planning our next visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Claire C,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We love your comment with the word "WOW". Our staff works hard to make sure our hotel is a wow experience for our guests.

Whilst thanking you once more, we look forward to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Gordon Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,742
    976
    292
    91
    54
See reviews for
989
1,454
121
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Well I'm writing this review sitting on my terrace to my room wishing I was not leaving thus stunning hotel tomorrow!! Been here nearly 10 days now and from start to finish this hotel is by far one of the best I've stayed at with my family. The staff can't do enough for you the food is excellent and the hotel is spotlessly clean even the rooms are so nice and modern. Pool area fantastic and the animation team are brill , there entertainment they put on day and nite is great, so for all those who put negative things and moan about this hotel really can't see where your coming from be honest.work men everywhere????? We seen a couple at most finishing odd jobs but never in sight of any people and noise what noise !!! Load of cobblers! So def go here it's a must stay for us when we return next yr!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bazz2571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Bazz2571,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We look forward to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Gordon Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We're just departing this hotel and it's physically a nice hotel. I wouso say it's borderline 4 star facilities wise and the refurb is doing it some good

We stayed in room 216 which is a sea view room and is a decent size for my wife, my baby daughter and I

The good:
The cleaners never stop. It may be because of all the work but either way they have been great at our room
The entertainment team keep people who are interested occupied and are enthusiastic to the core

Prices - we stayed B and B but drink and food prices here are ok and fair

The pool is huge

The bad - the reception and management really are awful. They know very little about the area, they don't want to help with anything and are generally there to look pretty or mean depending on the time of day. This is a massive reason why this will never be a 4 star hotel

The lifts - we have spent at least 20 minutes a day waiting on a lift up go down one floor (with a pushchair). There not synced at all so you can get them all at once. There always full and regularly breaks down. Truly awful and woudnt be legal in the UK with the number of breakdowns

The pool area - huge area but not enough room or shade. They have tried but as they cram more and more people in it's only getting worse. Anything more than 6" between your bed and your lucky. Also adults frequent the main pool making it harder for families when there is a cracking adult only roof pool

Illness - I was I'll on holiday and had to go into hospital for 3 days. It was down kind of unpleasant virus and the dr told is that it's been all over the hotel and the resort. My wife saw an ill child throw up at breakfast whilst I was in hospital.
Now the sickness isn't the hotels fault as it's very clean but their lack of efforts to advise or recognise thAt it's going round the place is poor. I know it may damage an already fragile reputation but it's just not good enough.

Breakfast - plenty of choice but it like feeding time at the zoo where the waiting staff don't know whether to lay or clear your table. Very unorganised and they constantly run out of cups for example

The room is nice and modern. The TV choice is awful, truly shocking really for an international hotel. One English speaking channel (yes I know we're abroad). The balconies aren't massive and you would struggle to have more than two people on them but the sea view did have a sea view buy also a view of the builders works

Timeshare salesmen stalk the place like flies round s£&it. Why anyone would have a timeshare here is beyond me. The rooms must be stunning for anyone to commit long term to them. Or the people taking them haven't stayed anywhere of decent quality. I dread to think how long it would take to get a lift to them too (7th to 10th floor apparently)


The resort itself is functional and ok. Not overly pretty or ugly and oh can eat reasonably cheaply with sown decent quality and some average Brit fodder.

We have actually had a good holiday but i woudnt recommend this as a 4 star in afraid. It's a 3 at most until their customer service improves significantly and they get the basics sorted

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank bedfordspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Bedfordspurs,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable holiday. We are also pleased to hear that the hotel was up to your liking, as well as the service provided by our room attendants and the animation team.

We are very sorry to hear that you were unwell and that you had to spend 3 days in hospital. Unfortunately, we were not informed with your case and we did not have any other reports of sickness or illness. In fact, our hotel provides the service of Doctor on call when medical attention is required by our guests. It would have been our pleasure to assist you further and assure that you had all the medical assistance and support needed.

As regard to the lifts, we had only one out of 7 lifts which required maintenance service. This was fixed within 24 hours and the situation came back to normal the day after.

Our hotel provides over 40 TV channels of which more than 7 channels are in English. We feel that they are sufficient, for the time our guests spend in their room.

Furthermore, as you mentioned in your review, our hotel is fully functioning and everyday we continue to work hard to deliver the best possible service to our guests.

Kind Regards

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family and I have literally just got back from our stay at the San Antonio hotel and spa. We were a party of 8 and varied in age from 6 to 50 something. We spent a week all inclusive and all we can say is "wow". What a fabulous time we all had. The staff from reception, housekeeping, bar and restaurant could not do enough for us. The entertainment staff certainly did what they were there to do and that was entertain. We enjoyed ourselves that much that I am in the process of booking again for next year. We have never stayed in such a friendly environment. Even the people in the area made us feel truly welcome. Our rooms were spotlessly clean with fresh towels everyday, the dining room was the same and the food was outstanding, the staff were very efficient and the tables were cleaned instantly. The poolside bar staff were always very efficient and friendly even at the most busy periods. All in all I can honestly say this has been our best family holiday by far. I read previous reviews and was a little sceptical however this has made me think never listen to others and make your own judgement. The great thing about this hotel is that it caters for all, families around the lower pools and if you are there to relax then there is the rooftop pool for adults only. There was still a little building work going on but never once did it disturb us and even the workmen spoke friendly when passing by.
Thank you to everyone at the San Antonio hotel and spa for making our holiday a truly fantastic one. I never thought we would book the same place twice but you sold it to us. See you again next year.
Lisa.

Room Tip: All rooms were very modern, clean and tidy. We had an inland view but still could see the sea from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waynesangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Waynesangel,

What an honour for all of us here at db San Antonio to read your comments, review and recommendations. It is our everyday goal that our guests have a "wow" experience at our hotel, as you well explained. All the staff is working hard to give the best to whoever walks in our hotel which your review is testimony to this.

We will share your review with our staff and we look forward to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just come back from a two weeks holiday from here the hotel was fantastic. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. The receptioni staff are so calm and always smiling .Donna is fantastic. Can't do enough for you We stayed on half board .The food is great too. Especially the Maltese evening.It is a family hotel the pools are good. They have evening entertainment , The Animation Team they have are fantastic. If you do go with children you will find that once they have seen the Animation Team they won't want to go sight seeing. The hotel is in a great location beach bars shops and bus terminal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Julie N,

Thank you for acknowledging our staff and their work. We passed your message to them.

We are working hard to continue giving the best to our guest and we hope we can host you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here for 4 days , and it was great no complaints views can be good, pool is good, it is a hotel for families and couples though, don't go on your own.
there are numerous shops nearby and a five min walk to a beach.
Donna on reception deserves a mention as the most calm and helpful person i have met in a while.

Room Tip: air con was excellent,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
4 Thank carloseskobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Carloseskobar,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are happy to hear that you had a great 4 day break and we hope we can host you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Gordon Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at the San Antonio. My family and I really enjoyed it. A very nice hotel, lovely pool. The family room was great and cleaned every day. We stayed B and B and the food was good with lots of choice. The hotel is also in a great location near to beach, bars etc and the bus terminal, easy to get around the island and cheap to travel on buses.
I would recommend this hotel and we will be booking again. A great stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHotel, Public Relations Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Joanne B,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can host you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Gordon Borg
E-Commerce & Online Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
4.4 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db San Antonio Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db San Antonio Hotel + Spa

Property: db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Address: Triq it Turisti, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1024, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#2 Family Hotel in Qawra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db San Antonio Hotel + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, All-Inclusive, Malta, welcomes you in its newly refurbished Moorish style hotel in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea. It is one of the largest hotels in Malta with over 500 rooms and suites, a variety of restaurants, bars, fitness and Spa facilities in a Moorish style and outdoor pools overlooking the picturesque St. Paul's Bay. The hotel is situated in the northern part of the island of Malta, right in the heart of Qawra, St. Paul's Bay and at a walking distance to the sandy beach, bars, restaurants, casino, National Aquarium, public transport and other amenities including fashion outlets, commodities and services. db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, All-Inclusive, Malta, offers a relaxing environment that makes your stay in Malta an amazing experience. Starting from our outdoor pools and bars to enjoy the sun with family and friends, up to our spa treatments, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and our private Jacuzzi Sultan's Bath. You can start your day with a rich and varied buffet breakfast. For lunch and dinners, you have a choice of cuisines at the various restaurants and a coffee shop within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your db San Antonio Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Hotel And Spa
San Antonio Hotel Qawra
San Antonio Malta
San Antonio Hotel Malta
San Antonio Qawra
Db San Antonio Hotel + Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing