We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$586
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$770
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$736
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,384)
Filter reviews
4,384 results
Traveller rating
2,383
1,395
405
123
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,383
1,395
405
123
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaginekosy barmain restaurantanimation teamcafe marocinfinity poolgueliz restaurantsky barpirate shipthe buschoice of restaurantssea viewfantastic hotelchinese restaurantkids clubmain poolevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 4,384 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked in on the 4th of June just gone, we went up to the room which was furnished with two single beds when we had booked a double bed. I went back down to reception and informed them of the problem, they said there will be a hotel rep up to see us within the next ten minutes, the rep never arrived that day or for the remainder of our holiday for that matter.
We used the shower that evening and the water was leaking out from under the shower tray onto the bathroom floor, the same thing happened the next morning, the bathroom was also getting steamed up because the extract fan was not working, I reported both faults to reception, they said it would be seen to that day, but nothing was done. Next morning I reported the said faults to reception again, when we came back to our room that evening there was a note on the room table from the maintenance team informing us they had repaired the faults, if only it was true, none of the faults were corrected. The next morning I reported the faults again (3rd time) and nothing was done, no faults repaired, we were very, very disappointed as this hotel has a good reputation.
However I hate to finish on a sour note so I will tell you what we liked about the hotel, the food in all the restaurants was top class, the hotel facilities were excellent especially the spa, overall we enjoyed our stay its just a pity that the hotel could not rectify the faults we reported.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Fenian007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHot... M, Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Fenian007,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for entrusting us on your first visit to the Maltese Islands.

We are thoroughly disappointed to read that the maintenance issues that you reported for repairs were not attended even when reported 3 times. It is effeminately unacceptable and our standard to attend to issues within 24hrs maximum.

We have addressed this issue to our Chief Engineer to ensure that the issue is not repeated.

Looking for to meet you on your next visit to Malta.

Regards,




Jonathan Pisani
Assistant General Manager
E: jpisani@dbhotelsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was very nice and friendly. Room great! Had an inland view but we could see the sea from our balcony. Kids club staff was ok only. Tried to see if my daughter wanted to go but staff was just ok and my daughter didn't want to stay. Negative was also that ice-cream wasn't included at the pool bar in all inclusive so had an disappointed daughter. The transfer made both me and my daughter car sick both to the hotel and back to the airport. No air condition in the transfer taxis and not good drivers. But would recommend the hotel if anyone wants to visit Malta and I hope that they can fix these points that I stated.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank HelenaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHot... M, Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear HelenaPreston,

A big 'Thank you' from all the DB San Antonio Hotel+ Spa team for sharing your wonderful experience with us on TripAdvisor. We confirm that the scooping ice-cream was all on all-inclusive whilst the branded ice-cream was at a charge.

We apologise if you had an inconvenience with the transport its definitely unacceptable not to have air-condition and not having good drivers, we confirm that the management will follow this up not to be repeated.

We look forward to welcome you back at your earliest. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for future reservations.

Best Regards,



Jonathan Pisani
Assistant General Manager
E: jpisani@dbhotelsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well where to begin! Db San Antonio hotel is a conveniently located resort, mere yards from the waterfront in St Paul’s. Whilst the promenade has unfortunately clearly been adapted to the ‘British taste’ (resembling almost something near to Blackpool rather than Malta) the hotel has clearly been designed in a better aesthetic. Elegant, clean and well run, the hotel facilities were luxurious and pleasant to use.
In terms of food, there are four options available — 3 of them being buffets.
The main restaurant being available for breakfast lunch and dinner, a good array of foods available, sometimes over seasoned but largely palatable.
Good Pool facilities on offer with a more lively downstairs main pool for families with young children, whilst a more calm pool and bar adult only area was available on the top floor with panoramic views of the bay. Gym facilities were excellent and a much recommended visit given the vast quanity of food you will inevitably consume!
All in all a good trip rather than excellent/amazing and here’s why:
1. Variation in drinks limited, no classic cocktails. Cheap booze. If there were better drinks on offer people would be prepared to pay extra but sadly nothing.
2. No water fountain in gym — borderline dangerous.
3. Very poor air conditioning in the rooms. Basic.
4. In terms of bedding only given sheets not duvets. A combination of this and the point above ensured that we didn’t get one good nights sleep.

Besides these minor points this hotel is a very well run establishment and our stay was overall pleasant. We would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHot... M, Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Daniel M,

We thank you for placing such a positive review about your stay on TripAdvisor. It is very pleasing to read such positive feedback and we strive harder to achieve even better as guests satisfaction is at the heart of all we do here at DB San Antonio Hotel + Spa.

We now look forward to welcome you back at the earliest.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for future reservations.



Best Regards,



Jonathan Pisani
Assistant General Manager
E: jpisani@dbhotelsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I visited San Antonio 10th June having been before 2 yrs ago,and this time was even better they did not disappoint.Fantastic service from all members of staff.
From the restaurants coffee shop reception and house keeping who all worked very hard to bring us this impeccable service well done.
The room was just as we asked high floor with outstanding views with a sunny disposition.
Food absolutely fantastic so many choices breakfasts fabulous Well done to the chefs at the Gueliz restaurant and to the lovely lady who made my porridge every day.
Animation team who worked so hard to bring us entertainment on an evening so professional and enjoyable to watch dancers superb.
Nothing was to much trouble at the San Antonio staff exceptional ,all in all we had a wonderful holiday and would highly recommend this great Hotel .

Room Tip: pool view/seaview
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We never review hotels, but felt compelled to do so on this occasion. We read the TripAdvisor reviews of this hotel and thought it sounded great. BEWARE - the reviews about this hotel are misleading!!

I fully appreciate that this hotel is 100% some people’s cup of tea. But we want to warn other people who are like ourselves that they should be aware of the type of holiday they are buying, as we feel like we didn’t get value for money.

Everything about this hotel was underwhelming, and we’ve included the main points below:

- Location - right in the centre of a ‘Little Britain’ type area. The edge of the pool is right next to a road and the majority of the view from any angle was ‘industrial’ to say the least!

- Staff - the majority of the staff look depressed and like they don’t want to be there. I can’t say I blame them but this has not been the case in all the other hotels we’ve ever stayed in!

- Food - whilst not awful, the number of restaurants was part of the reason we chose the hotel. Please don’t make your decision based on this. It was OK....at a push.

- Drinks - I have never been on an all inclusive holiday where I haven’t got accidentally tipsy by the pool! We struggled to get over the drink drive limit with a full day of drinking here - poor choice of drinks and very watered down. Coffee in the Cafe Maroc was OK but coffee at breakfast was undrinkable.

Rooms - the rooms were OK, we were unfortunate to have a balcony overlooking the street but that was our own fault. The shower was poor and the air conditioning was shocking.

All in all, I’m sure many of these are first world problems, but this hotel does not deserve a 4.5 rating on TripAdvisor!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank DebbieStares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbSanAntonioHot... M, Manager at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear DebbieStares,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on www.tripadvisor.com. We value your constructive comments and opinions but we tend to disagree with your rating.

We have two outdoor pools that overlook St. Paul's Island whilst the one on the 10th floor has a 360degree view. The Management appreciates all the hard work of all of our employees and we value their comments. We speak to our employees on everyday basis and we guarantee that we listen and follow up on their comments too.

Most of our employees have been employed for more then 15 years.

Once again we thank you for your constructive comments and we apologise if we did not meet your expectations.

Should you decide to return to Malta please contact me directly at DB San Antonio on jpisani@dbhotelsresorts.com

Best Regards,




Jonathan Pisani
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews