We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, reasonable price, excellent service”
Review of Il Palazzin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Palazzin Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This was an excellent choice to stay in Palazzin Hotel.The room was clean and quiet. It had everything that's needed to lay the head down for a couple of nights; no frills though.
Staff was very helpful, there was no problem with extending the check-out time either. Breakfasts served at hotel's restaurant were very rich, much better than we'd expected for such a low price.
If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a good connection with the rest of the island, this one should meet your expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kspr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2009

just come back from a week at the il palazzin clean big comfy rooms the staff are friendly and helpful when there was a problem with the hire car they rang the hire firm and helped us sort it out the breakfast was very varied to suit all tastes nice and peaceful at night had a sea view as requested thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will definately return

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firewalker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Just got back from 10 nights half board in the Il Palazzin.

The rooms were clean and not a bad size, the wind howled through our balcony door the first couple of nights, and there wa a constant garggling noise form the bathroom, we found leaving the plugs in all the time helped to reduce the noise. The extracter fan wa a tiny window, so the bathroom did get very stuffy.

The staff on reception were ok, it would have been nice to have had a more infomative welcome, we were bacically given the key and left to it.

The room had a fridge which we had to pay 2euro per day rent for which we thought was a cheek. The safe also 2 euro per day.

I dont think many english stay here, there was maybe 2 other english couples that we saw there,

Our sea view was not bad, spolied a little by the other hotels air con units on the hotel tops.

The outdoor pool was small, and not in a good place to get the sun, most of the day it was in the shade.

The smaller indoor pool was a waste of time, tiny kids may enjoy it though.

The gym was comical, 3 peices of equipment which didnt look like it worked or was safe.


Some good points though!!

The hotel is located close to sereral bars and restaurants and to the sea front. It is also a short walk to the bus terminus once you work out how to get to it, the bus terminus is a popular place fro timeshare touts though, we just told them we had already won 2 holidays this morining.

The roof top was nice to catch a bit of sun and we had it to ourselves most of the time

The breakfast was ok and the evening meal pretty good too, a good choice of food.

The room also were clean, fresh towels daily

Im sure they are better hotels to stay in and i would'nt stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank merlot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Il Palazzin in July and can honestly say that we had a lovely time. The hotel is not, as many have already stated a four star status by British standards, but it is a high 3 star. The location of the hotel is just close enough to the main strip to be central, but far away enough to enable you to get some peace at night. The sea front is about 5 minutes slow walk away and the large Bugibba/Qawra bus terminal (with plenty of restaurants and shops) a gentle 10 minute amble. It's a simple route to the bus station, but unless you've got a map or good directions you won't find it first time.

The staff are very willing to help in whichever way they can, although they are a little shy sometimes until you approach them. This is not a fault, so much as indicative of the Maltese people who have a reserved dignity when you first meet them, which quickly mellows into a genuine warmth.

The rooms are spacious and although basically furnished, very very clean. The towels were changed everyday and although the bed was made daily, the sheets were not changed while we were there. The bathroom, though again basic, was very clean and both the shower and bath were in good working order. There were some minor repairs needed in the room - some rust round the plughole, the aerial socket needed fixing into the wall properly - but we understand that repairs were continuing daily and we certainly saw evidence of that.

All rooms have balconies and we had a nice view over the med and the pool. The outdoor pool is small, but it was just enough to splash about in to cool down. Large free designated swimming areas in the Med were just 10 minutes away and there are lidos all over the place so you are not short of places to swim. Even at its busiest time, the roped off swimming zones were never close to being full and the depth ranged from waist height to a good 15ft or so. The crystal clear water gave you the chance to see the various fish who didn't seem the least bit shy of swimmers (snorkel sets of various quality were available in dozens of the shops). The hotel states that there is a gym and 2 pools. This is a slight exaggeration I feel, as the indoor pool is on the top floor sun terrace and is more like a rather large bath and the gym equipment doesn't look very safe.

The breakfast was adequate and we felt it catered well for guests used to continental breakfast. There are not a lot of British tourists at the hotel and that was actually quite nice as there were lots of different cultures. However you do get the feeling that this hotel is not used to dealing with demanding Brits!! The evening meal was adequate but not particularly appetising. With so many restaurants catering to a variety of budgets it was our favourite part of each day to wander about in the warm evening air to choose where we'd have dinner. In the end we kept going back to 'The Overlow' 5 minutes walk towards the bus station, which served enormous portions of beautifully cooked food for a stupidly low price compared to other restaurants.

The hotel staff were absolutely wonderful to us and anything we asked for was quickly granted, but you've got to ask. Service is rarely volunteered and they wait to be asked, but this is common with the rest of the islands, service is reactive rather than proactive. Don't mistake it for rudeness or laziness, it seems to be more like dignified respect. The air conditioning was not, as some in past reviews have mentioned, only on at certain times of the day. It could be controlled in the room from light breeze to arctic and without this the stay would have been unbearable as the weather was very very hot (our fault though, we chose that time of year to go and we knew it would be scorching).

There were things that could improve the service and we made some suggestions to the manager before we left. He was very responsive and I get the feeling that at the Il Palazzin they are really trying to get the balance right. There is a need perhaps for an injection of cash into the hotel just to bring a few minor details up to standard but we would not hesitate to go back there again. We had a fridge in the room and a safe (chargeable but a nice sturdy one) and a TV although we did not even switch it on so could not say if it was working or not. There is a lack of plug sockets in the room though so if you rely on things like hairdryers (although there is one on the wall in the room, it is not very powerful) and electric toothbrushes beware you may run out of sockets. Take a multi-socket adaptor perhaps; also they are 2 pin sockets at the hotel even though the voltage is the same, so you'll need an adaptor.
All in all it is exceptional value for money and a really pleasant stay on a really beautiful island.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cymrucath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We just returned from Qawra and we stayed here. The hotel is nice and clean, not really 4 star, but nice. Our room was big enough, every day they came and change the towels, clean the room. The breakfast is continental and very good compared to other places: ham, cheese, yoghurt (with and without fruits), vegetables, fruit salad, juice, butter, cofee...etc etc. The sausages though were not so good, so skip them Large swiming pool, quiet area. (We stayed at 4th floor.) The furniture is a bit old, but the view was sweet.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamonaCuciuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I'm not sure who gave this hotel 4 stars, but its not up to international 4 stars. It was clean, there was nothing in the room to tell you what was on offer, we found out that there was internet connection in the lobby, we found out half way through the week we could rent a fridge. the breakfast was OK but for this rating, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge would be the norm. I don't think I'd visit this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eb411492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

I booked 2 twin rooms after researching on the net for reviews about this hotel, as I found a decent package holiday on lastminute. Seeing some 1 star and some 5 star reviews, I decided to gamble as I wasn't looking for luxury, just a clean and relatively comfortable place to stay for a few nights. It was not a gamble worth taking.

We arrived at 2am because our flight was delayed, and so were unable to do anything when they told us that the 4 of us were all sharing a room, despite having booked 2 and had to get it sorted in the morning. So we all had to share the one bathroom and it was 3.15 before we got to bed. It turned out that the staff all seemed confused about what was going on, were we told we had booked 2 rooms but our printed hotel voucher said it was one room, which I corrected them on and the receptionist said she would get onto our agency about the mix up which I doubt she ever did as we never heard anything regarding them ever again and our holiday rep hadn't heard anything.

The rooms, although clean and decent enough had mattresses which you sank into like giant marshmallows, really old bedding and exposed sharp edges on the bottom of a couple of the smaller beds which I scraped the backs of my legs on everytime I went to get something from the wardrobe because the beds were just squeezed into the space. The food was also dull as people have commented on already, dinner which we dared try on the first night was abyssmal - lukewarm burnt pasta and bizarre tasting aubergine. Yet we would've forgiven all this if we didn't get some appalling attitude from a particular receptionist.

My friend and her son were given their own room the following day, but the air conditioning didn't work. When we told the member of staff this she said that it just needed to be left on longer to kick in, so it was and still nothing. When my friend went down to complain the receptionist said yeah it doesn't work, she could give her a fan for the night and noone would come to fix it until the next day; she'd already given us good service for a room we weren't entitled to as we'd only booked one and if she didn't like it she could go back to our 4 person room. So not only was she a liar but she had the worst attitude, I don't even know why she works in hospitality. She wouldn't give her name when asked and only said the manager wasn't in when he was asked for. The fan was brought and the air con fixed but then both only worked on one setting and it was still too hot for sleeping properly through the night. My friend's son then slept in our room because of the heat in their room, which was not ideal because us two women needed to get changed and everything.

Some members of staff did try to help (not that woman of course) so I give them credit for that, but after that 1st day the stay was pretty much ruined as we were afflicted by paranoia that staff who hated us had access to all of our stuff during the day.

Positives were the location of the hotel, it was very close to a bus terminus; proximity to many restaurants although most serve only pizza, pasta and grill and you have to look around for more local fare; access to the beautiful sea was also good. We enjoyed seeing the island, but the experience was marred by the hotel debacle and I urge you all to STAY THE HELL AWAY!! Spend your hard-earned cash elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanamogeraed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.1 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzin Hotel

Address: R Loria Street | near St. Pauls Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £12 - £2,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Il Palazzin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzin
Il Palazzin Hotel Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing