We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management dont listen”
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Management dont listen”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Arrived early waited for room no problem. Have stayed at this hotel twice before last visit 12 months ago. Got to room on fourth floor, very small no room to move about or space for cases. It was very smelly had requested non smoking but it smelt like an ash tray. Tried to open balcony door to let in fresh air could not open it. Husband managed to get it open a bit then it wouldnt open or close. Problem with toilet didnt flush properly. In corner position never getting any sun. We requested a pool view this was on our booking but never got one instead facing pubs across the street.Requested room change told to come back next day did go back told to come back next day. Requested they fix balcony door and they said they would change the curtains ....... still waiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jedlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    432
    422
    333
    354
See reviews for
358
848
123
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

we arrived at around 9pm on 6th October 2013, no greeting , just told to fill in the necessary forms, no help with luggage to our room. could not believe you had to hire tea making facilities,
really disappointed to the changes from when we were here 8 years ago. we did get clean towels every day, was only offered bed change once for the 10 days we here. my husband had left a pair of shorts on the bed, while we where out for the day the cleaners had been in to clean the room, on our return we found that bleach had been spilt on the shorts which was quite noticeable, the manager wouldn't discus the matter, he said " we could not prove it had happened while staying at the canifor", as if you would take bleach stained clothes on holiday, angry didn't come close. I could go on and on but would not know where to stop. when we went to check out it was just, OK DONE BYE. customer service was none existence, NEEDLESS TO SAY WE WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amlithco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

alderney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

stayed at this hotel for 7 nights the room was very nice the house keepers do a good job the only thing is some of the staff could smile a bit more if i ever go back to malta i would stay at this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alderneyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is my third time staying in the Qawra/st pauls area and the third different hotel. I stay as part of a large group doing conservation work on the island twice a year.
Overall the hotel room was comfortable, although some nights were noisier than others due to the bars in the street below. Food was much the same as I've had in Maltese hotels before, average at best.
All the staff were pleasant and cheerful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jontread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Myself, my partner & 4 family members booked this hotel 2 weeks prior to arriving as we had to change our holiday location last minute. We knew that 4* abroad means 3* so didn't have high expectations. We arrived at roughly 12 noon and were told that we wouldn't be staying at the rooms but in the apartments instead (not sure why).. However, because of the mix-up we were upgraded to all inclusive (previously half board) so we were delighted. The apartments were pretty much exactly how I imagined them to be quality wise but were big - myself & my partner were in room 403 - large bathroom and an extra area for a small living room, fridge and kitchen facilities. We had air conditioning and had absolutely no problems with our room bar the shower which, although a strong enough jet, tended to fly about occasionally!! Only complaint was my parents room smelt very strongly of smoke but seeing that 90% of the clientele had some sort of emphysema / chronic cough it was understandable!!!

We were shown to our apartments by some sort of head-of-housekeeping (?) by a small, brisk, older woman who was extremely rude and who seemed to be arguing with staff all day every day so she was a major downer!

The food was another issue I had been worried about - but it was fine. I'm vegetarian so unfortunately there wasn't much selection in the main hot meals. It took us a few days to spot a vegetarian menu and I saw a tomato pasta on it so ordered that one night but it seemed to cause lots of confusion as if I was asking for some specially made meal. A friendly chef came out later sporting what could only be described as a pasta cake(!!) which he seemed very proud of but unfortunately was disgusting!! It seemed to also contain some sort of unidentifiable meat(!!) and had a red sauce with a few random peas on top!!! We did have a good laugh about it though! The chef did mention to tell the staff in the morning the next day so a meal could be prepared which I thought was odd as they do display a menu! Always managed to find something though!

The pool area was small but hardly anyone ever used it so it was good having a pool to ourselves half the time!

However, good points aside - this hotel does have a major issue: FULL OF OAP'S!! As mentioned before with the chronic coughing and smoking, they seem to be everywhere, including elbowing you out of the way at breakfast!! This gave the hotel a cruise-ship feel and don't even mention the evening entertainment!! Crooners galore!! So my advice would be that, if, like us, you want a good "base camp" to sleep, eat & go this hotel is great but certainly not my for entertainment! Thankfully Malta had lots to offer us and were very impressed with the country for the 1st time visiting!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nlreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmoth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The first apartment we were given we named at the cells . We paid for all inclusive . No air con unless we paid for it . Apartment was disgusting . They moved us to a better apartment after complaining the following day which was alot better but not great . Inclusive here is not brilliant . If you had lunch you had no snacks . The local spirits awfull . The food was ok but nothing special . Breakfast the same every day . The pool was a joke what pool . So small didnt use it at all . Staff very friendly and helpful . Location brilliant fot the bus station . Malta is lovely would go back but never to this hotel / apartments . Note to owner put your hand in your pocket and spend money bringing it up to the 4 star standard you claim it is .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sjt1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked the hotel back in May 2013. We booked 3 single rooms at Canifor Hotel in Buggiba, Malta. When we showed up the receptionist informed us that there was some misterious event that happened the night prior to our arrival and due to that they need to run some kind of maintenance in our rooms so we cannot stay there. They told us not to worry since they already had booked rooms for us in their other hotel with the same quality.

When I asked them to show us the rooms that are supposed to be under maintenance they failed to show them. (Later on we met a few other tourists who were told the same story a week before.) Even after argument we couldn't have or rooms. So we had to go to their other hotel named Coral Hotel. Once we got there we realized that it not the same quality at all. It is a 3 star hotel that is very old, loud and lousy in general with significantly poorer service level.

We had to move back to Canifor Hotel after the first night. Even in that hotel the rooms were in bad condition (shower didn't work in one of the rooms, TV in the other, toilet in the third), and they failed to repaire all malfunctions fully. Also, there was no free internet connection in the rooms nevertheless the information on their web site indicates so.

We wanted to have the guest complaint book and the contact info of the national tourictic office but they denied to give them or cooperate with us at all.

Despite of the fact that we didn't get what we were promissed they were keep on telling us lies.

We didn't got any realistic compensation after all.

Room Tip: Don't choose Hotel Canifor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Onthebeach, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing