We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Complaints Whatsoever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No Complaints Whatsoever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned after 2wks at the Canifor and can't wait to be back.It's fair to say we went not knowing what to expect after reading all the bad reviews but we needn't have worried at all.Room nice and clean with maids coming in every day to clean,make beds and fresh towels etc.Lots of choice at evening meal always coming away well satisfied.Staff were pleasant and very accommodating.Good central location with entertainment and bus station close by.Our first time in Malta, loved every minute of it and counting the days to go back and will be staying at the Canifor again.All i can say to the negative reviewers is if you want 5 star then go pay double the price of this very decent hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BryandLanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    412
    404
    322
    343
See reviews for
348
817
118
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My Mum and myself stayed at this hotel for 15 nights 20th May - 4th June, All Inclusive and had a blast thanks to the staff. They were all polite, pleasant and great fun!!! On arrival at the hotel at 12.30 we were told the rooms would not be ready until 2 pm but could go for Lunch in the Restaurant and was pleasantly surprised at the variety catering for everyone (the chips where the best I've ever had).The Hotel itself was clean but the rooms a bit tired, we where given a double room which when we complained was given a twin straight away. The maids did an excellent job every day and fresh towels on a daily basis. The evening entertainment was a bit dated and ok for the over 50's mostly 60's 70's music, Danny J. DeVito was a hoot, something not to be missed. Friday and Saturday evenings the locals come in to dance so you need to get seats early in the upstairs bar. Location of the Hotel being with in walking distance Buggiba Bus station, shops and the Seafront. The only fault I can really find is that the jacuzzi on the Sun terrace was not working, even though they were working on this at the time and only one of the showers was working. We are looking to book another stay in this Hotel Sept/Oct 14

Room Tip: Pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Evonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having just spent a week at this hotel I took on board what other reviews said and went with an open mind. The canifor hotel proved to be a pretty decent place and I would definitely go again. Rated 4 star on websites, you kind of take with a pinch of salt, all hotels get the rating if they carry the required services (e/g fitness equipment sauna etc etc) this by English standards is a three star and malta standard a four. What the individual wants from a holiday is pretty much dependant on your budget. This for me was a clean we'll run hotel with a friendly approachable attitude. Food was varied and adequate but as with all taste buds not for everyone - hubby hates hard potatoes and they were our and other guests main topic of conversation. overall we paid a very good price and value for money was given. Entertainment is somewhat dated with the over 50's we'll catered for its relaxing and easy listening all the way -the bar man may Shake you into action on karaoke Mondays with his marvellous antics and crowd pleasing banter. If your on a budget and paying three star malta ratings weigh up your options and if you can budget for a 4 star option consider paying a little a more for this hotel it will be worth it.
O note to remember balcony doors lock when shut so remember to click the handle inside if you sit out - unlike me who just pulled shut and was locked out and could not get back into the room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ddees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My friend and I stayed in this hotel from very late on 20th - 27th May 2014. On arrival we found it to be quite pleasent & check in went very smoothly. Room was very clean & remained our whole stay. we were all inclusive which would highly recommend although the dinner was not the best.

Bar staff etc were all very pleasent.

One major issue we found, although didnt affect us was the lack of ramps for people with disabilities.


All in all hotel room was kept very clean but would definatley need redecoration, particularly the rooms bathroom which was v tatty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Before going to the Canifor and after reading some of the negative reviews, I was concerned. I can only say these reviewers must have been to a different hotel. Our stay was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms and amenities were very good, cleanliness was first rate, the rooms were cleaned every day and linen and towels replaced daily. As far as we were concerned, the food was really good, especially dinner. There was a great selection of British, Maltese and Mediterranean meat, fish and vegetables with a superb salad selection. (Perhaps it didn't appeal to the meat and two veg brigade).

It was certainly great value and with the proximity of the Bus Terminus it was a great base for visiting this lovely Island and meeting its friendly and hospitable people. We will certainly be staying at the Canifor again.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had never been to malta before, yes we loved it people really nice.
the hotel canifor in which we stopped was very pleasant , staff really helpful, meals quite good something different each dinner time, yes bedding was a but worn but clean, towels changed everyday, we were halfboard and for what it cost we cannot complain, you get what you paid for, yes we would go back, beware of time holiday share people around this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west/yorks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

YOU CANNOT GO FARE WRONG BY STAYING AT THIS HOTEL , GREAT BASE FOR GETTING AROUND . BUS STATION VERY NEAR BY, AND A WK BUS PASS ONLY 6.50 euro' + there.s a tour bus red route and a green route the out door pools are small . great swimming at golden bay , the food was very good and to our liking , and was clean, and the main thing the food was hot

Room Tip: the apartments was ok we stopped there plenty of room , the main hotels was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mickeyfinn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia and Booking.com so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing