We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canifor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We were very happy that this hotel was only a place to sleep.
Although some of the staff were friendly & helpful it didn't make up for the "all inclusive".
My advice would be to order of off the snack menu, or eat & drink out!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth L, General Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay with us. I am disappointed that you did not have more positive remarks concerning our hotel property.
We do appreciate your business, and will do our best in order to keep it!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    417
    409
    326
    344
See reviews for
350
827
119
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We go to Malta all the time staying in and around the qawra area. But lets get one thing clear Malta's 4 star is our 3 if not 2+. so don't be surprised if its not up to scratch , this was our first time hear and we stayed on 5th floor with seaveiw ( as ever extra ) never heard anyone complain about cockroaches ect it was cleaned ever day and bed changed end of week. Smallish but fine for two adults. Booked here because of the price and as we speak will book again due to the price. Some people moan about everything and yes I could too but if you want to pay more money for others then I can assure you you wont get much better other than maybe food choice. Small pool but never a problem getting beds as it seems to be a few elderly staying . Students yes but more like school trips due to age and their are teachers with them and the don't drink . but their in ever hotel I've been in Malta but French and many other countries that frequent are way better behaved than ours so that's just another moan, Some people have a problem locking doors but seriously its simple another moan, They have a sister Hotel the coral they might offer you free upgrade too swap between hotels Coral is smaller but better pool but other than that its eetchey peachy, Almost zero crime so security is not an issue never in any of the hotels have I felt the need for a safe. If you want to hire a car make it from hotel they will make you pay for full waver cover TRUST ME ITS A MUST others just as you for you bank card in case of bumps BIG HOLE there. so here goes
Room 7 / 10
food 7 / 10
staff 8 / 10
location 10 / 10
Top tips if you don't have kids try B&B or self catering lots of places to eat and it is cheap 4 euros get a breki tea and toast. portions are big have a look.


.

Room Tip: You know the rules the more you want the more you pay seaview is nice and get the sun from about 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alphabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth L, General Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the company, I would like to thank you for your time to put a review about our business and also thank you for your positive feedback. We always try our best to please each and every guest. It is our duty to fulfill guests expectations, We look forward to your next visit and always our pleasure to serve you at the Canifor Hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Would have been a four star hotel back in the 1980's but not worthy of the rating now. We arrived at Hotel and our room was not ready so were told to come back in an hour,....which we did but room still not ready. We were finally given key to room three hours after we arrived...the cleaner was still in our room when we got there she showed us how to lock our room. Food was strange to say the least we were suprised that there was no fresh fruit as we were all inclusive we found this unusual.We paid to have a safe in our room but once our money ,passports ,phones and cameras were in there and safe locked it wouldnt unlock again and the maintainance man had gone home so we had to go a day and night without our money etc . On a possitive note our waiter Charlie was a lovely Gentleman .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth L, General Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to review our property. We try each and everyday to please our clients and with regards to your comments, we will look into these matters further and discuss with our personnel. Whilst apologizing for any inconvenience caused, we wish to serve you again at the Canifor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

What can I say about Hotel Canifor? We were originally booked at Coral Hotel in Buggiba, as we arrived at the Coral hotel we were moved to hotel Canifor and was told that we will be in 4 star hotel so me and my family were really happy. As we came to the hotel our room would not lock and went to Reception desk for help all she did was gave me a spare key and said try this and it should work. I tried the spare key and it did not work so I asked to change room and was told it is not possible then they send their worker to have a look at the lock on the door and all it was is to press the knob from inside to lock the door.

Unfortunately staff were not very helpful. The hotel rooms were clean and reasonably spacious. We had two rooms twin and triple both were good. The food was ok but for vegetarian they did not have much choice, however the chef made an effort to make good vegetarian food. The staff in the kitchen/dining were really good.

The location of this hotel is very good yet very quiet. If you take children they might get bored. Overall I would say it is a good hotel but definitely not 4 star.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were quiet, we were on 4th floor so it was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virdeejoshna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth L, General Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I do apologize for the issues that you encountered while staying with us, and can assure you that I have taken steps to correct the situation. Furthermore, thank you for your time and wish to serve you once again at the Canifor


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Family of 4 (kids 11&13) in a small room, balcony to suit a cat, just! view of........nothing, except next doors balcony!
Food was bearly passable, no fresh fruit, luckily we were only b&b, dread to think what AI was like.
Hotel is very run down, needs a good update. Bathroom had a mouldy shower curtain, wardrobe was falling apart. Wifi was non existent.
Air con was a ceiling fan at one end of the room!
We had to pay for the use of the fridge, safe and TV on arrival.

Staff however were pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth L, General Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I do apologize for the issues that you encountered while staying with us, and can assure you that I have taken steps to correct the situation.
I would be pleased to discuss this with you further, at a time that is convenient to you. Once again, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you are going to stay at the Canifor, PLEASE take notice of the Traveller photos - We should have,
It is NOT 4 STAR more like 2 star.
We booked in during the night and the treatment we received from the reception staff was awful, we were not helped, in fact we were not even told how to lock the door! A fellow traveller showed us 2 days later, so we had been leaving the room open.
Looking at the professional photos from the hotel, maybe they were taken years ago.
Our towels were stained every day they had to be replaced, we could not use the wardrobe it smelled and the rail needed replacing, the fridge did not work, the aircon made so much noise I am surprised the next room did not complain! The toilet handle just went round and round, the room was basic and needed a really good clean and the staff on reception need to go on a customer services training course especially the men, the ladies are a bit better. Even the view from the balcony is of abandoned shrub land.
The food is OK but basic, and even this time of year there is only 3 nights per week entertainment in the bar.
The only good thing is the hotel is near the bus station, and you can get out all day very cheaply.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank addo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just came from Canifor hotel,don't know where to start,it was so bad.Why not to go to this hotel for any price:
Rooms:floor,bathroom,balcony-not cleaned once in a week.Cockroaches,dirty sheets,towels,the worst matresses.
Food,restaurant:Dirt,everywhere,forks,spoons,glasses,plates,around the food which is served,not a buffet-dirty.Food terrible,nothing to eat.The food is thrown in the dishes,the leftovers are served 5 times till it's all gone.
We had diarrhea, vomitting. The left over food was later mixed together and that was the salad.The dessert was a melon and a 10-piece cake for 400 people.Maybe 2 pieces were missing from the cake, nobody ate that. But we got it again the next day.
Overall this is NOT a 4* hotel.I've been to 2* star hotel that was better and cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#11 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Property: Canifor Hotel
Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Onthebeach, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing