We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely 'not' a 4*”
Review of Soreda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soreda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed for one week 14th-21st May on a half board basis. The hotel is in a good location as far as using the bus network to explore Malta, otherwise it's in the middle of lots of other run down buildings opposite a piece of waste ground where a woman comes every day to feed the stray cats.
The food was at most times pretty good with a lot of choice but some times you just thought how many more ways can you disguise left overs in the next days salad or put a sauce on it to make it interesting ! The bread never had tongs to use so everybodies hands had been all over it and the butter packs were always v.soft so must be kept in the warm.The carved meat was v.good as was the sponge puddings with lemon custard but the potatoes always had black marks on them, not peeled well. The Bayleaf Restaurant has NO natural light/air, felt a bit trapped. Breakfast was always a bit of a free for all, very rushed and noisy with many people sneaking food out in their bags. Even saw one woman wrap up an omelette in a paper serviette.
Evening entertainment was a piano player, who was v,good or someone singing 60/70/80s music or karaoke + TV in another lounge.
The roof top pool has wonderful views but it gets very busy up there so it is hard to find an unclaimed sun lounger. The court yard pool looked unused and the indoor pool was steamy hot.
Most of the staff were helpful and pleasent but they need to smile more if only to cheer us up.
Nothing seems to flow through this hotel, so much has been added to. Our room was at the front on the 1st floor over reception. It was a nightmare. Other people had great rooms some had worse. We were above the smokers bench. We had to endure every drop off/pick up, coach tours, delivery, taxi, they all left their diesel engines running and if they were being delayed would blast their horns and slam their doors - very nice spot (NOT!) Yes we did register our dislike off the room only to be smirked at and told that lots of people would like a front/outside room with a balcony.
This hotel is marketed at an older clientele on an AI board who just eat ant drink and pay for 2 weeks and get the 3rd free !
There is very little there for children. Lots of steps/slopes, low railings around roof by the pool.
We have been to Malta 4 times over the last 20 years, you either love it or hate it. I'm still out on that one. There are some beautiful sights to see but there are also some real dumps with dirt and rubbish strewn everywhere.
They say you only get what you pay for but I also believe that we should not be taken for mugs and feel we have to put up with something that really could be improved upon.
We will not be going back to the Soreda.

Room Tip: Weekly bus ticket is 12 euros but a daily at 2.60 euros is better value as who realy wants to have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,494 - 1,500 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

I paid a very reasonable price for a weekend breat at this hotel. Rooms were clean, breakfast was very good and indoor pool is heated. What more do you want for 30 euro per night for a family of three ?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CARTRAVELMALTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Let no one try and convince you that this is a 4 star hotel, it is defintely not. Location is poor. Staff are surly, with the exception of Jen, who always had a smile on his face. I will not be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel2Sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

my husband and I loved the hotel the food was excellent staff very helpful and freindly, rooms were cleaned every day and also had tea making facilities and tea coffee sugar and milk were topped up every day.ideal base for sightseeing ten minuete walk to the bus station weather was not good but it was march so did not expect too much. value for money we have booked again but for 2 weeks this time.mostly brits staying when we went very freindly and special thanks to martin hope you are o.k

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda_lClevelandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of May and had a brilliant holiday. I won't deny there were some niggles, which we highlighted to the hotel in their questionnaire, but otherwise we had a great time.
The pictures on the website don't do justice to the beautiful lounge and the very large roof terrace, pool and pool bar.
Our room was lovely and huge, our balcony did face out onto the back road, but as we didn't use it, it wasn't an issue. The bathroom was functional but boring, the only thing I would say lets the hotel down as we in the UK have a different expectation of a 4* bathroom.

Food was plentiful, although I would request ice cream be put on the all inclusive package as it was available if you paid for it. There was plenty of choice with the food and the waiting staff are helpful and friendly.
There was a wide selection of drinks on the all inclusive package including the Madlien liqueur - well worth a try!
The hotel can be accessed via a very steep street or if you go left out of the hotel you can wander down to the bay side on a gentler slope.
The Hop On Hop Off Bus Tours pick you up just down the road on the bay side, which is great to get to Valletta and explore the rest of the island.
The buses themselves were very good, my one tip would be to take a proper tour or taxi to get to the Gozo ferry as we lost a lot of time on the buses.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, and we will be coming back here in a few years time to stay in the self catering apartment.
I would note that this is not a hotel for children, there is a games room, but this hotel is not kitted out for them as the average age of the guests whilst we were there was 70!

Room Tip: All the lifts go to the roof terrace, just hit Floor 5; we had been using the reception lift up unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Very depressing hotel, dark and no natural light in the bar or restaurant area. Tiniest pool ever in the middle of the hotel (like in a courtyard) with no sun. Roof pool was a bit better but too windy to sit comfortably. Very unhelpful reception staff and bar staff. I had requested to be next door to my parents and two of my children at the time of booking but they could not and would not honour this and they had to sleep 2 coridors away from our room which was very inconvenient. On the 5th floor there is no carpet in the coridors and again no light. This is the worst "all inclusive hotel" we have ever stayed in and we have staying in dozens around the world. The guests in the hotel were all moaning between themselves about a number of issues they had in the hotel. We also experienced a terrible sewage smell in our bathrooms - horendous! The balconys are the smallest I have ever seen, you can only fit one small plastic chair on them! The only thing going for the hotel was that the food was above average and quite acceptable. And also my four boys enjoyed the small games room, with out that they would have gone out of thier minds as there is nowhere for small children to play and burn off energy. Would not go again and has put us off Malta for life! This is definitly not a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My partner and i stayed at the Soreda hotel in May 2012, we found the hotel very comfortable and quiet. The entire staff were very friendly and helpful the hotel itself has all thats required for your stay although its in need of a little tlc. Location is away from the main area but only a steady 10 min walk from the front with plenty of stopping off places inbetween. Would definitly re visit.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel wouldnt get early morning noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soreda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soreda Hotel

Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1744, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £39 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soreda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soreda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soreda Hotel Qawra
Soreda Hotel Malta/Qawra
Hotel Malta Soreda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing