We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Soreda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soreda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect at Christmas, but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were nice, the staff were great and the food was OK - if a bit 'samey'. It was a shame there was nothing aimed at children at mealtimes though, as my daughter and other children I observed struggled because a lot of the food had herbs in or vegetables were all mixed rather than available separately. The scottish piper/drum ensemble on Christmas Day was a nice touch - if a little loud!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickii S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 2,049 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were delayed by over 13 hours on Christmas Eve due to the severe storm the day before. We eventually arrived at 0100 on Christmas day. Receptionist was very friendly and efficient and we were soon in our room on the 5th floor. Room was clean and spacious. There was a lack of coat hangers (only 5) so a good job we took some of our own. The twin beds were not very comfortable, under sheets creased up and the pillows hard. The shower was very hit and miss and the water scalding hot. Very difficult to get the correct temperature and ran hot and cold most of the time during busy periods. We had a room 532 where the sun would never shine on the balcony.

We were on a all inclusive package and that worked very well. The staff both bar and restaurant were very efficient and in the main friendly. They are worked very hard and tended to be a bit clumsy. There was not a mealtime when glass or china was not dropped and broken. The beautifully clean marble tiles on the floor are very unforgiving and shards and small pieces around could have been a problem. I don't quite know why but sometimes, frequently, the table cloths felt very damp. The restaurant was always very busy but the staff coped very well. The food was excellent all through and the bread 'to die for.' I have never eaten so much!

This is a huge hotel and during our stay was always bustling with guests and the local population. The Maltese unlike us don't seem to know about queuing for things and tended to be pretty bull headed by pushing in rudely. The local children seem to be able to run riot with no control. This was particularly noticeable in the bars and restaurant. This was the same queuing for everything and anything. Very bad using the local busses which are good value.

The hotel public areas as well as the rooms are kept scrupulously clean and there is the computer room where free wi fi is available. This worked quite well.

We as a group enjoyed a very comfortable relaxed week ad I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It is well situated about an hour bus ride from Valletta. The traffic is always very heavy in the towns and the standard of driving is poor. It is a very crowded island and although I loved the architecture some of the buildings are quite shabby. As with most islands in the Med nothing seems to get finished.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barneyb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We arrived late due to a delayed flight. We found a plata of food in our room which was nice.
Rooms were lovely and clean. Very spacious.
Meals in the restaurant were nice and with plenty of choice. We had our lunch on the roof terrace most days as the weather was lovely.
The all inclusive drinks were great and of good quality. The main let down was the evening entertainment. Dancers or singers every night which tended to be the same songs.

Would return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Firstly let me say that the hotel, for Malta, is a really acceptable place to stay. We originally stayed here 20 years ago and were keen to return and see what changes had been made. First impressions were really positive. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and polite. Unfortunately the positives end there. The food is passable although there is not a great deal of imagination as it is virtually the same fare offered up day after day - I would suggest prospective guests should consider bed and breakfast only. The entertainment on offer is pitiful. We are here over Christmas and New Year and the hotel facilities have been let out to local residents on virtually every day over Christmas resulting in gross overcrowding in the foyer, bar and restaurant areas meaning paying guests are forced to go out or go to their rooms due to the noise and problem with children running all over unattended. As most guests are elderly and booked in as all inclusive this practice is unacceptable. Day after day coaches and cars drop off family groups who then take over the hotel facilities. Whether or not this practice is the norm throughout the year or purely a seasonal thing it shows that the hotel management have scant regard for their paying guests. If we had been made aware of this practice before we booked we would have looked elsewhere. The hotel is virtually being run as a restaurant with us taking a back seat to the Maltese. Verdict - Will not come back.

Room Tip: Top floor front for best views and sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barrowboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Soreda from 23/11/13 to 8/12/13. From the moment you entered the hotel you were struck by the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff.Unfortunately I can not remember the names of the reception staff but the guy who booked us in on the 23/11/13 at approx 9pm deserves a special mention for his attitude towards customers. The restaurant service was of an excellent standard,
The food was varied and plentiful and very tasty! There was an excellent selection of salads and main courses. Of course some of the food was repetitive but when you stay un the same place for more than a week then you expect that.
The hotel rooms and public areas were kept spotlessly clean and the room service was very efficient.
The entertainment was geared towards the older clientele but the younger ones seemed to be enjoying it too! All inclusive drinks did not seem that strong but then again you could drink as many as you wanted. The selection of all inclusive drinks was also very varied.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff but once again you had the perpetual moaners who really should not be allowed to go on holiday! How on earth the staff kept their patience and temper with some of the residents I will never know!
Just one word of advice for tourists...dont purchase any trips from your reps or the reps that are in the hotel in the mornings! A few minutes walk from the hotel there is a tourist travel centre called freeways just ask at reception for directions. The trips are less than half the price the reps charge and just as good if not better!
I would recommend the Soreda to anyone and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank phillip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed in July 2013 for 7 days, this hotel and it's staff are worthy of a 5 star in London.
The room was very spacious and the beds very comfortable, I would recommend to everyone looking for all inclusive break. The staff are very pleasant and friendly. We have stayed in many hotels in London and All over Europe and this hotel is the best value ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

we have just returned from a 3 week all inclusive stay at the soreda hotel. it was great value for money but all inclusive is not needed here bed and breakfast or half board are the best options you are not then tied to the hotel. in the streets surrounding the hotel are many bars and restaurants serving food at very reasonable prices. but in saying that the food at the soreda was good enough and reading pam h's review was puzzeling to me yes the lift was out of action i smelled no smells and once per week they had a maltese night with rabbit stew and all things maltese on the menu you were even serenaded with maltese music while eating. yes we were pushed out of the dining room one evening because there was a charity night for the maltese this happens every year in all the hotels in malta not just the soreda i chose this night to have a meal out a wonderfull hot curry at the bell round the corner for 6 euros washed down with a bottle of rose wine for 4 euros.thank you soreda for a wonderfull 3 weeks and your kindness and help when my husband was taken ill and hospitalized you bent over backwards to help me.malta is a beautifull island full of history and wonderfull people enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lindaHayesMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soreda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soreda Hotel

Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1744, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £41 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soreda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soreda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soreda Hotel Qawra
Soreda Hotel Malta/Qawra
Hotel Malta Soreda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing