We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful.”
Review of Soreda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soreda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for 1 week, 16/3/14. Been to Malta before. The hotel was clean, staff friendly. Was on AI basis, food plentiful and varied daily. Ask for a lunch box before 8pm as lots to do in Malta. Indoor pool excellent, if not too warm but usually empty. Our room very clean and the house keeping excellent, room cleaned daily with new sheets and towels. I would recommend to people as very good value for money.

Room Tip: Lower floors are shaded by the building so cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    757
    374
    173
    143
See reviews for
499
885
106
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was the second time we stayed at the Soreda Hotel. The first time we stayed there 3 years ago we weren’t so sure about the hotel itself, but after having read the reviews of other similarly priced hotels in the area decided this might be the best of the bunch. I have to say that I was nicely surprised by how nice the room was and the food for what the weekly cost was is very good.
The previous room we had was towards the back of the hotel and was, I though, rather dark and pokey, but this time in a room at the front of the hotel it was much nicer. Well furnished, modern, clean tidy and overall very pleasant. I did talk to several other guests who had rooms in other parts of the hotel and their rooms didn’t seem as nice.
The staff were all very nice, friendly, helpful and always tried to resolve things whenever possible, so well done to all.
The restaurant is in a sort of basement area at the rear of the main bar which isn’t brilliant but the food was very good for the cost of the hotel. There was always a good selection and the food was plentiful and replenished frequently. It would be hard to complain about the food all in all and the wine wasn’t too bad either.
We went all-inclusive as it was only a small extra sum to pay. I would advise that even if you only a few cups of teas/coffees, wine with dinner, drinks in the bar etc. do check for yourself but we thought that it was good value. In addition if you ask the day before the hotel will provide you with a packed lunch to collect in the morning and take out on your explorations (as in a ham & cheese sandwich, fruit, cake and water etc), but a nice touch.
It is true that the hotel, and Malta in general does cater more for the elderly guests over the winter months but that isn’t so bad and the entertainment which looked to be provided in the main bar area most evenings was OK.
There is always a question over the * rating that hotels have, and the Soreda is no exception, but you should remember that Bugibba & Qawra are the cheaper parts of the island to stay and always consider what you get for what you pay. This area is a little tired and needs some refurbishment but the bus station is only a 10 minute walk away and the busses go nearly everywhere. The new lower cost of the weekly bus pass is excellent value (6.5 euro – cheaper for some concessions), so just get on and use it. All busses eventually seem to arrive in Valletta so just remember the No 12 or 31 takes you back home.
Top Tips: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel, consider all-inclusive thinking about what they offer works well for you, ask for your packed lunch, get a bus pass and just go and use it as much as you can – there is such a lot to see and it’s fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just back from Soreda 21/03/14. This was a week away to relax and that was what we did. Weather was great, sunny no rain, just what we were looking for. The hotel was very clean, food excellent and staff (Steve) were very pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. Would go back and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor looking out to courtyard, ok for this time of year, as they were not used m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jannyd1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brig
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife go to the Soreda every Xmas we have made lots of friends that's why we go back each year all the staff are very helpful can not do enough for you we have already booked for this Xmas can't get enough well done every one mr William dunne

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank billythekid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Im not surprised guests had pneumonia, the hotel is freezing they will not put the heating on in the public rooms at any cost, we froze in the lounge area of an evening even with a jumper on, I asked them if they would put some heat on and was told to drink more brandy- how rude is that. During 10 day stay from 1st March the water was turned off twice and the electric once. I asked the manager WHY and was told they turn them off for maintenance once a month, when I pointed out the water had been turned off twice there was no explanation, after the water went back on it ran brown and nasty the nasty went after running it a while but the brown remained all the time YUK. The corridors were so dark we had to feel to put the key in the door.The food was NEVER 4* quality and if any guests are satisfied with the food then goodness knows what they eat at home because I would expect better from a 4* hotel. Ive stayed in 3* much much better.

Room Tip: my advise chose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were in room 407 which was roomy and clean. Service in the hotel is very good, the food very good, entertainment mediocre and you have to be in early to get a table. It is in a quiet area of Qawra but 5 minutes away from the bus station. For what we paid for all inclusive we were well satisfied. All the staff were very friendly and professional. On the first evening (late) we requested extra coat hangers and they were delivered the very next morning. We also reported a lightbulb which had blown and this was fixed the same day so have to say we were impressed with the service.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which was very quiet and I understand that this floor has been recently ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulssis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 week stay at the Soreda, our 2nd holiday there.
We were a little apprehensive are reading some awful reviews but we needn't have worried the hotel is as good as we remembered. Spotless clean room, the food excellent and such lovely helpful staff. A most enjoyable experience. Certainly will recommend to family and friends.
Ann Waller. Nottingham.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soreda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soreda Hotel

Property: Soreda Hotel
Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1744, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Soreda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Onthebeach, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soreda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soreda Hotel Qawra
Soreda Hotel Malta/Qawra
Hotel Malta Soreda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing