We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four star facilities but three star food”
Review of Soreda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Soreda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“four star facilities but three star food”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The staff are very welcoming and cannot do enough for you. The food at times was mediocre but edible with very little variety at breakfast ( cheap cornflakes , no weetabix). Room at the front of the hotel on 3rd floor provided view of the sea comprised of a 2 bed & 2 bath apartment with sofa in communial area as well as a table and chairs, flat screened TV and fridge. A/C worked well and water pressure good for shower. some of decor neede up dating and internal rooms and bathrooms a bit dingy.Found in the back streets of Qawa but quiet. If you wanted a beach holiday not for you but we would go again. close to Bus stops to all areas malta. Travel is cheap 1.5 euros for daily bus ticket.

Room Tip: ask for room at front of hotel floor 3 or 4 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 704wood79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    769
    384
    176
    144
See reviews for
511
908
108
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Overall the hotel is clean and the food is OK but it's definitely not the best hotel we've ever stayed in.
Our room (120) though large was not as comfortable as it should have been. The beds were hard and the pillows lumpy. Although it's hot at the moment I could have done with an extra cover at night but you only get 2 sheets and a runner on the bed.. It would have been nice to have had an easy chair to sit in, there were only 2 upright dining room chairs at a table in the corner which we hardly used anyway. We had an ant problem on the first night which I had to report to reception, this appeared to have been dealt with although the ants were returning by the time we left, even though we had no food in the room. We also had a problem closing the doors to our balcony when leaving the room and I know the guests in the next room to us had the same problem with theirs. We paid for a room safe on arrival which cost 46 euros, I thought that quite expensive although you do get half that back when you vacate the room and return the key.
We were "all inclusive" although there are restrictions to this. For instance the rooftop bar opens at 10 am and at 10.45 we asked for two coffees but were told we either had to pay for them or wait until 11 am. We were also supposed to have tea, coffee and milk in our room for making a drink but the cleaners usually forgot and we would have to ask at the bar for some milk in a cup and some coffee to take up with us.
The roof top swimming pool was nice although once again the beds, unless you were lucky to get one of the 10 or so new ones, were very uncomfortable.
Although it is clear that the hotel is in the 'quieter end' of the resort it is not the nicest of locations. The walk to the seafront is down-hill which means walking up-hill to get back, the pavements are narrow and not very good so it's not suitable for the less mobile. In the other direction, the walk to the bus station and Buggiba is not a pleasant one but at least it's not too far, about 10 minutes.
I would not choose to return to this hotel or the resort but it could have been a lot worse so for a cheap holiday I would say it was adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverleyL153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A lovely hotel, had a lovely welcome from the Receptionist staff, very very helpful. We requested and also emailed to ask to be at the front of hotel and on ist floor next to our friends, which the hotel did do for us, but they gave us a 2 bedroom apartment which was lovely but would have preferred our own room, but was no big deal.
We had 2 single beds in one room and when we told the staff, within 15 mins two maids came and changed it, good service.
We stayed BB as we always hire a car in Malta, so never really spent a great deal of time in the day at the hotel. Evening entertainment was very good.
Overall a vey nice hotel, our only complaint which is no fault of the hotel, is the dame noisey drain in the road outside hotel, so when cars go over it, it is very loud , I think the hotel should speak to their council !!!!!

Room Tip: Front of hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _thekohls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days. The room was on the fourth flour and was alright, it had a little balcony. There were complimentary wine and water and we got a voucher for a complimentary dinner. The breakfast buffet was not my cup of tea. The english breakfast consisted out of the cheap ingredients. And the complimentary dinner buffet was not high quality either. In the evening there is entertainment in the lounge but it was so crowded in there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Staff were very professional and polite and would go the extra mile to assist you. Rooms were very clean and tidy and also very nicely decorated. Food was good and there was also something different on the menu to accommodate most people and the pool bar also made burgers and other snacks free for those on all inclusive. We would definitely go back to this hotel again and would recommend it to others. It is in a quieter area but buggiba square if about a 10min walk away for more livelier bars.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Me and my wife have recently returned from a 10 day break at The Soreda. It was our first visit to Malta and chose the hotel because of the previous reviews. The Hotel is currently undergoing renovations and maintenance but not of it interfered with our stay there. The food was superb, especially the soups at dinner time, and the staff could not do enough for you. A special thank you goes to Sharon, Salvation and Johann in the restaurant who were always happy and helpful at anytime. The price we paid was excellent value for money and all inclusive is the best way to stay. The bedroom was serviced daily and always clean & spotless as was the rest of the hotel. The roof bar and pool area was great to spend the day and the buffet tea on the Wednesday was a great success, especially with the views of the bay and the surrounding area. There was entertainment every night in the bar which was good and catered for all ages. We will definitely be returning back in the future. ***** 5 Stars for everything ******

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned ( 4 adults) from a 10 days stay at the soreda(14th June). A very friendly and efficient welcome at reception. Bedrooms spotless clean, towels changed daily. Plenty of choice in food, all very tasty. Sharon and her team do a great job in running a very fine restaurant. Roof bar clean with friendly staff, entertainment very good, especially the violinist. Over all the Soreda hotel was a major contribution to our lovely holiday in Malta

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria m M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soreda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soreda Hotel

Property: Soreda Hotel
Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1744, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Soreda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Soreda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soreda Hotel Qawra
Soreda Hotel Malta/Qawra
Hotel Malta Soreda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing