We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Break”
Review of Soreda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soreda Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Just returned from Malta January. Enjoyed my stay at the soreda, the staff were friendly and helpful. Fridge in the room was a nice touch, rooms were clean and towels changed regularly. Food was plentyful and a varied choice, mainly at dinner. Lunch a lesser choice but not many had lunch. Tables were soon cleared and set after guests left. There was entertainment each night, so you atleast had something to watch (better than nothing) and you could always go out. The indoor pool was nice and warm and the sauna was ok. I didn`t use the gym, but it looked well set out. Reception staff friendly and helpful. A nice hotel, maybe not our equivalent of a 4* but nice. If you expect too much for what you may pay then you may be dissappointed. I had no complaints and enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank davytrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,720 - 1,726 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

A four star hotel it was a joke more like two .the food was bland and not very hot at times we had moldy bread one day . they only had one bar open at any one time and the entertainment that was a joke and how many dj`s are called arthur .The rooms were comfortable and fairly clean . As this was a christmas holiday with family never again. I would like to say that the people of malta are the most freindliest people i have met on my travelles around the world

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank bertSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

This is the second time my Husband and I have stayed at the Soreda Hotel. What made us go back to this hotel is it’s quieter location when compared with main town Bugibba, the indoor pool and gym, the friendly nature of all bar staff. I could not fault them.

As soon as we arrived, we noticed a lot of changes. The décor in the reception lobby area had changed considerably – It looked more elegant.

After registration we made our way to our room. The hotel must have had a refurbishment process in place because the corridors and our room were designed in different colour schemes to what we knew. I must say that we were very pleasantly surprised

I understand that hotels age quickly because of the volumes of tourists and turnover of the rooms.

The Dining Room also has undergone some change. Pleased to see that the carpet has been removed and new Table linen displayed.

Our room was cleaned daily and bed linen and towels were changed regularly and when we asked for the fridge to be stocked as a mini-bar. Service was great. Housekeeping staff were brilliant.

We prefer to seek out our own entertainment but there were a couple of occasions when we lingered to see what it was like. Karaoke, disco dancing and Maltese folklore: Not exactly our cup of tea. But most residents seemed to be enjoying themselves. Many Maltese also come to be entertained on a Saturday evening. This made the place very busy but it also gave us an opportunity to chat with a few of the locals. Such a small island and nearly 400,000 of them!

We had a room facing into the courtyard and some of the balconies are very close with each other. It would have been a bonus to have a room with a view. Having said that my idea of going on holiday is to swim, go out, explore and meet the locals, and should I wish to chill on the balcony, I am usually reading.

The swimming pool was good. Initially there was a shortage of sun-loungers, so we asked at reception and the matter was solved. The pool is not massive and I would imagine that in the peak of summer it would be extremely busy. However, because I am not keen on late morning or early afternoon bathing, when the heat gets unbearable, the pool was nice and quiet.

Now that we have been on holidays before we know that hotels employs a two-week menu rota. Although it is not the Petrus by Gordon Ramsay, it is absolutely fresh, tasty and good.

One thing that was annoying initially was the construction goings-on nearby. In the same breath I have to say that unfortunately, on this little island, there are construction sites in most of the touristy areas. Including Sliema, Qawra, St. Paul’s Bay, Bugibba, and also in the inner towns and cities

Having read some reviews, we were a apprehensive, however, there were occasions where I have seen tourists behaving badly and shamefully. Take what you read with a pinch of salt.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mini767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Recently returning from this hotel on the 18 november 2008 This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel this year, it was a bit challenging at the beginning of the year january 2008 however management appears to be listening or reading either reviews or comments left by holidaymakers. There has been improvements which do include hotter food ?
There is a poor point to mention which is the weekends ! due to the entertainment held nightly there is a high influx of locals who bring their kids. They take over the hotel and holiday makers are more or less diverted away from the bar as the seats get took up very quickly and they have to find seating elsewhere. All services are more than satisfactory which also includes a wi fi for laptops.
During the wintermonths ie, november to february there are lots of long stayers who opted for 3 months in the warmer climate and become more or less pemantly resident. Rooms are kepted clean however heating and airconditiong needs some attention, TV channels are normally hazy due to poor reception,staff are very helpfull and go out of their way to help you.
Value for money is very good but although this hotel advertises a 4 star, it would be safer to expect the standard to be a 3 star. Dress for the restaurant in the evenings is smart dress which now includes sunday lunchtime. Would i stay there again, the answer is yes, would i recommend it to others, the answer is yes but be mindfull of the above points

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Delboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We transfered to this hotel from the horrendous St Pauls Bay Hotel and yes, there was some improvement. We had a nice room, everything worked in it and the bathroom was clean and it was lovely to have fluffy clean towels each day. The public area has had some upgrading recently, except for the lounge bar which has uncomforable seating and filthy carpets throughout the area especially outside the dining room. The downstairs pool was closed during our stay The roof pool is ok, but, there were not sufficient chairs or beds, and many of them are broken.
The food was unappetising, poorly served and very repetitive.
Hygiene practices were questionable, we watched as a lid which had dropped on the floor was placed back onto the serving dish. Another time, a waitress wiped a spillage on the floor with the cloth she was wiping the tables with and then carried on cleaning the tables! On Saturday there was a dinner dance, why we were charged extra for this I do not know. We had to wait in very long queues to get our food as everyone booked for the dinner dance arrived at 9.0pm, hence the wait to get served.
When we complained about the tepid food, and the long queue we were give a weak smile and a shrug of the shoulders. This was not a cheap holiday, for one weeks half board we paid just under £500 each.
I feel Malta is in decline, which is such a shame. Many of the hotels need complete upgrading and the star rating redefined to come in line with the rest of europe.The fabulous heritage and lovely old buildings are spoilt by a lack of basic maintenance and upgrading. There are a great many old buildings which are not being used and are gradually falling into total disrepair. Sadly, we won't be going back again.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank thetrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Just returned today. Soreda Hotel was clean and very reasonably priced and the food was ok but very repetative. Entertainment was very enjoyable but not particularly varied. We had to move rooms the first day as water from aircon. was all over the floor making walking in the room dangerous. Second room did not have this problem. Staff were helpful though. Sunloungers were on three levels but a large number of those were broken and it was sometimes difficult to find a whole one! The hotel is at present being extended on the landside and this leads to a lot of noise during the day because of the workmen. The outside pool downstairs is out of action at the moment due to refurbishment but there is a very nice pool on the roof.
Saturday night is Malta Night with a dinner dance and where this is not a problem the unbelievable noise and disturbance by the many children attending this function and staying overnight led to a very sleepless night for all the residents.
Much as I love Malta I would not stay at the Soreda Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halibos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

After staying at this hotel for a week I was so pleased to come home. The food was awful, The hotel is not a 4 star at all and all the building work which was going on was so loud I was woken every day at 7 50.

Some of the staff where friendly but most where un pleasent and unhelpful. The place needs an up lift and I was put off coming to Malta again. What was going to be a peaceful week ended up with water coming from the A.C. floors not being cleaned and food giving every one an upset tummy. people talked of no loo seats for 24 hours. No towels till late afternoon and food been so bad not many peoole eating it. Any one who is going to go to this place I advice you to think again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OxfordshireJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soreda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soreda Hotel

Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1744, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £41 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soreda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soreda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soreda Hotel Qawra
Soreda Hotel Malta/Qawra
Hotel Malta Soreda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing