We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to please”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I are due to visit The Sunflower for perhaps the 12th time on June 5th and we cannot wait. For such a reasonable price, the hotel is more than adequate and has such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. It has a lovely rooftop pool and the pool bar has beautiful snacks for ridiculously cheap prices. It is in a quiet spot, admittedly not the most picturesque location, but it is only 10 minutes from stunning beauty. Can't wait to see everyone again in our second home!!

Room Tip: just try it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Kevin J.

Thank you for your repeat custom and for sharing your experience at the Sunflower Hotel with other reviewers on TripAdvisor. Your most favourable comments about our product and services are truly appreciated.
Above all, we really look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very pleasant staff at check-in. 6 floors of rooms. I was on the 6th. 7th has a sun deck and pool. 1 lift which always seemed to arrive within a minute of waiting. Pleasant room with balcony. Hot water at all times. Good choice of breakfast food and only 3 Euros for a cooked breakfast. I was in room 617 and it had a view overlooking wasteland (typical of anywhere in Malta) and then eventually some water but not the sea. Nice and quiet and even though it was right next to the lift it didn't disturb me.

Room Tip: A nearby house has dogs in the yard and they barked a lot, so if you don't want to hear them the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophieni209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sophieni209,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments concerning our hotel. I will discuss the issue of the barking dogs with my colleagues on the management team so that we will take action on the matter (although, as you rightly mention) these dogs do not belong to the hotel.

In the meantime I do hope you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel and promise you our readiness to assist you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here with my partner from 24th March until the 1st of April. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome the moment we walked through the door and although we were almost 2 hours earlier than check in time they made sure they got us a room straight away. As we went to Malta out of season and quite a few places were shut, both me and my partner agreed that if it weren't for the hotel and the staff then we wouldn't of had such a good time. There was 3 members of staff that stood out above the rest and were very helpful with everything in and out of the hotel. If we return back to Malta then this will definitely be the hotel that we choose again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megansusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Megansusie,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, to share your recent experience with other reviewers and for your most favourable comments about our hotel and our staff.
I will share your review with our staff as such reviews are constantly a source of encouragement for them.
I the meantime I also hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel. Do contact us so that we will be able to take personal care of your booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Overall, this is a good hotel. The rooms are relatively spacious and clean. The staff are polite and always greeted us with a smile. The location is average, however the view is not great. The food was okay (approx 6/10). Also no one informed us prior to our booking that, even though we had paid for half board drinks were not inclusive, and we were expected to pay extra for these. Even for such simple things as still water. Accept at breakfast time when a selection of water, juices and milk were available.Tap water in Malta is not recommended therefore bottled water is the only option. Disappointed with the beds. Double beds don't exist, they merely pushed two single beds together, and the mattresses were a little hard but nothing unbearable. The beds were very noisy!!!! Sometimes we could hear the movement of people in nearby rooms. We believe that the three star rating is suitable for the experience that we had but, if we were to visit Malta again, it would not be our first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndreaBlackEvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to note that you find the hotel and its staff good.
Your review will also be shared with the management team in view of improving our product and services.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very pleased with hotel generally. Location was fine with a short walk to the sea. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our only gripe was the quality of food. Breakfast is poor with no hot food offered.(The Apple Café 5 mins walk from hotel did a great fry up breakfast cheaply) Evening meals were much better with more choice. We complained about having frozen veg with the main meals to then find that fresh veg was on offer after that. (they take note,thank you Sunflower) Would definitely stay again. But maybe at board only. Weekly bus ticket (any where) ONLY 6.5 euros. Great Island with lots to see and do.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Peter W,

Thank you for your review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Sunflower Hotel.

Regards,

John Bugeja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

the hotel is good and clean ,the bar is not stocked, indoor pool was good and heated , the best member of staff is Jonathan at the front desk, its not in the best area but if you know your way round its good , the only thing we hated was the 2 single beds instead of a double but anyway its what you pay for, good value for money :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Jean S.,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. These will be shared with our management team in view of improving our product and services.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I booked into here for Christmas, which was great. We went on to stay there three times as we liked it so much. Nothing fancy, which is fine as you are not paying a fancy price. It is quiet when you need it, but has enough facilities for a bit of pampering. Food is great, both night buffet and breakfast. We are travelling with bicycles and these were stored inside for us. What more can you ask for for the money. We would stay a fourth time.

Room Tip: room 502 was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estherwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Esterwarren,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments.

I note, with much pleasure, that you will be returning to our hotel. In this regard do let us know if we can help you with your booking.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,643 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £19 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing