We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back to the Sunflower”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I returned from Malta on Tuesday having stayed at the Sunflower for a week. It is a great place to stay. It is situated within a short walking distance to Bugibba Square, which has a great choice of bars and restaurants and a beautiful waterfront area. It is also close to the bus station which runs regular services to all over the island.
The Sunflower is a perfect base, it is very clean, offers an ample breakfast,, great roof-pool area and the staff are friendly

An extra Thank You to Vasco who was working on the reception when I arrived at 1am.....he was so very friendly and welcoming and as I was travelling on my own,his manner made me think, 'yes I think I'm going to be alright here'....and I was.

Great holiday

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Susanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Suzanne C.

Thank you for reviewing the Sunflower Hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments, especially about our colleague Vasco.
I am pleased to note that you will return to Malta and our hotel in the near future and offer you our assistance with any future bookings you may have.

In the meantime
Best regards from Malta
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a fab basic hotel with excellent staff.
Decent sized rooms with only one downside, they really need a fridge sue to the heat and needing a cold drink.

Lovely pool area that wasn't too busy to get a sunbed, pool bar was fine with good priced snacks and drinks.

Best restaurants we tried were La Stalla, La sorpresa and Grannys, Fat Harrys food was ok but really poor service, this maybe to being busy.

Went to Aquarium, Mediterean and a boat trip with Seahorse around the bay.
Location of hotel is a 10/15 minute walk to either Buggiba Square or Qawra.
Breakfast was adequate with a full English for 3 Euros.

Had a great holiday and would return to Qawra and to the Sunflower hotel, Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear LIW,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I will pass on your favourable remarks regarding our staff to my colleagues on the management team so as to pass on to the staff. Such comments are always as source of encouragement to us.

I do hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to the Sunflower Hotel and take this opportunity to offer you our assistance with any future booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel has great staff, they are very friendly, helpful and can't do enough for you during your stay. That said I agree with the a previous reviewer regarding some of its basic three star hotel standards of mattress protector, the safe has a key to open the door, which isn't a good idea. And it is definitely in need of the DIY hit squad to sort out some of its issues with paint flaking off the walls and other basic DIY work. The food also need some looking at, in that most of what's eaten all tastes much the same...which wasn't great. Breakfast doesn't include any of the basic English breakfast ingredients, so no eggs, bacon, just meat, chees and cereal.
One real annoyance was no spoons on the table, you had to get them when you got your tea or soup or you go back again to get them! The roof pool area was very nice and clean, food is served as long as you get there before 3pm ? It is a quiet hotel and as long as your not looking for the Ritz, it's still worth a stay on BB basis.

Room Tip: Its a quiet hotel all around but we had the superior rooms which had plenty of space ~ Use the DO NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jess245,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments about our staff. I will share your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product and services.
However, concerning breakfast, May I remark that we promote our hotel as serving an enriched continental buffet breakfast. In fact, for the benefit of those reading this review, breakfast at the Sunflower Hotel includes breads, a variety of spreads, a variety of cold cuts, cereals, yogurt, fruit, cake, croissants, milk, tea, coffee and fruit juice. A plated English breakfast is available against a small supplement.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I loved my room - big, spacious, clean, and a great bathroom with a lovely bath. No kettle, but this seems to be normal for a lot of Malta hotels. Wifi was very expensive - again, this tends to be something that everywhere has these days so maybe they need to look at that. That said, the clientele tended to be a little older, so maybe it's not a priority. What I did not like was the large amount of dog poo surrounding the hotel (not their fault but they could maybe do something somehow), the melon that had been stored at too cool a temperature at breakfast and so was all slushy, and the pool on the roof wasn't as big or as pretty as the clever photographs make out. Still, I did not pay a lot, and I found the hotel staff attentive, so I think I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elbecuardo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and that you will be returning to Malta and to our hotel.
In the meantime I will share your comments concerning the melon with our Chef so that such incident will not happen again. Concerning the Wi-Fi, in the winter time we do have attractive offers including free Wi-Fi from time to time, so do contact us and we will keep you informed.
With regards to the surroundings of the hotel, we will also raise this issue with the local council in view of improving matters.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

just returned from a weeks bed and breakfast in the sunflower.we have stayed in malta several times at various hotels, as we have family there.the sunflower is the nicest one we have found yet and will definitely be booking again.only 5 mins or so from main square in quiet location.pretty hotel, very clean and staff pleasant.huge bedroom with 2 balconies,very light and airy.fabulous holiday, we will be back!

Room Tip: we were on the top floor 6th room 601 corner room.really big,sunny in the mornings,cool by teatime,s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chalmers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Chalmers59,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Sunflower with other reviewers on Tripadvisor and for your most favourable comments about our hotel.
I am happy to note that you truly enjoyed our stay with us and will return to our hotel. I also promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunflower and send you our best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Whilst I enjoyed our stay at the Sunflower,some things could make it better.Malta is still a bit behind in standards.1 no mattress protectors or pillow protectors.2 Menu is weekly,so teeds to be a bit boring over 3 weeks.Still in their favour its clean,and serviced well.Sunloungers need upgrading most of them were broken. Malta is still our favorite place as we have visited it since 1983. Next time we visit I will have a look in.

Room Tip: Rooms are of a reasonable standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickyp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments about our hotel. I will be sharing your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product and services.
I also take this opportunity to offer you our assistance with any future booking you may have to our hotels.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I are due to visit The Sunflower for perhaps the 12th time on June 5th and we cannot wait. For such a reasonable price, the hotel is more than adequate and has such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. It has a lovely rooftop pool and the pool bar has beautiful snacks for ridiculously cheap prices. It is in a quiet spot, admittedly not the most picturesque location, but it is only 10 minutes from stunning beauty. Can't wait to see everyone again in our second home!!

Room Tip: just try it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Kevin J.

Thank you for your repeat custom and for sharing your experience at the Sunflower Hotel with other reviewers on TripAdvisor. Your most favourable comments about our product and services are truly appreciated.
Above all, we really look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £19 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing