We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not three star u.k. standard”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 13 October 2010

The cleanliness of our room was not very good as the bath, sink, floors and patio were obviously never cleaned or mopped during our 10 day stay. Filth in patio door rails had been there for a long time as was the dust and cobwebs in the corners. Shower curtain was absolutly brown along the bottom. Window curtains were hanging off the rail. I noticed in the reception area cobwebs in most of the corners even above the reception desk nothing a feather duster could'nt fix. Food was average. No hotel or local information in our room. The staff were friendly and helpful. On a positive note hotel just a short walk from the main square and bus station.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the sunflower hotel on the 2nd oct 2010 as a last minute booking. I was pleasantly surprised, a lot of the reviews were unfair so to set the record straight. The hotel is in a residential area, great because there was very little noise, the walk to the town was around 10 minutes, not too bad. The first opinion of the hotel was that it was well cared for, pleasant surroundings and reception. The dining room staff were helpful, the breakfast, continental was fine, a good variety or for around 3 euro's you could have english breakfast. We ate only once in the restaurant for dinner which we did not enjoy too much. The roof top bar was good, drinks reasonably priced and a good selection of snacks. The pool and sun area was kept clean as was the indoor pool. We had a room with a double balcony which was great, the beds were comfortable, bathroom a little on the small side but it was no big deal. the maids cleaned on a regular basis though I would have liked the sheets changing more than once in a week. The walkways were kept clean and tidy with bins for recycled items such as bottle, glass and newspapers. The was a massage and treatment room where one could also have reflexology, etc. the area itself was fine, we ate out every night with a variety of restaurants to choose from. The locals are very friendly and thats why we would visit Malta again. Check out the car museum if your'e in to cars, buses are cheap and take you to some great beaches. Would we stay at the same hotel or recommend it? yes I think so, my only gripe would be no kettle in the room for a cup of tea in the morning but thats my preference. If you are looking for 4 or 5 star accommodation then you will have to pay for it, this is a clean and friendly hotel and thats what we wanted, we did not visit Malta to sit in the room and gripe about the state of the wallpaper or curtains!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seethrumirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The sunflower hotel was very good value for money, clean, and well presented hotel. The interior decor had been done very nicely, with lovely colours and lighting. The food was very basic but for the price, not bad at all. The swimming pool was tiny, outdoor and indoor. The indoor pool is like a paddling pool and not very clean, so do not recommend this or the jacuzzi at all.
The location of the hotel is very disappointing and for those new to Malta, as we were, is in a dreadful location/ village called Bugibba. Avoid this area at all costs. The best places to go in Malta are Sliema and Valletta, forget about Biggibba entirely. It is a new build village with no history, a relic of the 60s (the village that is), revolting shops, terrible restaurants - it's like Blackpool circa 1973. Do not go here.
The staff of the Sunflower hotel were unusually unfriendly - they did their job but no more. No conversation. No smile. No tips on where to go for the newcomer. They should not be in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCaslin-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was what I had hoped it would be clean and the decor was great. My room was cleaned every day, the beds made daily and towels changed when I needed them to be. Breakfast was continental with English Breakfast at an extra charge, evening meal was great with a varied choice of dishes and plenty to go around. The roof pools and the ground floor pools were lovely and clean. Service at the Sunflower Hotel was brilliant.
Local amenties were only about 10mins away as well as the beach, only downsize was that the beach was mainly rocky with a small section of a man made sandy beach. There are 2 main sandy beaches but they are a 15 min bus ride. Locals are very friendly and food at the restaurants were cheap and very tasteful
Definately will be back

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank -IVJ-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Had a great stay here - would definitely recommend it. Very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed HB and food was good. Breakfast OK. It is very quiet and although we would have liked a bit more in house entertainment, it was only 10 mins walk to Buggiba square and the bus terminus so it was easy to get to other places for that. Teenagers found the resort a bit quite for them but made the most of it. Apparently Paceville is the place for teenagers to find good entertainment. The only thing is I wouldn't recommend staying in August as it was so hot - made the 10 min walk a bit uncomfortable. Pool a bit small but always plenty of (free) sunbeds available and enjoyed the poolside music - even our teenagers were enjoying the music on Magic fm! Drinks were more expensive than in the bars but that's usually the case in hotels. Air conditioning was brilliant - couldnt have managed without it. Beds were a bit uncomfortable.
Small supermarket nearby for bottled water etc. Buses frequent and cheap to all parts of the island. Valettta, Mdina definitely worth a visit. Boat trip around Valetta harbours good. Meliha bay beaches gorgeous. Can hire beds and parasols - barter with them though and you can get the price down. Snacks and drinks at the beach pretty cheap. 1.50 for a sandwich and 60 cents for water.
Give blue lagoon a miss. We visited many years ago and loved it. However it is now so commercialised and packed it was horrendous. deck chairs packed like sardines and the lagoon full of boats. No shade unless you buy a parasol - if you get there early enough to find a space. We were offered a place on a truck to put our parasol!!
Air conditioned cinema, 10 mins walk from hotel if you want a break from the heat.
Did the waterpark on a half day ticket. We were done in an hour or so. It's in need of a makeover and there are only 3 slides, a lazy river and a tame wave pool.
Overall brilliant hotel and great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pammyDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I enjoyed this hotel greatly, Nice rooms with aircon, ceiling fan and balcony. Rooms were clean and tidy with hairdryer and TV. The only thing missing was a small fridge but I wasn't very bothered by that. I didn't like having to pay 2.50 euro a day for a room safe but was worth paying for peace of mind. I was there for two weeks so the dining was the same on the second week but with a flexi dining option that works out at 8euro for a 3 course dinner when you pay for 4 dinners it's great value and will be hard to beat anywhere on the island. This works on a tictket system so you can use it on anyday of your stay. The breakfast was much the same everyday but enough choice on offer so you didn't get bored. You could also get food to order at very resonable prices. The rooftop pool area was nice, with loungers available anytime I went up there.
The staff were nice and friendly and very helpful with any quires I had.
There was some live music on Saturday night and was tastefully kept to the bar area unlike some hotels you could hear in the distance with music pumping out of the pool areas.
The bar was clean with enough choice on offer and good staff working there.
I had stayed in this area before and was disapointed with noise levels and choose this hotel for location, It's in a residential area so it's quiet at night time but is 5 min walk to Bugibba center and 5 min walk to Bugibba bus terminal. The price was resonable for the high season and I feel good value for money if you want a bit of peace and quiet after a busy day sightseeing or scuba diving.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonCottonpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Read reviews before trip was full of dread about staying, no need the staff were wonderfull, rooms clean but basic. The location is a 10 minute walk from the noisy town centre & the sea front whitch we thought was a bonus for a good nights kip. You must visit the pool bar where a Kerry Katona soundalike (TRACY) will serve your drinks with a smile. Overall a nice freiendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe8170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,637 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £19 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing